Book Review: Snapshot by Craig Robertson

Snapshot by Craig Robertson

This book is a review copy from Simon & Schuster UK. I’m not sure I like getting unsolicited review copies. I feel obliged to review them (although people say I shouldn’t) even if they don’t appeal. That is what happened with this book.

The good news: it was actually a really nice book!

Snapshot: What it is about

Tony Winter is a Glasgow police photographer with a fascination for dead bodies. He is considered a bit weird for being rather eager to take photographs at crime scenes.

After a series of shootings of high-profile criminals, he discovers an unlikely link between one of the victims and an ostensibly unrelated beaten up youth while examining various pictures. As a photographer, he is not involved in the police investigations and he decides to start his own inquiries in private.

Of course, he gets involved deeper than is good for him which may well lead to a confrontation with the killer…

Snapshot: What I thought

I took this book with me on holiday as it’s a different genre from most of the other books I took. I didn’t really think I would enjoy the book, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The idea of someone who is not qualified to investigate crimes digging deeper than the police is so old hat, but to get a police photographer to do so was quite unique.

The writing style was enjoyable although sometimes a little too “funny”. The characters (mainly police officers) are tough people who like to ridicule each other and regularly use swear words. For instance, “Does a bear wear a big hat?” was the reply to a question of which the answer was obvious. “Fuck off” and “Ah, don’t wet yourself, wee man” are other examples of banter between the policemen.

In the story, more and more criminals are being killed by one and the same shooter, although the victims are from different criminal groups in Glasgow. When even police officers are being killed, finding out who could be behind these killings becomes quite interesting.

Tony Winter is a clever guy and he gets information that the police don’t have. As a reader, you feel he’s getting closer to the solution of the crimes, but also closer to trouble himself. That made for great suspense.

I also liked it that some of the setting is a part of Glasgow that most people don’t know about (I checked and it really does exist!).

This is probably a book that will appeal more to men than women, but anyone into crime fiction is likely to enjoy this. It had some unique elements that made this book a good read.

Rating: 4/5 stars

I got this book: as a finished copy from Simon & Schuster UK for review

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 394

First published: 2011 (June)

Genre: thriller

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to Book Review: Snapshot by Craig Robertson

  1. I actually think I’d really like this. My dad read his first book, Random, and loved it. Glad you ended up enjoying after your initial misgivings🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Yes, I think you would enjoy this, Boof. The cover looked so “male” to me, like it was going to be one of those books that men read on holiday (men that never read normally) – but no.🙂

  2. Misha says:

    I think I will read this, even though you mentioned that it will appeal more to men. I love crime fiction, and discovering new-to-me authors in the genre.

  3. Cindy says:

    Sounds like a good one to take on holiday if you need a few laughs?

  4. A photographer who notices a link between some bodies? Oh, this idea sounds great!

    And though you were lucky this time, I´d say that you should never let people who send you unsolicited review copies push you into reading or reviewing books you don´t like. I wasn´t very good at that in the beginning, but I have learned that most authors or publishers understand if you tell them politely that the genre or plot do not appeal to you.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Dorte. I actually mailed with the publisher and arranged that they don’t send unsolicited review copies. I love the surprise of finding new books in my mailbox but I have so much to read at the moment that I can’t just start reading any book that I get send. Thanks for the support (it’s actually me who feels I should read them – they’re lovely, shiny books! How can I ignore them?).

  5. suzigun says:

    Looks like we came to a similar conclusion on this book. I think my biggest disappointment was that I didn’t really like the main character very much, but you can’t have everything.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzi, the book was much better than I expected by looking at the cover. The main person didn’t do much for me, either, but I didn’t dislike him.

      I saw that you also read Taboo by Casey Hill. I’ve got that one waiting for me, but with you giving it 3 stars, it is not be top of my list at the moment.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

