It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I finished 4 books in the last week

Click on the orange links for reviews

Black Swan Rising by Lee Carroll. A young woman is given an antique box by a man. When she opens it, she unleashes some nasty creatures that threaten to take over the world. Garet (the woman) has to stop it all. 3 stars

The End of Mr Y by Scarlett Thomas. A young female university researcher finds a rare book, a book that is cursed. Or so people say. She becomes intrigued by the book and ends up in an alternate world, or is it her fantasy? 4 stars

Lies by Michael Grant. The third in the Gone series. The struggle in the FARZ is continuing with children nearly ready to kill eachother. Some disturbing events make their lives even more uncertain than they already were. 4 stars

Op Zee [At Sea, Dutch] by Toine Heijmans. A father takes his seven-year old daughter on a sailing trip to travel from Northern Denmark to the Netherlands in two days. But then the daughter disappears. Her father can’t find her but he doesn’t want to call in the coastguard because he may be accused of being an irresponsible father. Very good! 5 stars [Do read my review, click on the link in the title, and use google translate to see what I thought]

Black Swan Rising by Lee CarrollThe End of Mr Y by Scarlett ThomasLies by Michael Grant

Currently Reading

A Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj Jakobsen. Rose, an older single woman is murdered while in the company of several other villagers. Nobody saw what happened. Archibald Penrose, the local constable investigates the case. Very English, lots of fun names, lots of tea. Potential 4 stars.

Dancing in the Shadows of Love by Judy Croome. “Three emotionally adrift women fight to heal their fractured worlds. Not everyone can be a hero. Or can they?” I’ve only just started so I don’t have an opinion yet. Well-written, it seems.

The Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj JakobsenDancing in the Shadows of Love by Judy Croome

Other news

The Ugly Covers Competition is in its third week! Cast your vote for the ugliest cover… HERE. (Anyone can enter)

The past week was Book Bloggers Appreciation Week! I wrote several posts this week – just have a browse if you’re interested. Worth a mention is my interview with Shelleyrae of Book’d Out.

*****

You can now sign up as a participant (giver) for the

Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (October 15-19)!!!

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

38 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m sure I’ve seen something about A Cosy Knave on another blog recently but can’t remember where. Lots of fun names and lots of tea sounds perfect though!😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Boof, the writer of the book is Dorte of DJ’s Krimiblog, who you must have come across. Always scary to accept a book by someone I “know” but actually, it’s quite good!🙂

  2. parrish says:

    Still reading the history of modern Japan, not much done this weekend as was my 18th wedding anniversary.

  3. Tes says:

    I’m reading Spirit Walker by Michelle Paver, which I’ve got as anniversary gift from my husband. I wasn’t be able get in touch with the character yet …but it’s coming along.

  4. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    I decided to join this meme this week! My schedule is pretty crowded, I have 6 books I am planning to finish this week

    Shelleyrae

  5. I’m reading only women writers this year and at the moment I’m about a third of the way into a novel by Mary Stewart. I’d never heard of her before, but someone recommended her in a comment on my blog and I’m really glad they did – she’s great.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Londonchoirgirl, I used to read almost only women authors, but the last few years I’m reading a mix. I’ve heard of Mary Stewart but I’ve never read anything by her. Enjoy!

  6. sonsothunder says:

    Reading Cook Books mostly. And bits and pieces of a re-read of Bill Oreilly’s first book, every time I have to go to the bathroom…hehe,.. I really love reading Clive Cussler’s work, but haven’t taken the time to pick one up lately.

    God Bless You
    paul

  7. Mystica says:

    Mixed pile of books – always the best way to read.

  8. I hope Op Zee is translated into English, it sounds like an interesting one. Happy reading!

  9. All new titles to me. Do you use Goodreads? They are announcing a new feature today, persionalized book recommendations based on your GoodReads ratings. I am going to look at this today, to see if it really works.

    The Dancing book sounds ilke a good one. Enjoy!

  10. lomaurice says:

    I’m reading NIGHT CIRCUS and THE KITCHEN COUNTER COOKING SCHOOL.

  11. Ooh, The Cozy Knave looks good…love the cover and blurb…and the idea of lots of tea.

    Thanks for sharing, and enjoy your week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  12. Black Swan Rising has an awesome cover. Enjoy your week Judith!!! 🙂

  13. You are doing real good. Keep it up. I am still in a reading vacuum regarding novels!!

    Here is my Monday: Mailbox/What Are You Reading?/Musings post!

  14. Julie says:

    Op Zee sounds very good. I’m adding that one to my list! Have a good week.

  15. curlygeek04 says:

    I don’t know much about these books but Op Zee sounds really interesting! I see it’s not in English though, too bad. I’ll be signing up for the Giveaway Hop again! Happy Monday…

  16. Lena says:

    I am currently reading….nothing.🙂 I am taking a few days off from reading. Hope to start back by the weekend. Great selection of books.

  17. Pussreboots says:

    I’m reading three picture books a night with my children. That’s making my list seem really long. I also got some longer books finished too. Please come see what I’ve read.

  18. Amy says:

    Black Swan Rising looks really good. And I am yet to start the Gone series by Michael Grant, but I have it sitting on my shelf!! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Amy @ Following The Reader

  19. Athira says:

    The End of Mr. Y sounds fabulous! I just read a review of that one on JoV’s blog and now I see it here – I need to read your review. Op Zee also sounds good!

  20. Karen says:

    I got half way through Mr Y and gave up. It just failed to keep my attention. Was a little disappointed as so many of my friends raved about it. I might get round to reading Lies eventually. I did like the first two but my tbr pile seems to have grown when my back was turned again.

    Have a good week.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Karen, a pity you didn’t like Mr. Y. But I can see that not everyone would like it. I had my doubts for a bit while reading the book. But then a bit later on, it became much better for me.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

