It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I finished 2 books in the last week

Bonita Avenue by Peter Buwalda. It’s a Dutch book, not translated. Oh, I’ve got to write a review of this! It won’t be easy. 4 stars

When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman. Even worse. I’m not sure what the book was all about. The author explains in the back which I don’t like. A book should be able to explain itself. 3.5 stars.

Bonita Avenue by Peter BuwaldaWhen God Was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman

Currently Reading

Return to Summerhouse by Jude Deveraux. A light reading, sequel to The Summer House, which I enjoyed a lot. Three women that didn’t know each other beforehand, meet up in a house and discuss their lives.

Return to Summerhouse by Jude DeverauxThe Obscure Logic of the Heart by Priya Basil

I wrote a review of

The Obscure Logic of the Heart by Priya Basil. While Lina’s parents still dream of a suitable boy for their eldest daughter, she engages in an intricate game of deceit to hide her blossoming relationship with a man who is very different from herself. (4 stars)

Sundays at Tiffany’s by James Patterson. As a child, Jane Margaux had an imaginary friend who she was supposed to forget about when she grew older. But when as an adult, she meet Michael, she knows it’s him! (3 stars)

Other news

Check out my August Overview… HERE.

The Ugly Covers Competition has started! Cast your vote for the ugliest cover… HERE.

I’m joining the R.I.P Challenge – reading some scary books in September and October.

There is a lot more going on in September and October. Check out some of the Book Blogger events HERE.

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

28 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. parrish says:

    Just started Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan, plus browsing a volume if Romanian poetry.

  2. Interesting week. I recently bought When God Was a Rabbit because of the good reviews (plan to read it soon) and somewhat longer ago I purchased Priya Basil’s novel, which I also hope to get round to in the near future.
    As for what I am reading now: I have just started Rosemary Sutcliffe’s YA novel The Eagle of the Ninth, which is set in Roman Britain.

  3. Rachel says:

    I have When God was a Rabbit on my to read list so I may need to read up about it a bit more by the looks. Have a good week.

  4. How disappointing, I had heard that When God Was a Rabbit was a good read.

  5. RAnn says:

    Return to Summerhouse looks good.

  6. winstonsdad says:

    I finished five books last week just finished a French novella flight of Icarus this morning not sure what reading next what ever takes my fancy when I get home all the best stu

    • Leeswammes says:

      Stu, it’s nice when you can pick and choose. At the moment, I feel that I “have” to read certain books (for review, book group, etc.). But actually, my next read will be a thriller and I’m looking forward to it.

      Have a good week!

  7. Mystica says:

    I understood when god was a rabbit very easily (maybe the Buddhist influences prevalent here) makes it easier to understand reincarnation.

    • Leeswammes says:

      That’s a difficult one, Mystica. I’m not sure. I interpreted it that God could be everywhere and didn’t need to be an old man with a grey beard in the skies.

  8. Louise says:

    Finally, someone else who just didn’t get it, I really wasn’t that interested in When God Was A Rabbit, I forced myself to finish it and quickly forgot all about it. I’m currently reading Something Wicked This Way Comes🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Louise, there’s me thinking everyone loved *When God was a Rabbit!* Good to hear it wasn’t your taste either. I mean, that I’m not (nearly) alone in my (slight) dislike of the book.

      *Something Wicked*sounds good fun. I’m going to look it up!

  9. I enjoyed The Summerhouse, so I think I’ll check out “Return to the Summerhouse.” Thanks for sharing….

    “When God Was a Rabbit” didn’t sound like something I’d enjoy, so thanks…I can pass!

    Glad you could visit my blog.

  10. Amy says:

    I was interested in reading When God was a Rabbit but I don’t think I’ll be rushing out to buy it now. I just joined the RIP Peril Challenge, now to decide what to read!

    Thank you for setting out some of the events coming up in a post. I’m looking forward to your Literary Hop and the Readathon!

    Enjoy Return to Summerhouse!

  11. Lucybird says:

    When God was a Rabbit has is my favourite new release of 2011 so far (having said that few of my reads this year were released this year), I really liked it.

  12. Lucybird says:

    I already did🙂 I will look forward to your review

  13. JoV says:

    You didn’t like When God was a Rabbit? I saw it today at the library, thank goodness I didn’t take it home. If you don’t like it, I surely won’t too!🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jo, maybe you’d love the book! Jackie of Farmlane Books enjoyed it quite a bit and I do agree in book taste with her usually (like with you). So maybe I’m the odd one out here.

  14. Loved Summerhouse (you probably know that – I gush about it a lot!) and I really appreciated Return To Summerhouse as well…. enjoy!

  15. Teddyree says:

    I’d heard great things about When God Was A Rabbit, sorry it was disappointing. I didnt think much of Sunday at Tiffany’s. Have a great week and happy reading🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

