New Arrivals!

Here are my recent new books. Just a few to keep me happy.🙂

Books I got for review

The Obscure Logic of the Heart by Priya Basil

The Obscure Logic of the Heart by Priya Basil

From the publishers’ website: “In a bustling London café, Anil, […] sits waiting for Lina. It is years since he last laid eyes on her, the love of his life. […] Together, they think back to tragedies both personal and political, betrayals large and small. A past played out across three continents that house their rival worlds: Sikh and Muslim, wealthy and modest, liberal and orthodox, corrupt and moral….

Lina has one more revelation that must be shared with Anil. Might it unite them once and for all, or has it come too late?”

I got this from Transworld Publishers in their Transworld Book Group Challenge. I read it already and it’s really good!

Books I won in a giveaway

The River by Tricia Wastvedt

The River by Tricia Wastvedt

I won this book from Nat of In Spring it is theDawn in her givewaway during a recent Literary Giveaway Blog Hop.

From Nat’s post: “When two children drown [Not a spoiler- this is the opening scene] on an idyllic summer afternoon in 1958, the community of Cameldip is left haunted by the tragic loss. And parents Isabel and Robert suffer a grief that is as devastating as it is unrelenting.

Thirty years later, Anna arrives in Cameldip, fleeing city life and her own disappointments. She does not tell anyone that she is pregnant. Anna goes to live with Isabel and unwittingly begins to unravel ties of guilt and betrayal held close for many years. When the baby arrives, powerful feelings of loss and heartbreak begin to surface and Anna is forced to ask whether Isabel’s feelings towards the baby are entirely benign.”

Books I borrowed

De 100 jarige man die uit het raam klom en verdween by Jonas Jonasson

”The Centenarian Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

I borrowed this book, not translated into English yet, from my mother. She loved the book and so did one of my friends. The book was originally written in Swedish.

From the author’s website: “On his hundredth birthday, just as the celebrations are about to begin out in the lounge in the old people’s home, Allan Karlsson hastily decides that he wants nothing to do with the party. He climbs through his window and disappears – and soon he has turned the whole nation on its head. He does have some experience in these matters. He has previously done the same thing with the world.”

Bonita Avenue by Peter Buwalda

Bonita Avenue by Peter Buwalda

This book, by a Dutch writer, is also not translated into English. It may yet happen, as it is on a shortlist for a Dutch debut prize. This is also the reason I want to read it. I agreed to read all 5 books on the shortlist, and if I do, my vote counts twice. I borrowed it from a friend, as it didn’t look good enough to buy. We’ll see.

Books I bought

The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister

The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister

I bought this book as a “bookazine” which is a book on cheap paper in the form of a magazine. Every month there is a new bookazine and when I think it’s a good title (and one I haven’t read yet!), I usually buy it. It’s low-price.

From the author’s website: “Once a month on Monday night, eight students gather in Lillian’s restaurant kitchen for a cooking class. They come to learn the art behind Lillian’s dishes, but it soon becomes clear that each one unknowingly seeks a recipe for something beyond the kitchen. One by one, they are transformed by the aromas, flavors, and textures of what they create. Over time, the paths of the students intermingle and intertwine, and the essence of Lillian’s cooking expands beyond the restaurant and into the secret corners of their lives, with results that are often unexpected and always delicious.”

Have you read any of these books? Which of these would appeal to you?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

28 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. By coincidence, I have the book by the same author – marketed in the UK as the “The Monday Night Cooking School”, recently borrowed from the library.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Julie, {sigh} different titles! It drives me mad – why do they do that? We international bloggers get confused!🙂

      Hope you’ll enjoy the book. It sounds a bit like The Friday Night Knitting Club.

      • It is a money making idea by the publishers I am sure. It does sound like the Friday Night Knitting club doesn’t it. I am just about to start this book. Hope you enjoy it.

  2. Lian says:

    I got “de 100 jarige man die uit het raam klom en verdween” for my birthday. Haven’t read it yet but the people who gave it to me said it was very good. Oh, and I guess you know the “boekenfestijn” is this weekend in Utrecht?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lian, yes, this weekend or the next (I didn’t pay attention) but I’m not allowed to go (says me, says my husband) as I have too many unread books already. Such a pity, because I love visiting a big hall of reduced-prize books!

  3. Lian says:

    That’s too bad… I’m gonna go for the first time and I’m really curious what it’ll be like!

    • Leeswammes says:

      To me, it felt like heaven. To start with. There were all these great (and less great) books for very reasonable prices and I loaded my shopping trolley until it was quite heavy. But then there was more, and more, and it never stopped. In the end I actually *had enough* and skipped some of the aisles. Hard to imagine.

      Have fun and get yourself some nice new books!

      • Lian says:

        Sounds like fun! Although I actually shouldn’t buy to much… I might be moving to a new home soon🙂

  4. Where can you find bookazines? I have never heard about it before.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Katrien, it’s organised by the women’s magazine Libelle, here in the Netherlands. I don’t know whether they sell them in Belgium. Keep an eye on the magazine shelves in your supermarket or book shop. Here, they are in the section with the romance novels (that are sold in the magazine rack).

  5. Leslie says:

    I’ve never seen a ‘bookazine’ either. Perhaps they are not offered in the US.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, the bookazine is not published by a book publishers but one that publishes magazines. It’s their own thing that they came up with to promote books (or make some extra money).

  6. Julie P says:

    What a great mailbox this week, Judith! Enjoy…..

  7. I have also entered the Transworld Challenge, although the first book has still to arrive! I also picked the Priya Basil one, so will be looking out for your review.

    • Leeswammes says:

      LindyLou, strange how long it takes for you to get your book for the Transworld Challenge. This book was my second. But then, I did sign up on the first or second day that it was open.

  8. Suzanne says:

    I have The School of Essential Ingredients on my shelf …. somewhere…… Your other titles sound really good and once again I get the feeling that I might need to start learning Dutch!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, there are some really good books in Dutch, but don’t worry: there are many more good books in English. You never have to be without a good book, even if you never learn Dutch. But it would be fun if you did, of course.

  9. parrish says:

    The one that most appeals is one I cannot yet read, which us normal for me, about the old man vanishing.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Parrish, it’s silly.They are translating this book in I don’t know how many languages, but English isn’t one of them. I’m sure they will translate it eventually – remember the Stieg Larsson series? I read that twice in Dutch (all 3 books) before the 3rd book was even translated into English.

  10. RFW says:

    Wow – lots of good titles that I had not heard about – thanks! I did read the School of Essential Ingredients – so long ago that I’ve forgotten most of it – but do remember liking it – reminds me of all those other “you are what you eat” books – Like Water for Chocolate and The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake.

  11. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    The School of Essential Ingredients is a lovely read – I am sure you will enjoy it!

    Shelleyrae

  12. Marieke says:

    4d really love te read Bonita ‘avenue’ and ‘de 100-jarige man die uit het raam klom en verdween’.
    I’m very curious for your opinion about these books.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marieke, I’m reading Bonita Avenue at the moment and liking it a lot so far (half-way). I’ve been warned that something strange will happen that changed my acquaintance view on the book totally. She wouldn’t say what it was…

      De 100-jarige might be a while …. I have so much to read still. But I’m looking forward to it.

  13. I like the sound of The River. Hope you enjoy all of these.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

