It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I finished 4 books in the last week

The Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj Jakobsen. Rose, an older single woman, is murdered while in the company of several other villagers. Nobody saw what happened. Archibald Penrose, the local constable investigates the case. Very English, lots of fun names, lots of tea. 3.5 stars.

Always on My Mind by Colette Caddle. Chick-lit. In a few months’ time, Molly Jackson will marry her fiancé Declan. But when she meets an old flame ánd Declan isn’t giving the wedding the priority he should, she starts to get second thoughts. 3.5 stars

Doodskap [“Death Mask”] by Arnaldur Indridason. A woman who is suspected of blackmail is found murdered, while a deranged man is keeping a man prisoner that he knew from when he was young. Detective Sigurdur Óli is on the case. 4 stars

The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-French. Marylou is in her seventies and was poisoned by a radioactive material in the 1950s, while she was pregnant. She’s moved states just so she can be close to the doctor that experimented on her. She’s planning to kill him. 4.5 stars

The Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj JakobsenAlways on My Mind by Colette CaddleDoodskap (Death Mask) by Arnaldur IndridasonThe Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-French

Currently Reading

Noorderzon [Gone Away] van Renate Dorrestein [Dutch]. A woman has disappeared and her fiancé is worried. According to her house mate, she may be suffering from memory loss after years of alcohol abuse. The fiancé doesn’t believe this. But the reader gets some indication that it might be true… One of my favorite Dutch writers.

Skippy Dies by Paul Murray

Other news

Click on the orange links for more information

The Ugly Covers Competition is in its fifth week! Cast your vote for the ugliest cover… HERE. (Anyone can enter).

I reviewed Skippy Dies by Paul Murray, but only in Dutch (HERE). Skippy dies in a donut restaurant while eating donuts with his friend Ruprecht. The book is mainly about what happened before and what happens afterwards. 4 stars

Check out my TBR Slash challenge: I’m planning to try some books that have been on my shelves for a while now.

*****

You can now sign up as a participant (giver) for the

Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (October 15-19)!!!

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

22 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. theonlycin says:

    Enjoy your week, Judith, I won’t have time to read anything😦

  2. Sophia says:

    The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady sounds really good, I may have to check that one out. Have a good week🙂

  3. Mystica says:

    You have a huge week ahead of you! enjoy all your reads.

  4. Love you ‘slash’ challenge. I’m refering to it as ‘back to paper’, putting the iPad down for a bit. Thank goodness I have just a few books that I want to read (3, which is an average month for me).

    Good luck this week!

    ps: I started Good to a Fault last night, the first chapter if very good!😉

  5. Vasilly says:

    I read The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady earlier this year and loved it. Glad to hear you enjoyed it. Have a great week!

  6. Suzanne says:

    Yay! I’m so glad you enjoyed Revenge of the Radioactive Lady!

  7. Tes says:

    I’m reading Comanche Moon by Catherine Anderson this week🙂 and I’m really intriguing by the Radioactive Lady book now🙂

  8. Love the title: The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady

  9. Pussreboots says:

    What is keeping me from finishing the books I have going? A new kitten! Come see what I’m reading.

  10. Great selection of books, I like the house on Cosy Knave, it’s sorta charming. You are getting a lot of reading done. Bravo!

  11. Leslie says:

    Revenge of the Radioactive Lady was a fun book. I enjoy a little dark humor once in a while.

  12. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’ve heard great things about Revenge of the Radioactive Lady, It’s been compared to Practical Jean which I just recently read.

    Shelleyrae

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

