It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 3 books in the last week

(Click on the orange links for reviews and other posts.)

My Life in France by Julia Child (DNF). Julia Child’s memoir of living in France and learning how to cook. She eventually became a famous cook in the US. I got bored with this book and didn’t finish it. 3 stars

Instructions for an Inexperienced Lover by Amanda Leduc (ebook). Rosa wants to be a writer but she needs more real-life experience.Then Aylish, a friend from her writing workshop comes into her life. Well-written. 4 stars

Season to Taste by Molly Birnbaum. Memoir about a woman who wants to be a professional chef, but loses her sense of smell in a car accident. The book is about her life as well as her forage into science, to find out what happened to her sense of smell. 4 stars (review to follow)

My Life in France by Julia ChildInstructions for an Inexperienced Lover by Amanda LeducSeason to Taste by Molly Birnbaum

Reading Now

Devil’s Cub by Georgette Heyer. Courtney of Stiletto Storytime has declared August Georgette Heyer month and asked me to review one of Heyer’s books on her blog. I have read one other book by Heyer and like this one, it’s such fun!

My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler. I need to read a book tagged “essays” for a challenge that I’m doing. I don’t like essays in general, so I was lucky to find this short book with Handler’s sexual escapades. Not all in the best taste, but very funny!

Devil's Cub by Georgette HeyerMy Horizontal Life by Chelsea HandlerSnapshot by Craig Robertson

I wrote a review of

Snapshot by Craig Robertson. Someone is killing off criminals in Glasgow. Police photographer Tony Winter, who is always the first to be close up to the bodies, investigates, unofficial, of course.

Other news

Check out my New Arrivals!

These are my 5 Best Books … About Love.

Finally, the winners of the Back of the Book Competition are announced!

*****

I’m hoping to run a new competition involving books with ugly covers.

Which covers do you find very ugly? Let me know!

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

28 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. parrish lantern says:

    Homer’s the Illiad & the Odyssey by Alberto Manguel, about the influence of both books on world Literature from Virgil thru Shakespeare, Joyce Walcott etc.

  2. Uniflame says:

    I am looking forward to your review of season to taste🙂

  3. Misha says:

    I have never read anything by Georgette Heyer because I always assumed her books are pure romances. Since so many bloggers like her books so much, I might try them some day.

    I am reading A Clash of Kings (#2 in the Game of Thrones series) by George R.R Martin and The Night Watch by Sarah Waters.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Misha, Georgette Heyers books are romances I think, but this one is so funny. It’s like Pride and Prejudice but then without all the difficult words and long sentences.🙂

      Enjoy your books! I have read some books by Sarah Waters but not The Night Watch.

  4. Cindy says:

    My husband went to a book sale yesterday and came home with a whole bunch of John Steinbeck and Hemmingway books, I am starting with ‘To a known God’. Enjoy your week, Judith.

  5. Novroz says:

    Snapshots has great cover and sounds like a good book. I will put it in my TBR list🙂

    I have an event coming this August,if you are interested in joining in🙂

  6. I just purchased Season To taste last week when I read an article about it. I hope to start it next week.

  7. Esme says:

    I loved My Life in France-it was the first book ever I read about J. Childs long before the movie. I despised Julia and Julia both the book and the movie.

  8. I love Chelsea Handler! Have a great week.

  9. The Julia Child book looks delicious (pun intended!), as does Season to Taste. The Chelsea Handler book is sure to be a laugh out loud journey. Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  10. Ellie Warren says:

    Oh I didn’t know Craig Robertson had another book coming so soon, I will have to check it out.

  11. Vicki says:

    Season To Taste sounds really good!

  12. alitareads says:

    I should join in on Heyer month. Now that I’ve read one of her books I want to read them all! Happy reading🙂

  13. Pussreboots says:

    Enjoy your books. The wackiest book I’m reading this week is Bagelmania. Please come see what else I’m reading.

  14. MarthaE says:

    I like to see the different books we read.
    Too bad you didn’t enjoy the biography. Sometimes they do get boring.
    I have two Heyer books on my August queue. Plus I have too many books on my August queue…SIGH. Good thing I LOVE to read.
    Have a great week.

  15. I’ve gotta take the time to read Georgette Heyer someday.

  16. Vasilly says:

    I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Season to Taste. Happy reading.

  17. Leslie says:

    I’ve been meaning to read one of Chelsea Handler’s books. Sometimes bad taste is good!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

