New Arrivals!

Here is my loot for the last two weeks. The postman doesn’t ring as often, while in the mean time I’m reading more than normal. Eventually, we’ll reach an equilibrium so my TBR shelves aren’t bursting anymore.

Lots of good books again. So look at this:

Books I got for review

The Sandalwood Tree by Elle NewmarkThe Sandalwood Tree by Elle Newmark.

A wonderful, atmospheric story about an American woman moving to India in 1947 with her family who finds some old letters of the previous occupants of her house. (I read this already: 5 stars, click on title for review)

I got this from Transworld Publishers in their Transworld Book Group Challenge.

Books I won in a giveaway

I won 3 books in a giveaway by Windmill Books. They did an author chat event on Twitter with author Jonathan Lee (of Who Is Mr Satoshi?) and I was declared the winner of a set of books. Even better, I was allowed to choose from their whole catalogue!

Mudbound by Hillary Jordan

Mudbound by Hillary Jordan

From Windmill Books: “When Henry McAllan moves his city-bred wife, Laura, to a cotton farm in the Mississippi Delta in 1946, she finds herself in a place both foreign and frightening. Henry’s love of rural life is not shared by Laura, who struggles to raise their two young children in an isolated shotgun shack under the eye of her hateful, racist father-in-law. When it rains, the waters rise up and swallow the bridge to town, stranding the family in a sea of mud.

As the Second World War shudders to  an end, men return from Europe to help work the farm. Jamie McAllan is everything his older brother Henry is not and is sensitive to Laura’s plight, but also haunted by his memories of combat. Ronsel Jackson, eldest son of the black sharecroppers who live on the farm, comes home from war with the shine of a hero, only to face far more dangerous battles against the ingrained bigotry of his own countrymen. These two unlikely friends become players in a tragedy on the grandest scale.”

Good to a Fault by Marina Endicott

Good to a Fault by Marina Endicott

From Windmill Books: “Absorbed in her own failings, 43-year-old Clara Purdy crashes her life into a sharp left turn, taking the young family in the other car along with her. When bruises on the mother, Lorraine, prove to be late-stage cancer, Clara moves the three children and their terrible grandmother into her own house while Lorraine undergoes treatment at the local hospital.

[…] Is she acting out of true goodness, or out of guilt? And most shamefully, has she taken the family over simply because she wants one of her own?”

Every Last One by Anna Quindlen

Every Last One by Anna Quindlen

From Windmill Books: “The Lathams seem to have it all: health, wealth and a vibrant family life. As Mary Beth Latham contemplates a life built around home, friends and community, she has every reason to feel fulfilled and content.

Then, for one of her sons, a process of unravelling begins. Mary Beth starts to focus on him, only to find that the comfortable life she has spent years carefully constructing is shattered in a single moment. Forced to confront her own demons, Mary Beth realises how the inconsequential moments we all share – and one shameful act she has hidden from everybody – may have contributed to her fate.”

Books I got from friends

More Than You Can Say by Paul Torday

More Than You Can Say by Paul Torday

My friend M. came back from a short holiday in England where she bought this hard cover of one of my favorite authors (and hers!). Back home, she discovered that she had got a (paperback) copy of this book already. But since her other books by this writer are also paperbacks, she wanted to keep the paperback, and give me the hard cover.

After declaring her slightly loony, I gratefully accepted the book.

From bol.com (Dutch online bookstore): “I’m having lunch at the Randolph Hotel in Oxford tomorrow with my uncle. If you can join us by one o’clock sharp tomorrow, I’ll tear up this cheque and write you another for six thousand pounds. It is a bet Richard Gaunt cannot resist – all he has to do is walk from London to Oxford in under twelve hours. As an ex-soldier he is up to the challenge. But what starts as a harmless bet turns into something altogether different when Richard is taken hostage by a mysterious stranger, Mr Khan, who makes him a highly unusual proposal.”

Dubbele stilte by Mari Jungstedt

Dubbele Stilte [Double Silence] by Mari Jungstedt

This book I got from Uniflame who thought I’d enjoy this book more than she would. In return, I sent her my copy of Altered (by Aubrey Coletti), which I think she’ll enjoy more than I did, too!

Several of Jungstedt’s book have been translated to English, but I can’t work out what the English title of this book would be (or maybe this is too new and not translated yet).

From bol.com (Dutch online bookstore, description translated by me): “At the end of June a couple, Andrea and Sam spend the weekend with some friends on an island where they are planning to visit the Ingmar Bergman festival. […] But when they arrive at the film festival a text message turns everything around. An old secret is revealed that changes the holiday fun into uncontrollable anger. The consequences are terrible and deadly. Only two very experienced police officers can solve the issues: inspector Anders Knutas and his colleage Karin Jakobsen.”

Books I bought or borrowed

Eleven by Mark Watson

Eleven by Mark Watson

I bought this at the supermarket in England. It was the only book I bought on my recent England trip. Don’t you think that’s good? Well, fact is, I read all the others in the store. (No, of course not, not quite!).

From Simon and Schuster UK: “This is the story of radio DJ Xavier Ireland, who by night offers words of wisdom to sleepless Londoners and by day keeps himself to himself. That is, until a one-of-a-kind encounter forces him to confront his own biggest regret.

Meanwhile, a single moment sparks a chain of events that will affect eleven lives across the city, with unstoppable consequences…”

Het graf van de voddenraper by Bart Vercauteren

Het graf van de voddenraper

[The Grave of the Rag and Bone Man] by Bart Vercauteren

I got this from the library. It’s on the short list of a Dutch literary prize and I’m trying to read all five of the books (this is number 4 on my list, one more to go).

I read this already and it’s about a grave digger who is going to retire soon thinks back on his life. A short, very beautifully written book, unfortunately only in Dutch.

Have you read any of these books? Which of these would appeal to you?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

25 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Tes says:

    They all sounds really interesting! I bet they will take you quite an adventure this week!🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think it’ll be more than one week, Tes! I still have some other books to read first. I’m drowning a bit in books at the moment. But it’s nice to have a pile of books that I can choose from.

  2. I have a copy of Mudbound at home and keep being told I should read it! I like the sound of Eleven too so will look forward to your thoughts on that. And well done on restraining yourself in the sup0ermarket😉

  3. Louise says:

    I loved Mudbound and I was surprised by how good it was..;-)

  4. Aths says:

    I love the books that you chose from the Windmill books catalog! Mudbound especially is one I really want to read. More than you can say looks interesting! I haven’t heard of that, so I’m going to check it out!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I was pleasantly surprised, Aths, when I looked through the Windmill catalog. I had only read one book from them (as far as I knew) and there were some really good books there.

  5. Enjoy your books! The only one I have read is Mudbound.

  6. I am really interested in reading Good to a Fault. The storyline seems awesome. I am wondering the same thing, is she caring for them because she is a good Samaritan or because she feel guilty. Can’t wait to read the review for it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lena, I was recommended *Good to a Fault* by a Dutch publisher on Twitter and they publish books that I generally enjoy reading. Not sure when I’ll be able to read it. October, November? This year? The next? Ah, you know how it goes…

  7. Cindy says:

    Oh my, you’ve been lucky. Enjoy!

  8. Suzanne says:

    Mudbound is excellent, but disturbing.

    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts about Good to a Fault. It brings up some interesting issues. I reviewed it on my blog last year: http://bibliosue.blogspot.com/2010/09/good-to-fault-by-marina-endicott.html

  9. I bought a copy of Good to a Fault 5-6 years ago… I haven’t read it yet (my mom was feeling great when I bought it but quickly took a turn for the worse and I haven’t been able to read it yet). I do plan to one day though. Maybe soon… after strike duty I might be tougher mentally!🙂

  10. Uniflame says:

    That is a great haul of books! I am looking forward to some of the reviews🙂

  11. So many new arrivals this week! I have also joined the Transworld Challenge and have chosen The Sandalwood Tree as my first title. It seems to be a popular choice among other entrants! I will be looking out for your review, my copy has yet to arrive.

  12. Esme says:

    That is a nice plus to be able to pick books from their catalogue.

  13. pburt says:

    I have read Good to a Fault and really enjoyed it. It is one of those quiet books that doesn’t garner the attention it deserves.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

