New Arrivals!

It’s been three weeks since the last New Arrivals post! I don’t have much coming in at the moment, but that’s fine. I have a lot left to read on the shelves. I’m not going to be out of a good book soon.

And, as we all know, the new books are always the shiniest and the most interesting, so I have read 2.5 of them already!

Books for review

Black Swan Rising by Lee Carroll

Black Swan Rising By Lee Carroll

I got this from Transworld Publishers for review in their Transworld Group Reading Challenge.

My synopsis: A young woman is given an antique box by a man. When she opens it, she unleashes some nasty creatures that threaten to take over the world. Garet (the woman) has to stop it all. I read it already, my review is HERE. 3 stars

Insomnia by Blake Butler

Nothing by Blake Butler

This is an ARC from HarperPerennial. The cover in daylight is as shown on the left, but in the dark, you can see the picture on the right – well, in theory, I haven’t tried it yet.

Description on the back: “[…] the author […] offers an adventurous and compelling mashup of memoir, historical investigation, and mental map exploring the psychotropic allure of insomnia – from its role in history, art, and science through the effects, positive, negative, and unknowable, of sleeplessness on his own imaginative landscape.”

Funny, I studied psychology, many years ago, but the word psychotropic is new to me! It looks like it’s not an easy to read book, but definitely very interesting.

Books I won

Skippy Dies by Paul Murray

Skippy Dies by Paul Murray

I won the Dutch translation of this book. I already owned (but hadn’t read) the English book. I won it at a Dutch bookfair by guessing how many calories there are in 12 donuts, and my guess was one of the closest! (FYI it’s 2736 calories). Thanks to Signatuur publishers for this ENORMOUS book. The Dutch know how to make a really big book out of a book that is already a good size in English!

My synopsis: Skippy dies in a donut restaurant while eating donuts with his friend Ruprecht. The book is mainly about what happened before and what happens afterwards. I’ve read it already and you can find my review in Dutch HERE. English review to follow (But why not use Google Translate on the Dutch one?). 4 stars

Far to Go by Alison PickDonderdagskind by Alison Pick

Far to Go by Alison Pick

I won the Dutch translation in a giveaway by Miss Yvy and Orlando Publishers.

About the book (from amazon.com): “Pick tackles the Holocaust with the story of a young Jewish family struggling to survive as the Nazis invade Czechoslovakia. Throughout 1938 and 1939, Pavel and Anneliese Bauer endure increasingly terrifying attacks on their dignity, freedom, and lives, clinging to a hope that the madness will soon end.

Meanwhile, a present-day Holocaust historian (who remains awkwardly unidentified for some time), specializing in the Kindertransport and the many children it helped to escape from Czechoslovakia, takes a personal interest in the Bauers. Letters culled from the historian’s files, written by people who were close to the Bauers, effectively punctuate the novel, but Pick’s shuffling gamble with point-of-view produces mixed results”

From the library

Doodskap (Death Mask) by Arnaldur Indridason

Doodskap [“Death Mask”] by Arnaldur Indridason

I don’t know if this book has been translated in English yet, but this is the newest by one of my favorite thriller writers, the Icelandic writer Arnaldur Indridason.

Description: A woman who is suspected of blackmail is found murdered, while a deranged man is keeping a man prisoner that he knew from when he was young. Detective Sigurdur Óli is on the case.

Have you read any of these books? Which of these would appeal to you?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. parrish says:

    Hi, my new arrivals are a kindle, with Night at the library Alberto Manguel, short treatise on the boys of morphinism, Red April can’t remember author (iffp winner) a few freebies. The Blake butler book appeals

  2. Cindy says:

    Love the Donderdagskind cover🙂

  3. Love the donut story!

    If I only picked books by book covers… I would grab Doodskap… and probably have nighmare’s! HA I hope the novel takes place in Icelan. There is so much to explore, the culture is wonderfully unique.

    Enjoy your new books.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ah, Mari, another lover of Iceland! Yes, I think the cover is beautiful. I love anything to do with Iceland – I’ve been there and would love to go again.

  4. Tes says:

    Oh the donut story sounds interesting though it’s not about food right?

  5. I have Skippy Dies and I really want to read it!

  6. Corri says:

    Frightening – the number of calories that is! I think it’s putting me off the Skippy book for good, although you give it a 4 so it must be fine. Perhaps I will leave it for a bit: there seems so little time for reading nowadays, let alone blog about it.

  7. Raidergirl3 says:

    In what language do you read the Indridason? I’m waiting for the next one to be translated into English.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Raidergirl, I’m reading the Indridason in Dutch. I think they’re a bit behind with the English translation? The next book (in Dutch) is already coming up, I believe.

  8. I have not read any of them yet, but I will get to the Indridason eventually. I love that series.

  9. Suzanne says:

    Nothing sounds interesting. (that is a weird sentence)
    Far to Go is really good and I hope you enjoy it.

  10. I haven’t read any of these, but I won Far to Go as well!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

