5 Best Books … Re-reads

5 Best BooksCassandra of Indie Reader Houston runs the meme: “5 Best Books”. Every week, a different topic is suggested by Cassandra and participants list what they think are the 5 best book for that topic. Click HERE to see the topics for the next few weeks.

This week, the topic is 5 Books that I’ve re-read.

I re-read books regularly. Well, I did until I became a book blogger and had too many books to read for the first time, even. No, it’s not quite true, I do try and re-read a book every now and then, but it happens less often than it used to.

Here are some books that I’ve re-read in the last few years:

The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson

Millennium trilogy by Stieg LarssonI loved reading this series. And I was lucky, because before the third book was translated into English, I had already read the trilogy twice, in Dutch.

I didn’t care too much about the movies, they were OK, but I loved the books.

It’s a mystery about a woman, Lysbet Salander, who is a computer buff but also rather strange. She helps a journalist, Mikael Blomkvist, solve a mystery, but in the second and third book she herself is accused of a crime.

This Book Will Save Your Life by A. M. Homes

This Book Will Save Your Life by A. M. HomesThis was my first book by A. M. Homes and since then, I’ve read most of the others. I.Love.This.Book. I don’t think I can even say exactly why.

It has something to do with the fact that the main character, who has everything one could ever wish for, in fact has nothing to live for. During the book this changes almost completely around.

The events in the book are slightly improbable but such fun to read. I think I could re-read this book quite regularly and still not get bored.

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami

The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Haruki MurakamiThis was the first book I read by Murakami (is there something about first books that become favorites?).

It’s a surrealist book, but only very lightly so, the events almost seem possible in the real world.

The story is mysterious and as a reader, you are never in control with Murakami. You have to go with the flow and just see where the story will end. Here’s my review.

Beyond Sleep by W. F. Hermans

Beyond Sleep by W. F. Hermans

W. F. Hermans is a Dutch writer, and this book my all-time favorite book. I have re-read it so often!

The story: A PhD student in Geology goes on a summer trip to Norway to prove a theory. He is suspicious of his fellow team members and of the Norwegian professor who did not provide him with the aerial maps that he was promised.

I love the writing and the story. Nothing goes well for Alfred and somehow, that’s funny! (Sorry, Alfred!).

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver

Prodigal Summer by Barbara KingsolverA book about nature. Three people play a main role in this book.

I loved the story of Deanna especially. She’s a biologist who spends a year living in a remote cabin in Appalachia, studying wildlife. But she cannot get away from human contact completely, to her great annoyance.

There’s also the story of Lusa, city girl turned farmer when she married a country boy who subsequently died. She tries to keep the farm going even though her in-laws would love her to up and leave.

I read this book twice, but I don’t think it will be long until re-read 2.

What books have you re-read?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

12 Responses to 5 Best Books … Re-reads

  1. I have not reread the Millennium trilogy yet, but of course I shall.

    Since I began blogging, I have not reread much. Stupid really, because I could just review some of my favourites from my pre-blogging days, but I feel all my new books glaring at me if I don´t read them.

  2. I am especially interested in The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle. I’ve not read Murakami, though I have one of his in audio. I’ll try to start it soon. I have my first official audiobook review to work on, though. I’ll be listening to it first. It’s a re-read, too.

  3. KimvA says:

    I still have to read the Millenium trilogy have the first two on my shelf but haven’t gotten around to reading them. I don’t do much rereading anymore, too many new books calling me but I am finding some time to reread De 100 jarige oorlog trilogie by Thea Beckman (good thing you’re Dutch so you know what I’m saying here😉 ) My alltime favorite series. And I have read the Avalon series by Marion Zimmer Bradly numerous times.

    • Leeswammes says:

      KIM, if you’re like me, you’ll need the third book of the Millennium trilogy when you start reading the other two. It’s so hard to stop reading these books!

      Thea Beckman is good, I used to read a lot of her books – can’t remember if I reread them. I’ve also read the Avalon series – very satisfying reading!

  4. Jeanie F says:

    I recently re-read Lord of the Flies – even better this time around!

    I see you’re reading one of my – and my book club’s – all time favorites, The Tortilla Curtain. I would consider re-reading that one day. I live in S California, where this novel takes place. It completely changed the way I look at the day laborers and migrant workers I see among us. . . opened my eyes to how difficult their lives are!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I love Tortilla Curtain, another re-read for me. It’s so good It was my first T. C. Boyle, and I still think it’s one of his best.

      I’m still not sure what to think of those migrant workers, or the views the rich people have on them. I can see either side of the problem. But that’s often the case, isn’t it?

  5. Karen says:

    I loved the Millennium series, Wind-up and This Book Will Save Your Life. Some of my favourite books there. Also love Barbara Kingsolver but haven’t read that one. Since I like all the others I think I will need to look out for the Hermans book. Great list!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I would be thrilled if you checked out the Hermans book, Karen. Too few people outside the Netherlands have heard of it, but it’s brilliant (I think).

  6. dixie says:

    Prodigal Summer is one of my favorite books! Nearly everyone I talk to says Kingsolver’s The Poisonwood Bible is a fave, but for me it is Prodigal Summer.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

