Some August Book Blogging Events

There are quite a few events taking place in the book blogging world next month. I’m taking part in the first three, but found a few others that I thought you might like to know about, too. For most of these events, there is still time to sign up .

UK & EU Summer Hop


A giveaway for Europe that I’m taking part in. (Don’t be fooled: UK is actually in the EU!).

It runs from Monday, August 1st to Monday, August 8th and there are many blogs giving away book related items to people in Europe.

I’m taking part with a nice book from my just-read pile! More information here.

.

Sizzling Summer Readathon


Once Upon a Chapter organises the OUAC Sizzling Summer Readathon from August 5-7th. Very laidback, just read as much as you can between 12:00 AM Friday August 5th until 11:59 PM Sunday August 7th.

Sounds good to me! My TBR is massive (by my standards) and some reduction would be so welcome. So, I’m in! The more the merrier, so do join me!

Hopefully the weather will be better than what it’s at the moment, so I’ll be sitting in my garden chair reading in the sun!

.Find out more about the read-a-thon here!

.

Georgette Heyer Gems

Georgette Heyer GemsStiletto Storytime is making August a month of Georgette Heyer gems. She has several guest bloggers appearing on her blog, of which I am one.

You can find me there on August 17th. I’ll post a note on my blog about it on the day to remind you.

I’ve already read my gem: Devil’s Cub which was a really fun regency romance, full of adventures. You can read all about it in August in my guestpost!

.

Read My Own Books Month

RMOB MonthWhat She Reads has declared August Read My Own Books Month in which people only read  books that they choose themselves, not those ARCs that creep up from everywhere.

A month of books that you choose (although there is leeway for a certain amount of other books). Check the announcing post here.

I’m not sure yet … I do have several ARCs that I’d be happy to get out of the way in August, actually.🙂

.

Ultimate Reviewers Challenge

Ultimate Reviewer ChallengeThe Ultimate Reviewers Challenge is organised by For What It’s Worth and two other blogs and is all about writing reviews: link each book review that you write in August and you are entered to win a prize.

More information here

I did this last year, but found very few of “my own crowd” were doing it, so I felt a bit lonely. I think I will skip this time, but maybe it’s something for you?

.

Summer Giveaway Hop


I Am A Reader Not A Writer runs giveaway blog hops very frequently. The next one is the Summer Giveaway Hop, taking place from August 1st to August 7th. More information here.

There are already over 300 blogs signed up. Many of them are Young Adult blogs. Not my main genre, but I’ll definitely have a look and a hop!

.

.

August will be a busy month! Are you joining in with any of these events? 

Do you know any others that I should mention?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

23 Responses to Some August Book Blogging Events

  1. Pam says:

    I am reading two Georgette Heyer books this month!

  2. Cindy says:

    Oh my hat, you book-lot are a busy bunch!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Always something going on in the book blogging world, Cindy. The food blogging world has some interesting cooking challenges sometimes that I wouldn’t know what to do with!

  3. Rikki says:

    I am only participating in the UK&EU hop, but the Georgette Heyer gems looks interesting. However, on Stiletto Storytime I found no blog post about it, only the image in the siebar. My mom used to have plenty of G.H. books and I read quite a few when I was younger.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rikki, I saw your name on the UK&EU blog hop- looking forward to seeing what you’re giving away, you always seem to come up with interesting books.

      No, there is no post up about Georgette Heyer month, unfortunately. I just know because Courtney told me and invited me to do a post for her. I’ve only read 2 GH books, and they are really good fun!

      • Rikki says:

        Ah, I see. I had a look at my bookshelf and found a G.H. mystery that I read at least 20 years ago and remember that I loved it. I might re-read that one in August.

        Hey, if you have seen that I am giving away a 20th century American literature book and have followe my recent reading material that should give you a clue as to what I will be.🙂

      • Leeswammes says:

        Ah, a certain Mr H comes to mind!

  4. Misha says:

    I am very tempted to participate in Sizzling Summer Readathon, but I am not sure whether I will be able to😦 Thanks for sharing all the interesting events happening in August.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hope you’ll be able to join in, Misha. Or maybe just for a day or so? Set some time apart to read? I’m not sure how much time I will have, but I will fill any moment I can with reading.

  5. You are going to have a busy month. I can’t commit to anything right now with the strike looming over me. Fingers crossed they settle!

  6. funcitygal says:

    I did not find this blog thru a comment, oh wait I did. hmmm
    I just finished a great book by Jenn Lancaster and now I am trying to decide what to read next. Any suggestions?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ah, Funcitygal, I can guess where you’re coming from, blog-wise / comment-wise!🙂

      I’ve got the newest book by Page Toon, it’s called Baby Be Mine – looks really good but I haven’t had time to start yet. Sounds like a really nice summer read.

  7. Amanda says:

    I’ll have to check these out! Thanks for posting!

  8. JoV says:

    UK is sort of it is and it is not in the EU. you know ..it’s called in-between!😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jo, UK is definitely in the EU. It’s just not participating with the Euro. But believe me, it’s in the EU.🙂

      They think they’re special, but they’re not.

  9. Uniflame says:

    I am also participating, but I haven’t got an email yet with the details. Did you get one?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Which one are you participating in, Uniflame? The Eu Blog Hop? I got an email on July 17th but nothing since. We should still get a code for the linky list – probably today or so.

  10. Glad to hear you’re able to join in the read-a-thon! It should be fun.🙂 For some reason it’s more fun to read when you know there are other people joining in with you, even if they aren’t with you physically. I hope the weather cooperates for you! It’s boiling hot here so I’m sure I’ll be parked in front of a fan. lol

    • Leeswammes says:

      Stephanie, I feel more entitled to read (rather than doing other things) when other people are doing the same. Silly really! Also, it’s fun to compare notes, etc.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

