Book Review: The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards

The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwads

I won this book as an ARC in Dutch, from publisher’s De Arbeiderspers. Funnily enough, they sent me two copies. I gave one away to a friend.

I read and enjoyed Kim Edwards’ previous book, The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, so I was keen to read this book too.

The Lake of Dreams: What it is about

Unemployed Lucy Jarrett goes for a holiday back to her mother in The Lake of Dreams, a town situated around a lake. When she finds some letters that point to the existence of an unknown family relation, Lucy dives into archives and libraries to find out about this lady, called Rose, who was born over 100 years ago.

She is fascinated when she finds a pattern in a blanket made by Rose, that is repeated in a stained galss window made by a famous artist, Frank Westrum. Lucy tries to find a link between Rose and Frank and comes across yet another unknown family relation.

The story of Rose inspires Lucy to take some decisions in her life to move her forward again.

The Lake of Dreams: What I thought

An interesting book with perhaps a little too much family research.

I always love the idea of being able to go back to your home town where your parents still live, as well as your neighbors, highschool friends and other acquaintances. It must give such a feeling of belonging. (Although it’s probably also claustrophobic how everyone still treats you as they did when you were much younger and you may be stuck with a certain label forever).

So, I loved it that Lucy went back home, visited familiar places, and met up with her boyfriend from long ago. That part of the book made a really good read.

There was also the story of Lucy’s father, who died too young, and whose death Lucy felt partially responsible for. And there was uncle Art, who seemed to have ulterior motives with his friendly behavior and it was fun to see if he indeed was the bad guy who would be caught and stopped in his tracks.

What I liked less was the story about Rose and the artist, as I found the trigger (finding some letters) not of enough interest to then go onto an extensive search. I felt little curiosity about Rose and so, Lucy spending most of the book researching her was a little boring for me – even though I am interested in family research (I even have set up a website full of family trees myself!!).

I did like how Lucy used the information about Rose to evaluate her life and consider her future.

In all, a book that I enjoyed reading even if the story was not too compelling.

Rating: 4/5

I got this book: from a giveaway by the Dutch publisher’s De Arbeiderspers

I read this in: Dutch (Een vrouw van glas), the original language is English

Number of pages: 372

First published: 2010

Genre: contemporary fiction

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to Book Review: The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards

  1. Julie says:

    Thanks for the review on this. It sounds just my sort of book!

  2. Mrs.B. says:

    It sounds interesting. I’ve never read Kim Edwards.

  3. Cindy says:

    I think I’d like the book. I am also envious of people who are able to go back to their childhood homes.

  4. Veens says:

    I have not read The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, but I think I would like this one. Sounds like a good read.

  5. Marie says:

    Nice review! I enjoyed the book and liked the overall story, but I wasn’t too keen on the letters. They really didn’t work for me.

  6. I’m not a genealogy researcher, but I know someone who is, and I am definitely going to recommend this book to her! Thanks, Judith.

  7. Thanks for this – have it to read on my reader but haven’t got there yet.

  8. RFW says:

    I liked the cameo appearance of her first book, The Memory Keeper’s Daughter – ““…she put the paperback facedown…I glimpsed an ethereal baby dress against a background of black…”

  9. Nan says:

    I wrote a book report on this, and then went searching to see if anyone else had written about it. Very good review. I really loved this book.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

