Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon Is Coming!


Dewey's 24-hour Read-A-Thon, Oct 22nd

Saturday, October 22nd is the next edition of the 24-hour read-a-thon. The people at Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon have been busy preparing this great event and I thought I better mention it to you in case you want to join in (which of course you do). A read-a-thon is a reading marathon, where you try to spend as much time as you can on reading, for 24 hours.

Some people take this quite seriously and read for (close to) the full 24 hours, making sure their agenda is totally empty, don’t sleep and survive on food that doesn’t need elaborate any cooking.

More than that, it is a community event. All over the world, people will be reading when you are reading and you are encouraged to visit other participants’ blogs (there will be a list on the read-a-thon website) to see how they are getting on (most people post an update every few hours). Oh, and there are cheerleaders who will come by your blog to cheer you on. Yes, seriously!

There are also mini-challenges that you can take part in, and even win prizes with (mainly books, of course!). Usually the mini-challenges are about writing a little book-related piece, such as who is your all-time favorite hero, or creating a cover or wordle (how-to’s included!). They are just small things that will keep you entertained during the day.

Everyone starts at the same time, so in some countries that means starting at 2AM while others start at 11AM or 5PM. But since everyone is reading for 24 hours (if they can), everyone will get to the difficult hours at some point.

Sign up HERE, at the 24-hour read-a-thon blog. I took part twice so far and loved it! (The event is run every April and October).

Time to get my reading list sorted: what will I read during the read-a-thon? Something light for the small hours and nothing too bulky as it will look like I’ll never get to the end of it. So, short and light is my motto.

I’m definitely taking part. How about you?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon Is Coming!

  1. Oh that seems really nice, but It’s nothing for me. If I read for to long I feel sleepy and I get annoyed. I wouldn’t be a pleasure anymore. Plus I have work for school and need my rest. And don’t forget what mum would say😉
    Have a nice read-a-thon! I’m curious for your updates!
    Katrien

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hmm, yes, you may have a point, Katrien. Unless you moved all your study stuff and other things around so you had the weekend free? And read for the whole day (but not the night)?

  2. I can’t join in as I will be away in Wales that weekend but good luck with yours🙂

    BTW, has anyone else found anything strange when trying to get into the Dewey website? When I click on your link OR google the site and click on that it comes up with this “server hacked” website from Bangladesh. I crapped myself at first as this is a work laptop I am on, but it seems to be only Dewey’s site and nothing else.

  3. cbjames says:

    I have to work that day, alas. I never seem to be able to participate for some reason. I was a cheerleader once, but that’s as close as I’ve been to a full time participant.

  4. Judith, you know about all the coolest events! You know I’m going to have to sign up for this.🙂

  5. Suzanne says:

    I might be able to do this one!

  6. Trisha says:

    Even though I’m pregnant and won’t be able to rock the full 24 hours like I usually do, I am still excited for the readathon. It’s such a wonderfully communal event!

  7. The readathon is one of my favorite events. I can’t wait!

  8. Leslie says:

    It appears that Dewey’s webhost’s (inMotion) server got hacked. Every index.php was changed to that lovely page we now see. Ugh. Anyway, if Dewey’s had a backup they will be fine.

    I may be able to participate for a few hours… if that counts. October is bird migration season and I have a birdwalk that day to one of my favorite birding spots, which I can’t pass up.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I hope they get the website sorted soon. Such a pain, and so useless.

      Of course you can’t miss out on a birdwalk, reading you can do any day, anyway. But people join in as much as they can, so a few hours will be nice already. The community atmosphere is so nice.

  9. Tiina says:

    One of these days I will join this event, not this time though, as I will be participating in a dance competition the same day.

  10. Lu says:

    I just clicked the link to go join, and was brought to a page that told me that that website has been HACKed by ( can’t remember). Can’t get past that. You might want to check your link.

  11. Lu says:

    Server hacked by Tiger-M@te. # Bangledeshi Hacker. happens with the link in the post, as well as if clicking the button for the readathon. Thought I would let you know so that you can let the organizers know, since I have no idea who to contact.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Lu. From Twitter I found out that they are aware of it already. I have no idea how fast they can get it back up. It happened sometime after I wrote the post….

  12. Cindy says:

    Not me, but best of luck to you🙂

  13. Julie says:

    I signed up but I never am able to completely block my time. That day, it starts at 8am where I am, and I have to get my daughter up and to dance class and then go watch my son play football after that. So my morning is already shot – except for the 45 I can read during her dance class.🙂 I’ll do most of my reading that night and will likely stay up way too late!

    • Leeswammes says:

      It doesn’t really matter, Julie, as long as you try and read as much as you can within your normal obligations. Hope you’ll enjoy it, the community spirit is great during the readathon.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

