Sizzling Summer Readathon: Final Post

a
Once Upon a Chapter organises the OUAC Sizzling Summer Readathon from August 5-7th. Very laidback, just read as much as you can between 12:00 AM Friday August 5th until 11:59 PM Sunday August 7th.

The readathon is over!

I’ve made it to the end of the readathon! I read for a total of 15 hours and 15 minutes. That’s quite a lot! I read 2.5 books and have started another book that wasn’t on my list.

Total number of pages: 334 (Friday), 307 (Saturday) and 263 (Sunday) makes a total of 904 pages. I can be proud of that, I think.

These books were on my list for the read-a-thon

Books for the Read-a-Thon

Before the readathon, I’d read half of Baby Be Mine by Page Toon and I finished it on Friday. Then I started on The Lantern by Deborah Lawrenson which I finished on Saturday. Next up was This Beautiful Life by Helen Schulman, of which I read just a few pages on Saturday.

Sunday reads

Today, I finished This Beautiful Life, as I hoped I would. It was not a difficult read. I read most of this book in the car, as my husband and I did some sight-seeing.

On our travels, we saw this beautiful castle in Turnhout, Belgium. But only from the outside, as it’s a courthouse and I couldn’t think of a crime that would get me in there on a Sunday.

Turnhout Castle

Back home, I finished This Beautiful Life, wrote a quick review, and then started in One Day by David Nicholls. This is the third book I’m reading by this author (who has only written three books, to my knowledge). I got to page 60.

One Day by David Nicholls

So, that’s it!

Thanks for the organisers at Once Upon A Chapter. It was great timing, as this was a good weekend for me to spend time reading (and I got out of the house, too).

Next week, there will be more reviews to write. Oh, maybe I should join the Monster Review-a-Thon next.🙂

My Starting Post for the readathon is HERE, my First Update is HERE, and my Second Update is HERE.

What did you do this weekend?

(Are you behind on your reviews, actually?)

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

16 Responses to Sizzling Summer Readathon: Final Post

  1. Amanda says:

    LOL at your comment about the courthouse. It sounds like a fun vacation! One Day is a great book, but you need to grab a box of tissues.

  2. I am reading The Lantern (page 80) and am enjoying it.

    Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on One Day!

  3. Cindy says:

    I believe I have been to that castle! Well done with your reading!

  4. Rikki says:

    Sounds like you had a good reading time.
    Thanks for the link to the review-a-thon. I might join that one.

  5. Pingback: Monster Review-a-thon : Rikki's Teleidoscope

  6. Uniflame says:

    I am actually behind on my reviews,yes! It makes me nervour and it is harder for me to start blogging because of it. Oh dear😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ve got 7 reviews to write, I feel bad. Could you plan to write one a day or so, Uniflame? Then you don’t have to think about it all the time, because you have already “solved” your “problem”. Good luck!

  7. Lian says:

    I was just thinking it is really too bad I never have time to join these read-a-thons when I realized I do my own private read-a-thon every now and then. I love to read for a whole day in a row🙂 I think you did a great job this weekend!

  8. Ok you read in the car, now I understand how you manage to get through so many books!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Yes, that’s handy, isn’t it, LindyLou? My husband likes to drive, and we had a long trip on Thursday and Friday so there was lots of time to read.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

