After the Read-a-Thon: A Review-a-Thon

The Monster Review-a-Thon is organised by the Book Monsters and last from Sunday August 7th until Saturday August 13th. The goal? To review as many books as you can. There are mini-challenges as well!

As I mentioned yesterday in my Final post of the Sizzling Summer Read-a-Thon, it might be a good idea to sign up for the Monster Review-a-Thon, as I have a few books to review now. I finished 3 books during the read-a-thon and I had some un-reviewed books already.

Now that some of my friends (you know who you are) also signed up, I really felt I should get into action! So here goes…

I have reviewed some books on paper already but they need tidying up and put into my wordpress blog (for publishing at a later stage). Those are marked *. The others, I have no notes for at all.

Here they are. I’ll update as I get them done:

  • Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson
  • This Beautiful Life by Helen Schulman *
  • Baby Be Mine by Paige Toon
  • De geboorte van een wees by Maaike Gerritsen [Dutch: The Birth of an Orphan]
  • The Lantern by Deborah Lawrenson *
  • When She Woke by Hillary Jordan *
  • A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray *
  • We All Ran Into the Sunlight by Natalie Young *
  • One Day by David Nicholls
  • The Sandalwood Tree by Elle Newmark
So, I hope to get these all done before Sunday.
How about you? Any reviews that you should be writing?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

15 Responses to After the Read-a-Thon: A Review-a-Thon

  1. Sadly, I have about 20 posts in my drafts folder right now. I think at least 15 of them are reviews that are waiting to be done. I was just going through my book log and realized that there are a few more that I didn’t even start in draft. I read them so long ago, I don’t even know if I should review them.

    I don’t think I will sign up, but I might play along in spirit!

  2. Rikki says:

    Hey, glad you are joining as well. God, you are such a busy bee. With that list of books to review I would be panicky. I try to keep the number of review books short and easy to tame. Otherwise I’d go insane.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rikki, it was seeing your post that persuaded me to join in! Normally, I only have about 1 or 2 reviews to write but with the holidays (a lot of reading, not much reviewing (hey, it was a holiday, right?)) and then more reading and a bit of reviewing. And now I pay the price (sniff, sad, weep).🙂

  3. Fun! Great list of book reviews to look forward to!

  4. Leslie says:

    Thanks for reminding me! I’ve got at least five or six I have to write. Looking forward to your review of The Lantern. I’m trying to decide if I should read that one.

  5. Cindy says:

    Nope, I’ll just watch from the sidelines and admire your stamina😉

  6. Allie says:

    This is something I should definitely be doing. I am about…8 or 9 books behind, so I need to get on that!

  7. Nadine Nys says:

    I’ll admire your hard work from the sideline, Judith, and cheer you on! Good luck!

  8. Uniflame says:

    I am going to try to get them done too. Since I only post once a day, I will put my joining post up tomorrow hopefully🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Glad you’re still in! Hope you get a lot done. I’m slower than I hoped (but knew it would be like that), but I did 2 so far. Hopefully number 3 will also happen today.

  9. lomaurice says:

    The Lantern has just appeared on my radar. Looks interesting. The Hilary Jordan is on my nightstand. I will be doing review. Looks amazing! What did you think of Lantern?

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

