Book Review: Changeless by Gail Carriger

Changeless by Gail Carriger

I very much enjoyed reading the first book in the Parasol Protectorate series, Soulless, and Changeless is book two.

I found it a slow read and not quite as interesting as book 1. Still, I enjoyed reading it. A lot.

It can be read without first reading Soulless, but it may take a little longer to get into the story and understand what is going on.

Changeless : What it is about

Alexia Tarrabotti is now Lady Maccon, after she married Alpha male werewolf Connell Maccon. Alexia isn’t too pleased when a regiment of werewolves camp in the lawns of Woolsey castle which is now her home.

The regiment are on their way back to Scotland after fighting in India. Luckily, they don’t stay long, as Alexia has other trouble to attend to. All supernatural powers have ceased working: werewolves and vampires can only take their human forms and ghosts have disappeared altogether.

In order to seek the cause, Alexia travels to Scotland in a dirigible (a kind of zeppelin), where her husband is taking care of some business of his own. Eventually, a new machine, an aetographer, which with messages can be sent across the country, takes a special place in solving the issues.

Changeless : What I thought

Not quite as good as Soulless. This is mainly because I loved the whole new setting and characters in the first book, which I found very original. Changeless continues in a similar vein and so missed the excitement of the new.

Still, some interesting new ideas were introduced, such as the aetographer and humanization, which made the story good fun to read. There were also a few lesbians to liven up the story.

The writing is old fashioned, fitting the era the story is set in (about 1870s) but this also means it was a slow read for me. I found that a bit irritating, as the story itself didn’t warrant the savouring of each sentence.

A fun, but somewhat slow read with a number of fun ideas. Don’t be put off by the mention of vampires and werewolves… they’re people too.

Rating: 4/5 stars

I got this book: bought from Book Depository

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 400

First published: 2010

Genre: fantasy, steampunk

Extra: Check out my review for the third book in this series, Blameless.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

16 Responses to Book Review: Changeless by Gail Carriger

  1. Andrew Girle says:

    I’ve read the first three in the series so far – as you say, great concepts mixed with old fashioned language, which certainly captures the ‘feel’ of the period.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Andrew, I haven’t read the third in the series yet, but if it’s like the other two, it will be more good fun. It’s waiting for me on the shelves, but so are many other books. I do hope to read it soon.

  2. Rikki says:

    Still have to read this one. Your review sounds like what I already thought from other reviews I read. But eventually I will get to it, especially since I have book three and four already sitting here.

    • Leeswammes says:

      In that case, you’ll just have to read it, Rikki. Althought, really, I suspect that you could read book 3 without reading book 2. I can’t imagine you’d miss much important. But since it’s a fun series, you might as well read them all!

  3. Nadine Nys says:

    I really don’t think this is for me, Judith … Vampires and wherewolves! No thanks🙂

  4. Cindy says:

    Nope, no werewolf books for me!

  5. Trisha says:

    I’m really enjoying this series, and I can’t wait for the fourth!

  6. curlygeek04 says:

    I just finished book four in the series. A lot of people weren’t crazy about the second book, but it takes place in Scotland, which is a place I love, so I enjoyed it. This is really a fun series even if a little annoying at times.

  7. Heather says:

    I have the audio version of Heartless waiting to be listened to. I decided to start at the beginning and have requested Souless from my library. Hope to be enjoying them soon.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

