BBAW – Community Part II

BBAW 2011

I’m participating in the Book Blogger Appreciation Week. There are Book Blog nominations, giveaways and blog posts as part of the BBAW celebrations.

The blog post for today is about : How Do You Do Community?
BBAW says: “The world of book blogging has grown enormously and sometimes it can be hard to find a place. Share your tips for finding and keeping community in book blogging despite the hectic demands made on your time and the overwhelming number of blogs out there. If you’re struggling with finding a community, share your concerns and explain what you’re looking for–this is the week to connect!”

Go to the BBAW hosting site to find links to other blogs taking part in the BBAW. These will also discuss the same topic today!


When you first start out blogging, you may be oblivious of the enormous amount of other blogs around. Slowly, you find one or two, and via them, more blogs. How do you become part of that community?

The roundabout way

  • Find some bloggers that have a similar interest to you, subscribe to their blogs, and comment on their posts. Commenting is always appreciated, because bloggers like to know that people read and appreciate their post. So don’t be shy!
  • The bloggers probably will look you up and may start to follow you. Great!
  • Click on the names of people who comment on these other blogs (or on your own), to find new blogs. Comment there too (if the blog appeals) and maybe these people too will check out your blog.

The fast-track way

  • Get yourself involved in some memes. Memes occur every week: write a blog post about the topic of the meme and leave your blog link on the meme-hosting blog. You should click on other people’s link, leave a comment, and click on the next link, etc.
  • Some memes have hundreds of participating blogs. Don’t force yourself to visit them all.
  • Via memes you will find blogs that you otherwise wouldn’t have. And people can find you, too! If you do this every week, you will soon find yourself part of the community with regular visitors to your blog.
  • Check out this list with memes and events on the BBAW site. I myself love the It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? meme by Sheila of Bookjourney.

.

Some more advice

  • Follow both the roundabout way and the fast-track way for the best results.
  • Don’t wait for people to find you: find them first and leave comments.
  • As you cannot possibly follow every book blog there is, concentrate on ten or twenty blogs that you really like. It’s better to consistently focus on a few blogs than to spread yourself out over many blogs.
  • It’s OK to unfollow people! If your blog list does get too long, unfollow those that are least interesting to you.
  • Run a giveaway to attract people to your blog. But wait until you have a certain number of followers or no one will know about the giveaway.
  •  Use Twitter, Facebook and other social media to post links to your newest post. People like links, they’ll often click them to find out what they are about. If you don’t have many followers on Twitter or Facebook, start following other book bloggers (e.g., check their blog, it often has a Twitter/Facebook etc. name mentioned) and they’ll start to follow you back.
Good luck!
.
If you’re a new blogger and you like my blog, let me know in the comments. I’ll check yours out, and you may get yourself a new subscriber (me!). But I won’t subscribe if your blog is very different from mine!🙂

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

30 Responses to BBAW – Community Part II

  1. Mel u says:

    I think perhaps I need to try a few memes-in 2 years as a book blogger I have yet to do one

    Hi, I am stopping by from the Philippines to visit your blog via the list of posts for Day Three

    Please Stop by My Blog if you Like

  2. Great post Judith. I hope to get more involved as life slows down… I wonder when that will happen?🙂 HA

  3. I agree with your ideas…and memes were the first place I started to find other blogs (and continue to do so).

    Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY BBAW POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  4. Nise' says:

    Great advice! I am slow to get on the other social media sites relating to book blogs, don’t need another time consumer!

  5. Erin says:

    I must get better with Twitter. I love the comment route and try to do that more since I’m bad at promoting my blog outright. And I’ve never been good at keeping up with memes, so comments are the way to go for me. I also love reading with others, when the opportunity comes up. I find it’s a great way to connect over a common interest, doing something we were all going to do anyway!

  6. I find readathons a good way to find new book bloggers.

    Community has kept me going in a MASSIVE reading slump. Or I would have fallen apart!

    Here is my post:

    BBAW: Community thingy II

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gautami, I do try with readathons, but I spend so much time reading and blogging that I don’t want to spend lots of time on other people’s blogs, too. But yes, I do get to know people that way too.

  7. Aths says:

    Love your ideas! I think I did pretty much most of those when I started blogging too. It’s also great to do those once in a while to refresh things.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Definitely, Aths. You can only look at so many blog posts, so if a blog doesn’t appeal anymore, I may unsubscribe. It sounds harsh, but if I’m not reading it anymore anyway, what’s the use of hanging around?

  8. I love your tips!

    I found your blog through It’s Monday! What are you Reading? I love that meme so much, Monday is definitaly my favourite day of the week!

  9. Nice post. I often do the roundabout way. Quick and fast ways tend to fizzle out for me. I think bloggers eventually find out what works for them after awhile. But great suggestions for newbies.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Lena. I think friends you make the roundabout way stick around for longer. But with memes you may come across blogs that you’d otherwise never would, so that’s still a nice way to go.

  10. The round about way is working really well for me now, that’s how I found most of the bloggers I follow.
    I will try to do one meme per week, but I like memes that have substance and allow discussion.
    Thanks for all the advice.

  11. Trish says:

    Great great advice, Judith. I especially like the advice in the roundabout way. I like to “comment hop” and visit those people are also visiting my favorite blogs. I find that they usually have a lot in common with me. Sometimes I feel like the blog hops are more about self-promotion than really getting to know others, but I have met some nice bloggers that way as well.

    Sadly I think it’s been a while since I’ve been here–maybe since your Tolstoy and Purple Chair post. Blog looks really nice!! Did you change your look?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for the compliments, Trish. I agree that the hops can be about self promotion but if I think someone is commenting the same text on every blog I just ignore them. I have discovered som great blogs via blog hops.

      My blog has changed but it’s been a while. Probably May, June or so.🙂

  12. Julie says:

    Great advice! I do most of the things you list in those first two lists, but I follow way too many blogs. I need to focus on 10 to 20 as you say. That’s my goal over the next few months.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Good luck, Julie. It really helps to focus on some blogs and make (better) friends with them. It’s better to have a few good friends than loads of acquaintances that hardly remember you.

  13. Marce says:

    Great advice especially for the newbies. I need to take time to downsize who I follow. I do have my favourites right on my blog which helps me connect often with them which builds a nice network with those with similar interests. Memes are great, Sheila’s is my favourite also and I’m sure how I found your blog.

  14. Memory says:

    Memes helped me a lot when I first started blogging. I joined the Sunday Salon (which was still on the smaller side at that time, with fewer than a hundred regular participants) and made a valiant effort to visit everyone else’s posts each week. I met tons of people and began to feel like a part of the community.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Memory, the meme that helped me most was It’s Monday! And I still think it’s a great meme. The thing with memes is that you can join in even if you don’t know anyone else.

  15. lomaurice says:

    Yes, you are so right, comments are always welcome. I need to comment more. I think people are shy of commenting. And follow, follow, follow.

  16. Trisha says:

    It’s only recently that I’ve been trying to narrow down my blog roll; I’m at a still-unmanageable 199 blogs now.🙂 One day, one day I will get it down to 65 which is a number I think I can handle.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

