It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I finished 2 books in the last week

Click on the orange links for reviews

Dancing in the Shadows of Love by Judy Croome.  “Three emotionally adrift women fight to heal their fractured worlds. Not everyone can be a hero. Or can they?” I found it a bit disappointing, 2 stars (DNF).

Skippy Dies by Paul Murray. Skippy dies in a donut restaurant while eating donuts with his friend Ruprecht. The book is mainly about what happened before and what happens afterwards. 4 stars

Dancing in the Shadows of Love by Judy CroomeSkippy Dies by Paul MurrayThe Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj JakobsenAlways on My Mind by Colette Caddle

Currently Reading

The Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj Jakobsen. Rose, an older single woman is murdered while in the company of several other villagers. Nobody saw what happened. Archibald Penrose, the local constable investigates the case. Very English, lots of fun names, lots of tea. Potential 4 stars.

Always on My Mind by Colette Caddle. Chick-lit. In a few months’ time, Molly Jackson will marry her fiancé Declan. But when she meets an old flame ánd Declan isn’t giving the wedding the priority he should, she starts to get second thoughts.

Other news

The Ugly Covers Competition is in its fourth week! Cast your vote for the ugliest cover… HERE. (Anyone can enter).

I reviewed When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman. I’m not one of the people who really enjoyed this book. In fact, I’m not sure what the book was all about. The author explains in the back which I don’t like. A book should be able to explain itself. 3.5 stars.

Check out my 5 Best Books… About Hope.

Are you joining in the 24 Hour Readathon on Octber 22nd? Put it in your diary and read my post about it (you may not be able to get to the readathon site right now – there is a problem with it).

*****

You can now sign up as a participant (giver) for the

Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (October 15-19)!!!

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

34 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I finished 2 books this weekend. Bossypants by Tina Fey – this was for my book club and normally I would never have picked this up but it turned out to be very funny actually. Also finished Galadria a new YA fantasy book (reviews for both up soon). I’m now stuck…I don’t know what to read next.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Literary Stew, that Bossypants book I’ve seen around on the blogs, but as I have no idea who that author is, I’ve not been tempted at all. Glad you enjoyed it even if you were not tempted much either.🙂

  2. Uniflame says:

    I am still in my reading slump. I am currently reading a Dutch book. But after that no clue. I really would like to be able to buy some books from my wishlist that I actually want to read. Nothing on my shelves inspires me atm.

    I do admire you for being so consistent with reading and blogging🙂

  3. Jill says:

    Don’t you hate when other people rave about a book and you just don’t like it? It makes me wonder if I am missing the point or if there are other readers who agree with me.

  4. I forgot to post 5 books on Hope! Didn’t I say I was going to do this? 🙂

    Great collection of books this week. I have seen skippy dies around but didn’t know what it was about. It’s either great or terrible…. right?

    I’m never tempted by the read-a-thon. It’s actually too much reading for me and I can’t plan that far ahead (you never know when my husband will decide to plan an impromtu dinner for 12). It happens often!

    Have a wonderful week Judith!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, yes, you said you were going to do a 5 Best post… Maybe this week? I love to compile them but I also love to read other people’s ideas.

      I love read-a-thons. I know something else could come up but as much as I can I will sidetrack that to other days/weekends and try to keep the weekend free. If it doesn’t happen, that’s ok too, of course.

  5. The Cosy Knave sounds good to me…and I’m curious about Skippy Dies. Enjoy your week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  6. The Cosy Knave sounds like an interesting read. 5 Best Books is a meme I haven’t heard of before…thanks for bringing it to my attention. I love lists of books!

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s a fun meme, Lisa. It’s only small so far, with a few people participating. On my blog, it’s always quite popular with lots of people reading it and commenting.

  7. Lian says:

    Hi Judith! Seems like you have some nice reads ahea. I justed wanted to let you know I read de 100 jarige man die uit het raam klom en verween. I think you mentioned it as well some time ago right? It’s a great book, you should really put it on topo of your pile if you haven’t read it yet. Maybe for the 24hour-read-along?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Good to hear the book is fun, Lian. If it’s an easy read I could do it for the 24h readathon. I need several easy reads rather than one long book or it will seem I never get anything done during the read-a-thon.

  8. I LOVED Skippy Dies! What a quirky book.

  9. Lian says:

    It’s an easy read, I say go for it at the read-a-thon! I think you can finish this book and still read some others. Let me know what you think🙂

  10. Suzanne says:

    I’ve had Skippy Dies on my nook for a while now. I really must read it.

  11. Can’t wait to see your review of Dorte’s book! Have a good week!

  12. Julie says:

    I’m participating in that readathon as well as two others in October! (Not sure what I’m thinking signing up for three!) I need to officially add Skippy Dies to my TBR list. I keep seeing people mention it and it sounds good.

    • Leeswammes says:

      THREE read-a-thons, Julie? That is a bit much! But if you can’t read as much as you want in the first, there is still a second and third readathon to make up for it.🙂

  13. I want to read Skippie Dies… I dont know why… I just do🙂

  14. Skippy Dies sounds oddly strange. I’m quite intrigued with the doughnut shop and what happens after he dies. When God Was a Rabbit is an awesome title. It makes you think twice.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lena, *Skippy Dies* is a fun book about a boarding school full of teenagers. *When God was a Rabbit* refers to the time the main person was a child and she had a rabbit she named God (with the idea, if God is in everything then also in her rabbit). It’s a fun book, for a while.

  15. Athira says:

    I can’t wait to read Skippy Dies! I’m so glad to see that you loved it! Have a great week!

  16. I agree with you that an author shouldn’t have to explain the book. I think a book could be open for discussion, but if it’s that confusing then it’s not really fun to read.

  17. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    I’m interested to see your review of Skippy Dies – it is something I’m interested in reading

  18. Vishy says:

    Nice post, Judith! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on ‘Skippy Dies’. I want to read ‘The Cosy Knave’ – it looks so interesting from your description! The plot of ‘Always on My Mind’ looks like that of a Hollywood movie🙂 Declan is such a beautiful Irish name! Is Colette Caddle Irish?

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

