Book Review: Baby Be Mine by Paige Toon

Baby Be Mine by Paige ToonAs you’d probably noticed, I read a lot of genres. Chick-lit is an old favorite which I love to read during holidays or in between more demanding books. This one I read on a long car journey, which was ideal.

The story was a bit unbelievable but it was a good read anyway.

Baby Be Mine: What it is about

English-born Meg lives in the South of France with her boyfriend Christian and their baby son Barney. Meg can’t enjoy life as a new mother as she is constantly worried that her secret will come out: Barney is not Christian’s son but the result of a short affair with Johnny Jefferson, a rock star, who she used to work for.

She realises that Barney starts to look like Johnny more and more as he grows older, and it’s only a matter of time before people will guess the truth. She has to take a decision before it is too late.

Her decision has a huge impact and a stream of events eventually leads to a positive ending to the story.

Baby Be Mine: What I thought

A very entertaining read. A fast-paced story that read really fast, too. When you think about it, the story had some rather unrealistic parts to it, but that didn’t matter.

Very believable was how Meg was worrying about what to do about her secret, and it was something that got me thinking: what should she do?

Other things, like a very busy person finding time for Meg whenever she needed it, were unlikely but were needed to make the story complete.

The writing wasn’t fantastic – in fact, it was a little simplistic. Sometimes things were made too explicit which irritated me a bit. For instance, when her Mum, living several hours away, has visited and left again. Several days later, Meg is talking to her. Obviously, they’re on the phone, at least, that was immediately obvious to me. But her mother asks a question and …

“Yes”, I reply into the receiver. We’re talking on the phone. (p 25)

That last sentence was unnecessary for me.

Anyway, it’s a good read if you don’t mind the story being a little unrealistic and sometimes a little to well-explained. Ideal for when you have a long time to yourself as it’s hard to put the book down.

Rating: 4/5 stars

I got this book: for review from Simon & Schuster UK

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 464

First published: 2011 (July)

Genre: chick-lit

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

13 Responses to Book Review: Baby Be Mine by Paige Toon

  1. Julie P says:

    Chick Lit is always a nice little escape! Glad you liked this one. I have added it to my wish list…..

  2. nymfaux says:

    um, ok–you’re example sentence does sound a little awkward–but glad it was still a fun read and you enjoyed it.

    I’m curious if it’s the writing or the story line that made it seem unrealistic?–because I was just thinking how timely the story sounded with the whole Arnold Schwarzenegger situation.

  3. I have a copy of this at home too. I have read 2 others of Paige Toon’s and loved them both (proper brain candy books). Looking forward to reading mine too🙂

  4. Cindy says:

    Glad you enjoyed it, Judith.

  5. Tes says:

    This sounds like a fun book🙂

  6. Uniflame says:

    I am not really into chick-lit much. But this doesn’t sound too corny🙂

  7. It’s nice to read chick-lit when you’re on holiday! I bought two chick-lit books as well this week.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

