Weekend Cooking: Plum Flan and a Diet

Weekend Cooking

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, fabulous quotations, photographs. It is hosted by Beth Fish Reads.

The Farm and the Flan

This week I finally made it to the nearby farm that sells home-grown produce. I’d been there before, but it must have been a year or so ago. It’s only a 30 minute cycle ride away from our house, so I can’t really say why I don’t go more often.

I do love going there as it’s such a rustic place with a dog greeting you as you arrive, and a ginger cat curled up on the drive. And they have a good selection of foods on display in their barn. Since it’s apple and pear season, they had several crates full of the fruits, and they even had a choice of varieties of apples.

I came away with: pears, red plums, strawberries, beetroot, cream cheese and a bottle of apple/pear juice.

I had already a use in mind for the plums: the Each Peach Pear Plum Flan from Kirsten at Peace, Love and Muesli. When I saw the recipe on her blog, I knew I wanted to make it with the first bag of pears I got my hands on. So this week I made it (with just the plums).

Each Peach Pear Plum Flan

Now, the black on top isn’t really black, it’s caramelized brown caster sugar. A bit less of it would have done just fine, but as it was, the flan was really, really good.

I mean: really good!

And the only ingredient I don’t normally have in the larder were the plums. Sometimes, I buy a food (like the plums in this case), then at home I look up a recipe and find that I need to buy several other food items before I can make it. Not this time. Very easy and very tasty. Here’s the recipe.

A Diet

Flans and diets obviously don’t really go together, although they can do. As I decided a few pounds fewer would look really nice on my figure I looked for a diet that I could keep to without too much trouble. So I found this diet that isn’t really a diet, but a way of keeping track of the calories you consume and the exercise you take.

It knows lots of foods and their calorific value already (users can enter new items themselves) and I was happily surprised to see that the Dutch dessert I had eaten as well as the British cereal were already in the system (the exact brands that I used). It had loads of American foodstuffs as well (I think it’s originally American).

It works like this: at the very start of your new diet plan, you do tell it how much weight you want to lose and it suggests a maximum number of calories per day. In my case, it’s 1550, so that allows for some decent meals. You fill out for each meal what you ate and this is taken off your allowance for that day. The only thing you have to worry about is that you don’t consume more than your allowance.

And when you do some exercise, the calories you burn are added to your daily allowance! I love that kind of diet because it allows you to eat whatever you like, as long as you don’t overdo it.

Those diets where you can’t eat chocolate? I can do them until my chocolate craving gets out of hand and I eat a month’s worth of chocolates.

With this new diet, I can go on a long cycle ride and then have my cake and ate it. Or my chocolate, or indeed a plum flan.

The programme is called My Fitness Pal, it’s online (there’s also a mobile version) and it’s free. I’m Leeswammes, if you would like to join and link up with me. Please do! I need some support.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

28 Responses to Weekend Cooking: Plum Flan and a Diet

  1. Lian says:

    Good for you, finding a diet that actually works. Good luck with it! (I’ll cheer you on from here since I won’t be joining the diet)

  2. Beth F says:

    I’ll have to give My Fitness Pal a look. I saw some people talking about SparkPeople on Twitter and that looks interesting too. Truly the only “diet” that works is one that is based on the simple fact that to lose weight one must eat few calories than one burns — the type of food is not the issue, it’s the calories and exercise.

    Anyway, that flan looks yummy and plum season is one of my favorites.

  3. TheBookGirl says:

    The flan looks delicious..Fruit-based desserts are actually my favorite, I much prefer them to chocolate ones🙂

    I’m not familiar with My Fitness Pal, but I have used a similar website: My Plate.com which worked really well for me. I wish you the best of luck with your diet!

  4. I use Livestrong, and put my recipes in there, so my husband can keep track of calories for the things we make at home. I will check out Fit Pal too! Isn’t it nice to be surprised when something yummy is also healthier than you thought?

    • Leeswammes says:

      I haven’t heard of Livestrong, Col. Sounds handy as well. I tihnk with Fitness Pal you can also add your own foods (whole recipes if you like). I like the combination with the exercise counter.

  5. Rikki says:

    Ah, great. I have gained a few pounds over the last months and need to get rid of them. The site you linked us up to sounds ok. Done it with WW online before and that worked well, but cost an arm and a leg,🙂.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ve never tried WW, Rikki. Something about it doesn’t appeal to me. I like this site because of the freedom it gives you and it’s free!🙂

      • Rikki says:

        I know what you mean, I’d NEVER go to a WW meeting or anything, but the online way was ok for me, being online all the time anyway. And it worked like a charm. I must give them that.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Rikki, I can imagine that it’s quite different doing it online. Very good that it worked for you.

        I did a (Dutch) online diet twice, which also worked well. It was like Fitness Pal, but it’s wasn’t free (not expensive) and not quite as easy to use.

  6. The flan looks scumpcious! Good luck on the ‘diet’ tracking tool, sounds like a good approach (a lifestyle rather than a diet). I have lost 6 pounds in the last 13 days (due to the strike) but don’t recommend this ‘diet’!!🙂

    Have a wonderful Sunday!

  7. rosecityreader says:

    Oooohhh . . .I love plum desserts. Our summer is late this year, so we don’t have plums yet, but now I’ll be ready. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Rose City Reader

  8. Best of luck with your diet.

    When are we going to hear more about your hideous covers, by the way?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ah, at the beginning of September, Dorte. I was hoping to get a few more covers from other people, but a few people have sent in a lot of covers, so really we do have enough to get started.

  9. That plum flan sounds amazing, Judith.

    Good luck with the diet too – I started back on Slimming World last week and lost 6.5lb’s in my first week! Go me!!!😉

  10. Heather says:

    The flan sounds tasty. I love to use fresh fruit in my baking, that canned filling stuff if just plain icky.

  11. The flan looks wonderful, especially with plums. When people ask me how I lost the weight, they seem to always be looking for some diet with a name. But really “eat less, exercise more” is how I did it. I’ve used tracking programs at various times and may again. At the moment, a paper and pencil food plan is what is working for me.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Joy, yes, it’s rather simple: if you eat less than you need (in a sensible way), you will lose weight – it’s just hard to keep that balance. But I’m trying! Did some gardening yesterday and had a piece of chocolate as a reward.🙂

  12. Uniflame says:

    I want to go to a farm again too. In the past I used to go every week, but that was when there was still a car in the household since it is too far by bike and not accessible with the bus. I would love to go again though🙂 Now I plan my meals ahead and buy the ingredients. Back then I bought the ingredients and then decided what I would make.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s a pity you don’t have a farm closer to home, Uniflame. Is there a farmer’s market in Nijmegen? But that still means carrying stuff around, I guess.

      • Uniflame says:

        Well we do, in the city center. But since the OV chip card trips to the city center have become rare because it is has become much more expensive to get there.

        On the other hand since Nick works in a fruits & veggie shop, we have access to a great selection for a reduced price. However I do miss just going to the farm.

  13. Margot says:

    I can’t say I’ve ever had Plum Flan but it looks delicious. Good luck with the diet.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

