July Overview

In July I read 15 books, which is what I always aim for, but almost never manage. But this was a holiday month! The first 2 weeks I was away in Spain and the second 2 weeks I spent home, relaxing mostly.

The Beauty of Humanity Movement was my favorite book this month. It was very well written, beautiful story about an american woman who was born in Vietnam, going back to her place of birth, trying to find information about her father who died when she was young.

Books I read

(Hover over the covers to see their titles and authors).

Changeless by Gail CarrigerThe Lover by Marguerite DurasThe Lake of Dreams by Kim EdwadsMy Life in France by Julia ChildA Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

Sundays at Tiffany's by James PattersonInstructions for an Inexperienced Lover by Amanda LeducAltered by Aubrey ColettiDevil's Cub by Georgette HeyerThe Beauty of Humanity Movement by Camilla Gibb

My Horizontal Life by Chelsea HandlerWhen She Woke by Hillary JordanSeason to Taste by Molly BirnbaumSnapshot by Craig RobertsonThe Quarry by Johan Theorin

Reviewed (click on the title to read the review):

Asylum by Patrick McGrath. The wife of a doctor in a hospital for the criminally insane falls in love with one of the inmates. 5 stars

Among Others by Jo Walton. A girl survives boarding school by making  friends with other book lovers. She sees faeries who help her deal with her crazy mother. 4 stars

The Good Thief’s Guid to Amsterdam by Chris Ewan.  An author who makes money by breaking into people’s houses is asked to steal two worthless figurines. He isn’t keen but gets involved in a big way. 3 stars

The Nobodies Album by Carolyn Parkhurst.  A mother visits her estranged son when he is arrested for murder. Incidentally she finds out what happens, but the book is more about the relationship between mother and son. 4 stars

Boys, Bears, and a Serious Pair of Hiking Boots by Abby McDonald. Seventeen-year old US city girl Jenna has to spent her summer with her aunt in Canada in a small town. She doesn’t fit in with the local kids. 4 stars

Domestic Violets by Matthew Norman. Tom is not enjoying his job and is writing a novel in his spare time. But will he be able to compete with his famous author-father? And how can he survive having several (step)parents staying with him? 3.5 stars

Snapshot by Craig Robertson. Someone is killing off criminals in Glasgow. Police photographer Tony Winter, who is always the first to be close up to the bodies, investigates, unofficial, of course. 4 stars

Instructions for an Inexperienced Lover by Amanda Leduc. Rosa wants to be a writer but she needs more real-life experience.Then Aylish, a friend from her writing workshop comes into her life. Well-written. 4 stars

My Life in France by Julia Child (DNF).  Julia Child’s memoir of living in France and learning how to cook. She eventually became a famous cook in the US. I got bored with this book and didn’t finish it. 3 stars

Season to Taste by Molly Birnbaum. Memoir about a woman who wants to be a professional chef, but loses her sense of smell in a car accident. The book is about her life as well as her forage into science, to find out what happened to her sense of smell. 4 stars

Altered by Aubrey Coletti. Electric shocks are one of the ways a highschool tries to keep its semi-delinquent pupils under control. But what if the pupils have supernatural powers? 3 stars

The Lover by Marguerite Duras. A 15-year old French girl living in Vietnam becomes the lover of a much older and rich Chinese man. 5 stars

Other happenings on my blog:

Read about my 5 Best Books of 2011 … So Far

And my 5 Best Books About Love

I listed some book blogger events happening in August here.

See what I did on holiday.

What was you favorite book this month?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

14 Responses to July Overview

  1. Mystica says:

    I’ve only read Asylum from your list. It was a strangely different book, disturbing as well. All the others new to me but sound really good.

  2. JoV says:

    You read a lot of great books here, none I have read but I sure want to read “The Lover”. What a great month you had!

  3. Beth says:

    Wow I’ve just got Asylum and am really looking forward to it – even more interested now you rate it so highly!

  4. Nadine Nys says:

    Wow, 15 books in one month… I don’t know how you do it. You must be a really fast reader, Judith.

  5. Amy says:

    You read some good books in July. I’m glad you liked The Beauty of Humanity Movement so much, although I’m not surprised it was your favorite. I thought it was a wonderful book. I reviewed it several months ago and still think about some of the characters. I hope to read some of Camilla Gibb’s other books soon
    I see you read Domestic Violets but only gave it 3.5 stars. I’ve just started it and so far, so good although it seems as if it good become rather trying and typical soon! I hope not!

  6. You had an excellent reading month! So happy you took a few weeks off for a vacation to Spain this summer. My husband is in Turkey this week, I can’t wait for him to return (he’s been gone for three weeks).

    I will check out your favorite read, I have been behind with reading blogs… you know why… the dreaded strike training! ggrrrrr🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ve never been to Turkey but I think it’s beautiful there. 3 weeks away is a long time though, if it isn’t a holiday. Hope he’s back soon.

  7. Uniflame says:

    Wow, you did read so much!!🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

