It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The UK & EU Giveaway Blog Hop is now on!

Check my giveaway HERE!

*****

I finished 5 books in the last week

Click on the orange links to go to review or blog post.

Devil’s Cub by Georgette Heyer. Great recency romance (5 stars). You’ll find my review on Stiletto Storytime’s blog on August 15th. She’s doing a Georgette Heyer month.

My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler. Not all in the best taste, but very funny. No review forthcoming, though.

Altered by Aubrey Coletti.Electric shocks are one of the ways a highschool tries to keep its semi-delinquent pupils under control. But what if the pupils have supernatural powers? (3 stars)

The Beauty of Humanity Movement by Camilla Gibb. A Vietnamese-born American woman goes to Vietnam to find evidence of her artist father having worked there. (5 stars)

The Quarry by Johan Theorin. A film studio is burned down and the owner has had a stroke and can’t say what’s going on. Meanwhile, on the island of Öland, some people are settling in their new houses near a quarry. (5 stars)

Devil's Cub by Georgette HeyerMy Horizontal Life by Chelsea HandlerAltered by Aubrey ColettiThe Beauty of Humanity Movement by Camilla GibbThe Quarry by Johan Theorin

Reading Now

Major Pettrigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson. Major Pettigrew is a widowed Englishman of the old kind. He’s trying to win over Mrs. Ali’s heart, a widow from Pakistani origins who runs the corner shop.

Hamlet’s Blackberry by William Powers. Non fiction. In this digital age, we’re connected all the time and we’re almost afraid of downtime in case we miss something. Powers compares our time to the of several old philosophers (from ancient Greek to more modern) who were dealing with similar problems. What can we learn from them?

Major Pettigrew's Last Stand by Helen SimonsonHamlet's Blackberry by William PowersThe Lover by Marguerite DurasSeason to Taste by Molly Birnbaum

I wrote a review of

(Click on the orange links for reviews and other posts.)

The Lover by Marguerite Duras. A 15-year old French girl living in Vietnam becomes the lover of a much older and rich Chinese man. (5 stars)

Season to Taste by Molly Birnbaum. Memoir about a woman who wants to be a professional chef, but loses her sense of smell in a car accident. The book is about her life as well as her forage into science, to find out what happened to her sense of smell. (4 stars)

Other news

Check out my July Overview!

I joined the Transworld Book Group Reading Challenge. If you’re in Europe, you can, too!

I wrote about some Book Blogging events taking place in August.

And if you’re in Europe, check out the UK & EU Giveaway Blog Hop with over 30 blogs giving away books!

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

24 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Cindy says:

    Horizontal Life??? hahaha!

  2. I picked up Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand at a book sale…and thought it might be mildly enjoyable. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked it.

    Hope you have a great reading week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  3. Tes says:

    I am still on Season to Taste but it is going to be on pause because this week I’m gonna be writing a small book for my son’s birthday🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      How nice,Tes! Good luck with the book – will you show it to us when you’re finished?

      • Tes says:

        Yes, Judith I will definite share this… it’s just a small book about the places he went before he turns 3 (this 15th Aug). I think It may be one good gift I can give him that he can read when he grows up. I will try to write around 50 pages which I think I can finish in 7-10 days🙂

      • Leeswammes says:

        That’s such a nice idea, Tes!

  4. Suzanne says:

    Major Pettigrew is just a lovely book. I was prepared to dislike Major Pettigrew himself, but he is such a charming character.

    I just received Hamlet’s Blackberry — not sure when I’ll get to it but it does look interesting.

    Also I’m reading Season to Taste based on your recommendation. I’m not that far into it yet but it is really good.

    Enjoy your week!

  5. I have thought about that Major Pettigrew before – I really like the title and the cover, and with so many recommendations around …

    I have been a bit distracted lately, but I began reading a good old Inspector Wycliffe yesterday – I thought I needed something cosy.

  6. You did good. Come, have a look at what I read last week!

    Here is my Monday: Mailbox/What Are You Reading?/Musings post!

  7. Dollycas says:

    The Quarry looks really good!!

    Dollycas
    http://dollycas.blogspot.com/

  8. I wish I had time to join in on the Georgette Heyer month. Too many great reads in my possesion I am trying to get to🙂

    Congrats on the five books week!

  9. Angelica says:

    Like your “Season to Taste” review🙂 Have a great week!

  10. Major Pettrigrew’s Last Stand is on my TBR stack. I’m looking forward to hearing how you like it.

  11. Yvonne says:

    You had a great week! Good luck this week!

  12. curlygeek04 says:

    I don’t know any of your recent reads, but I hope you love Major Pettigrew! It gets hyped a lot but is such a wonderful book. Major P is just such a well-written character.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

