BBAW – Community Part I

BBAW 2011

I’m participating in the Book Blogger Appreciation Week. There are Book Blog nominations, giveaways and blog posts as part of the BBAW celebrations.

The blog post for today is about : Community
BBAW says: “Today you are encouraged to highlight a couple of bloggers that have made book blogging a unique experience for you. They can be your mentors, a blogger that encouraged you to try a different kind of book, opened your eyes to a new issue, made you laugh when you needed it, or left the first comment you ever got on your blog.

Go to the BBAW hosting site to find links to other blogs taking part in the BBAW. These will also discuss the same topic today!


I find this SO difficult! I don’t want to single out certain bloggers and not mention others. But I can give you my favorite memes, my most reliable recommendation bloggers, and my most faithful commenters.

Memes

One meme I do every week is the It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? by Sheila of Bookjourney. The meme involves telling readers what books we’ve read the last week, and what we’re reading now.

I love meeting new bloggers this way or catching up with people to check what they’ve been up to in the last week.

I also very much enjoy the 5 Best Books meme by Cassandra of IndieReaderHouston. Every week, we’re asked to list the 5 best books in a particular category. For instance, last week was about books in which the story takes place in an educational institution.

Great Recommendations

There are a number of fellow book bloggers of whom I’ve realised that we often like the same books. Or dislike them. I happily take recommendations from others, but these people get it right most of the time!

Jackie of Farm Lane Books and JoV of Bibliojunkie are great for literary fiction recommendations while Boof of The Book Whisperer is great for mysteries, thrillers and general fiction.

Commenters

The people I appreciate the most are those that read my blog, you, my subscribers, and especially those that leave comments. I love comments and it’s great to get feedback and know that people actually read my blog.

WordPress has an option to show who my top commenters are, so here they are:

These are my most faithful subscribers and commenters. Thanks, guys! And to all of you who take the trouble to read my posts (whether or not you comment): it’s very much appreciated!

Who are what do you appreciate most

in your blog writing or reading life?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

55 Responses to BBAW – Community Part I

  1. Mel u says:

    Hi, I am stopping by to visit your blog via the list of posts for Day one
    Please Stop by My Blog if you Like

    Lots of great blogs on your post-I hope you have a very good BBAW

  2. Nish says:

    Thanks for the blog recommendations. I haven’t visited the blogs you featured and now would be a great time to start.

    I also love your idea of putting up a list of the top commentators on your blog. I think I am gonna steal it for my post 🙂

  3. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    I see it as an opportunity to find new bloggers to follow through the BBAW community posts, Ill be visiting the ones you have listed🙂

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  4. Thanks for the mention! I also agree that Jo is a dangerous place to go if you want to avoid spending money on books🙂

    I’m interested to see that I haven’t come across a lot of your top commenters – I’ll have to pay them a visit – thanks for drawing them to my attention.

    • Leeswammes says:

      My pleasure, Jackie. Cindy (the first on the list) isn’t actually a book blogger, but I can’t possible leave her out. I love her blog and must be high on *her* list of commenters too (although she has many, many people commenting every day – jealous!).

      It’s fun to find new blogs, isn’t it!

      • Yes – just noticed a lot are cookery blogs. I read quite a few cookery blogs, but don’t follow them and never comment. I really should let them know I appreciate their work too.

      • Leeswammes says:

        It would be nice, Jackie. I myself appreciate any comments, whether in-depth or just a hello. It’s just nice for people to know that you like what they write.

  5. I love that you made this post your own and highlighted not only your top ten commenters, but the memes you love, and the people whose opinion you value most.

  6. Heather says:

    Oooo! More new bloggers! I’m off to meet your favorites.😀

  7. parrish says:

    Great list Judith and a lot of blogs I’m familiar with.

  8. Uniflame says:

    Thank you for mentioning me in your post🙂

  9. Tony says:

    A lot of interesting blogs here Judith🙂

  10. carol says:

    Stopping by via the BBAW2011.

    Some great blogs there and some new to me.

    Have a great week.

    carol

  11. Louise says:

    Aw I’m touched that you mentioned me, there are only a few blogs that I visit and comment on, yours is one of my favourites and you’re always so welcoming. I discovered Cindy’s blog through yours, which I know itsn’t book related but it’s still a nice blog, so thanks for introducing me to new things😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Louise, you’re such a faithful commenter, how could I not mention you? I actually very much appreciate having readers that do not have blogs. Otherwise it would seem like we’re a closed community of bloggers. Hope you’ll stick around for a long time still!

  12. Trisha says:

    It’s so difficult to narrow down to a list of favorites, isn’t it?!?! I have a difficult time because I subscribe to so many blogs. And then I read lists like this, and I end up subscribing to even more!🙂

  13. Beautiful post! I like you r selections. Happy BBAW!!!

  14. Thanks for the shout out! I’m so surprised to be on a top commenter list (yeah). Confession: I don’t usually comment much but I enjoy that you and I can talk about books (and life).

    Enjoy BBAW. I hope to find a little time to participate…

  15. Wonderful list you got here!

    I had a hard time choosing. But I opted for totally unheard of blogs. Isn’t that the intention of community? To spread far and wide!!

    Here is my post:

    BBAW 2011: Community

  16. Kristen M. says:

    There are a couple of blogs that are new to me on here so thank you! And I mentioned you in my post because I truly appreciate the international bloggers who broaden my world view through book selections and just a different way of looking at things. (In fact, I was telling my husband last night about your Twitter exchange with Iris about English versus Dutch “I’ll consider that”. I loved that!)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Glad you’re enjoying my blog, Kristen. Well, the twitter thing, I was just being silly, but there is definitely a different between the English (UK) and Dutch interpretation of sentences like that.🙂

  17. amymckie says:

    Those are three of my fave blogs for recommendations as well🙂

  18. Yay!! I got two mentions🙂

    Thanks you, Judith🙂 You would be on my list too (for recs and commenters) but I am so busy with doing my daily challenge posts at the mo and I am away with work that I haven’t got time to write any more this week. I’m a big fan though🙂

  19. Rikki says:

    Wow, I am one of your top commenters, I didn’t think I would be. Even though our book taste varies quite a bit I find your blog very interesting, versatile and fun.
    Thanks for mentioning my blog!

  20. Marce says:

    I enjoy your posts when I come to visit but feel like I know you most from Sheila’s meme and Boofs blog.

    Enjoy BBAW Week

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Marce. I’m like that too with people (including you) – we bump into each other every now and then, and that’s fun too. We can’t subscribe to everyone’s blog after all.

  21. Carol says:

    I like how you put together this post. I’m really enjoying “meeting” so many new people today.

  22. Leslie says:

    I suppose I should comment on a post that says I’m a top commenter. Seriously, thanks for the mention. And later I’ll check out the other blogs you mentioned that I’m not already familiar with and meet some new bloggers.

  23. I found it hard to single out too cause you want to thank everyone for their contribution. It’s really difficult. But I narrowed mine down and posted. Take a look…guess who’s on my list?????🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Yes, I saw my own little name mentioned! Thank you so much, Lena!🙂

      I would have been able to mention many more people, but where do you draw the line? The way I did it was a bit more based on themes than people, which was easier for me.

  24. Oh, as I don´t have time to participate in BBAW this year I didn´t expect to see my name anywhere. Thank you for the mention🙂

  25. Erin says:

    I really like how you split up your list, and I LOVE how you included commenters. What an excellent idea, to recognize the people who are in constant conversation with you via your blog!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Erin, commenters make the community, without comments we’d all be writing on our own blog only. And they tell me that there are people who actually read my posts!

  26. Yes, comments make such a difference, don’t they? I’m sure you must be one of my top commenters!

  27. Nise' says:

    Great idea to thank your top commenters!

  28. Lu says:

    Jackie does give great recommendations!

  29. Jenners says:

    I love how you approached this … I wish I’d thought to thank my most proflific commenters. Jackie at Farm Lane Books has broadened my horizons with her explorations of the potential Booker and Orange Prize winners. I’ve rarely heard of the books and authors she mentions and that is a good thing!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

