Joining the Japanese Literature Challenge

Japanese Literature Challenge

Japanese Literature Challenge

I’m joining the Japanese Literature Challenge, organised by Dolce Bellezza.

The requirements are simple: read at least one book between June 1, 2011 and January 30, 2012. Well, I’ve been wanting to read 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami. This has been out in the Netherlands since last year, and I, self proclaimed Murakami fan, haven’t even looked at it. I guess the size (3 chunky books) was stopping me. No longer, I will read this! I will!

What is 1Q84 about?

(I had to look this up)

Description of the first book from bol.com (Dutch online bookstore, translated by me):

“1Q84 is the thrilling story of Aomame and Tengo. Aomame is a fitness instructor and murderer. Tengo is a teacher of mathematics and commits fraude. At first sight they have nothing in common but as the story progresses it becomes clear that their paths crossed a long time ago and it looks like this is going to happen again. But how? Aomame falls into a parallel world that she calls 1Q84.”

Parallel worlds? I love it! Reminds me of Hard-Boiled Wonderland or the End of the World by the same writer.

So, 1Q84 is what I’ll be reading for the Japanese Literature Challenge.

How about you? Will you join in too?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to Joining the Japanese Literature Challenge

  1. Cindy says:

    Nope, not my type of thing.

  2. JoV says:

    I look forward to hear what you think about 1Q84! I can’t wait to read this book too, but not out of my own pocket!🙂

  3. I will be – just read Villain by Shuichi Yoshida. It was fantastic!

  4. sakura says:

    I’m waiting for this to come out in October! SO exciting:)

  5. Bellezza says:

    I’m so envious that many countries have had this book in their hands before us (in the US). But, it’s going to be released October 25, and I’ve long had it on pre-order. Can’t wait to read this, and I’m so glad you’re in for another go around of the Japanese Literature Challenge. It will be fun to talk Japanese books with one another!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Belezza, I feel so silly that as a Murakami fan, I haven’t read 1Q84 yet given that the first two parts of the book were already available here since last year. Oh well, better late than never!

  6. Petra says:

    Yes I will! It’s just the same for me: I love Murakami’s books, but haven’t read 1Q84 yet. And neither do I know why exactly.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Great Petra! We’ll be able to compare notes. It’s odd that I haven’t read these books yet – but then I have so much to read at the moment. The challenge will help me to make an effort. Have fun!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

