It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I finished 7 books in the last TWO weeks

Changeless by Gail Carriger. The second episode in the Parasol Protectorate series, in which Alexia is left to her own devices and ends up travelling to Scotland.

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. After her mother dies in India, 16-year old Gemma is sent to boarding school in England, where she discovers an alternate world of magic.

The Lake of Dreams (Dutch translation) by Kim Edwards. Lucy has recently returned home from Japan and at her old family home, finds some objects that are related to her family’s past, a past that she never knew about.

The Lover by Marguerite Duras. A 15-year old French girl living in Vietnam becomes the lover of a much older and rich Chinese man.

Sundays at Tiffany’s by James Patterson. As a child, Jane Margaux had an imaginary friend who she was supposed to forget about when she grew older. But when as an adult, she meet Michael, she knows it’s him!

When She Woke by Hillary Jordan. Hannah Payne is being punished by having had an abortion. Her skin is dyed red so everyone will recognise her as a criminal. Dystopia in the near future.

Snapshot by Craig Robertson. Someone is killing off criminals in Glasgow. Police photographer Tony Winter, who is always the first to be close up to the bodies, investigates, unofficial, of course.

Changeless by Gail CarrigerA Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba BrayEen vrouw van glas / The Lake of Dreams by Kim EdwardsThe Lover by Marguerite Duras
Sundays at Tiffany's by James PattersonWhen She Woke by Hillary JordanSnapshot by Craig Robertson

Reading Now

My Life in France by Julia Child. Julia Child’s memoir of living in France and learning how to cook. She eventually became a famous cook in the US.

Instructions for an Inexperienced Lover by Amanda Leduc (ebook). Rosa wants to be a writer but she is being distracted by the unpredictable Aylish who one day appears at her door.

My Life in France by Julia ChildInstructions for an Inexperienced Lover by Amanda Leduc

I wrote a review of

(Click on the orange links for reviews and other posts.)

Asylum by Patrick McGrath (5 stars). The wife of a doctor in a hospital for the criminally insane falls in love with one of the inmates.

Among Others by Jo Walton (4 stars). A girl survives boarding school by making  friends with other book lovers. She sees faeries who help her deal with her crazy mother.

The Good Thief’s Guide to Amsterdam by Chris Evans (3 stars). An author who makes money by breaking into people’s houses is asked to steal two worthless figurines. He isn’t keen but gets involved in a big way.

The Nobodies Album by Carolyn Parkhurst (4 stars). A mother visits her estranged son when he is arrested for murder. Incidentally she finds out what happens, but the book is more about the relationship between mother and son.

Boys, Bears, and a Serious Pair of Hiking Boots by Abby McDonald (4 stars). Seventeen-year old US city girl Jenna has to spent her summer with her aunt in Canada in a small town. She doesn’t fit in with the local kids.

Domestic Violets by Matthew Norman (3.5 stars). Tom is not enjoying his job and is writing a novel in his spare time. But will he be able to compete with his famous author-father? And how can he survive having several (step)parents staying with him?

Other news

Check out my June Overview and my New Arrivals!

I joined the 100 miles Fitness Challenge AND the Japanese Literature Challenge.

I wrote an update about the Indie Lit Awards.

And finally… I’m back from my holidays!

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

27 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Tes says:

    I’ve just bought “Asylum” this weekend. Will start digging in today🙂

  2. Misha says:

    What did you think of A Great and Terrible Beauty? I really enjoyed it.
    I will be looking forward to your thoughts on When She Woke by Hillary Jordan – I haven’t seen any reviews for it yet.
    Hope you’ve a great reading week ahead.

  3. parrish says:

    An amazing list as per usual, at the moment I’m hopping between Baudelaire’s poems in prose & Thirst by Ken Kalfus.

  4. Cindy says:

    I’m reading my way through blogs I missed over the past weeks, I have 100s of email notifications!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh, don’t read them all, Cindy, it’s too much! I read quite a bit of my email over the holidays and I was pleasantly surprised how easy I found it to press the delete button (having limited time). It saved me so much time – normally I read semi-interesting blog posts – now I read only the super-duper interesting ones.🙂

  5. Mystica says:

    You have done such a lot of reading and reviewing its amazing! a whole lot of nice books here.

  6. Kylie says:

    When she woke has caught my attention – looks interesting. check out my Monday here
    http://kyliesreads.blogspot.com/2011/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

  7. Karen says:

    Sounds like you have had a good couple of weeks. The Julia Child book sounds interesting. I have A Great and Terrible Beauty in my TBR pile. I took a wee break from YA though so it’s still sitting there. I am thinking I will finally read these next month.

  8. I was on vacation last week too! I hope you had a wonderful time, returning rested and ready for the rest of summer.

    I will look for you review of Sunday’s at Tiffany’s, I read this a while back… I remember enjoying it but I think it was ‘average’ for me. The bar was set high for his chick-lit with the diaries book (I don’t remember the name), loved that one!

    Have a great day!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I just saw your “Back from holiday” post. I actually came back feeling a little ill but I’m taking it easy and try to get up to speed with the housework and the blogging (glad I don’t work at the moment!).

      *Sundays at Tiffany’s* was my first book by James Patterson if I remember well and I found it enjoyable to read but had a few question marks about the story. Definitely average for me too.

  9. Snapshot sounds fascinating…and I read and enjoyed Lake of Dreams. Have a great week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  10. Uniflame says:

    Wow you still had a lot of reading done even though you were on vacation!🙂

  11. Kristal says:

    I have the Parasol series on my TBR list. Have heard great things about the series. And really enjoy ‘A Great and Terrible Beauty’ but never did get around to finishing that series. *sigh* So many books…so little time!!!

    Have a great reading week!

  12. Ellie Warren says:

    You’ve been busy! I think I’ll take the Parasol Protectorate books on holiday with me as I never seem to get round to them. Will have plenty of time to read on the way as taking the train to Scotland.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ellie, I find the Parasol books very slow reading so it should keep you busy for a while – unless you go faster than me. The train to Scotland does take a while, indeed. Hope you don’t get queasy from the hamburgers that people walk with from the buffet car to their seats (if they still have those, the smell always bothered me).🙂

  13. Seven books? Nice job!!! My book club read Sunday AT Tiffany s over the winter. It made for a good review.

  14. Marce says:

    I look forward to your review of Snapshot, great cover, totally has me intrigued. Loved your vacation post, I commented there.

  15. Rikki says:

    I read The Lover a long time ago, but was never too keen about the book. The film, however, is a different matter. I totally loved it, with the scenery and the super attractive Tony Leung. Have you seen it?

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

