New Arrivals!

Most of these books I got during my holidays, so a neat pile was waiting for me when I came back. Such fun, opening parcels with books in!

Books I got for review

Altered by Aubrey Coletti

Altered by Aubrey Coletti

I got this book directly from the author (see also here). She writes: “When Toni, Joseph and Charlie arrive at their new boarding school, they are glad to leave their families — and respective problems — behind. […] When the arrivals discover that their new school is engaged in “behavior modification” through electric shocks, isolation, restraints, and an ever-evolving set of methods to “fix” them, they declare war on their Academy.”

I don’t read a lot of YA but this book reminded me of Gone by Michael Grant. Maybe it’s totally different, but worth a try anyway.

Always on My Mind by Colette Caddle

Always on My Mind by Colette Caddle

This book I got form Simon & Schuster UK. Looks like a nice Chicklit for the summer!

From the publishers’ website: “Old flames, new temptations . . . With only a few weeks to go until her Dublin wedding, Molly Jackson is happily anticipating married life with Declan, her boyfriend of four years. […] Then Declan drops his bombshell: he has to go abroad, on business. The wedding must be postponed. Hurt, and reeling from the shock, Molly is seeing Declan off at the airport when she bumps into Luke Fortune. Luke, her childhood sweetheart, […] seeing Luke again, she realises that she has a window of opportunity, while Declan is away, to put a few of the ghosts in her past to rest.”

Baby Be Mine by Paige Toon

Baby Be Mine by Paige Toon

Another book I got from Simon & Schuster UK. From their website: “One-time celebrity personal assistant to wild boy of rock Johnny Jefferson, Meg Stiles is now settled and living in the south of France with her doting boyfriend Christian and their son Barney. But they’re living a lie – a lie that will turn their lives upside down and inside out – because as Barney reaches his first birthday, Meg can no longer deny that her son is growing to look more and more like his rock star father every day, and less and less like Christian, and sooner or later, the world is going to realise . . .”

Sounds like another fun chicklit. Yes, I do read chicklit. Not a lot, lately, but I have a small collection on my book shelves!

This Beautiful Life by Helen Schulman

This Beautiful Life by Helen Schulman

A novel that I got from Harper. From their website: “The events of a single night shatter a family’s sense of security and identity in this provocative and deeply affecting domestic drama in the tradition of Lionel Shriver and Sue Miller—a brilliantly observed portrait of modern life and the underlying truths we take for granted”.

Sounds interesting to me!

The Lantern by Deborah Lawrenson

The Lantern by Deborah Lawrenson

Another book from Harper. From their website: “Set in the lush countryside of Provence, Deborah Lawrenson’s The Lantern is an atmospheric modern gothic tale of love, suspicion, and murder, in the tradition of Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca. Drawn to a wealthy older man, Eve embarks on a whirlwind romance that soon offers a new life and a new home—Les Genévriers, a charming hamlet amid the fragrant lavender fields of Provence. But Eve finds it impossible to ignore the mysteries that haunt both her lover and the run-down old house. “

In a way that sounds exactly like Rebecca. Apparently it’s also comparable to The House at Riverton and The Thirteenth Tale (which I both read), so I’m very curious!

Season to Taste by Molly Birnbaum

Season to Taste by Molly Birnbaum

And finally, a non-fiction book, also from Harper. From their website: “Season to Taste is an aspiring chef’s moving account of finding her way—in the kitchen and beyond—after a tragic accident destroys her sense of smell. Molly Birnbaum’s remarkable story—written with the good cheer and great charm of popular food writers Laurie Colwin and Ruth Reichl—is destined to stand alongside Julie Powell’s Julie and Julia as a classic tale of a cooking life. Season to Taste is sad, funny, joyous, and inspiring.”

And guess what? Right now I’m actually reading Julie and Julia so I will be reading this book very soon.

Books I won in a giveaway

The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-French

The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-French

Some title, right? I won this novel from Suzanne of Bibliosue, in the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. She had reviewed the book on her blog a while ago and it sounded very interesting, so when I actually won the book, I was over the moon, but not as far over as when I actually had the book in my hands, a beautiful hardback – I’m sure this won’t have to survive the dungeons of my TBR shelf for too long!

From bol.com (Dutch online book shop): “In 1953, Dr. Wilson Spriggs gave Marylou Ahearn a radioactive cocktail without her consent as part of a secret government study that had horrible consequences. For 50 years she’s been plotting her revenge. At last she’s found Spriggs.”

De geboorte van een wees by Maaike Gerritsen

De geboorte van een wees [The Birth of an Orphan] by Maaike Gerritsen

I won this book from Anthos publishers. About a woman whose father died a while ago and her mother is about to. She needs to look after her children as well as her mother and ends up in an identity crisis.

Sounds awful but the first paragraph was great and I read a very positive review about this novel. So I’m actually looking forward to reading this!

Swapped via Bookmooch

Ghostwritten by David Mitchell

Ghostwritten by David Mitchell

I’ve read most of David Mitchell’s books but not this one yet. From bol.com (Dutch online book shop): “An apocalyptic cult member carries out a gas attack on a rush-hour metro, but what connects him to a jazz buff in Tokyo? A woman on a holy mountain talks to a tree – and the tree talks back – unaware of the effect the financial irregularities of a burnt-out lawyer will have on her life. Add to this […]. All of them have tales to tell, and all must play their part as they are caught up in the inescapable forces of cause and effect.”

Little Children by Tom Perrotta

Little Children by Tom Perrotta

I can’t quite remember who mentioned this book, but it sounded really interesting.

From bol.com (Dutch online book shop):”Three couples raise their kids in the kind of quiet suburb where nothing ever seems to happen–until one eventful summer, when a convicted child molester moves back to town, and two parents begin an affair that goes further than either of them could ever have imagined.”

Have you read any of these books? Which of these would appeal to you?


About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Misha says:

    Those are some great books!
    I loved The Lantern! It reminded me of Kate Morton’s books, like you also mentioned.
    This Beautiful Life by Helen Schulman sounds really good.
    I have seen the movie for Little Children, but I want to read the book too.

    Happy Reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Misha, I didn’t know there was a movie of *Little Children* (or if I did, I forgot since). If the book is good, I’ll try and find it.

      Good to know that you enjoyed *The Lantern*. It sounds like a great read.

  2. Cindy says:

    I’d probably choose ‘Season to taste’ out of that lot.

  3. Nice variety there. Little Children was pretty good. and I’m actually looking forward to this authors 2011 release as well. enjoy the new books.

  4. Uniflame says:

    I would love to read this beautiful life, geboorte van een wees and season to taste🙂

  5. Start with LIttle Children! My book club read this one a while ago, it’s good.

  6. Tes says:

    I am definitely going to get “Season to taste”🙂

  7. Such great books! The Lantern would probably be at the top of my list. I’ve heard so many great things about it. Enjoy!

  8. Suzanne says:

    I’m definitely going to check out Season to Taste. I enjoy those types of memoirs.

    I wish I got that kind of mail when I returned from holiday. All I ever get are bills.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, I’m reading *Season to Taste* now and enjoying it.

      I don’t get many bills in the post these days, most are via internet/automatic payment. But I still have to pay them.🙂

  9. sally says:

    Loved Little Children!! I started Radioactive Lady, but got distracted… maybe I’ll get back to it.

  10. Chinoiseries says:

    Incredible, you received so many books! How are you going to tackle that tbr pile now?😉 the chicklits sound like perfect reading for summer. And, despite the heavy downpours lately, I am positive sunny days will return! Enjoy your wonderful pile of goodies🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Chinoiseries! It’s hard to tackle all of that in a reasonable time. I decided that the challenge I’m doing will have to be done with just the books I own (none from the library).

      I hope we’ll be able to sit in the garden with a book soon again!

  11. JoV says:

    I like Ghostwritten a lot and hope you do too. I haven’t heard of the other titles. Enjoy!

  12. Cass says:

    What fun to come home to so many new books! I tried to read The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady a while back, but I didn’t read it in time before it was due at the library. I’m interested to hear what you think of it!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Cass, so it didn’t draw you in completely? We’ll see. The premise looks so good but of course that doesn’t mean the book is written well.

  13. MarthaE says:

    Whoa! What a nice collection. And not an ugly cover in the bunch.🙂
    Enjoy your reading!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: