Book Review: Always on My Mind by Colette Caddle

Always on My Mind by Colette CaddleSomehow, chick-lits reminds me of holidays. It’s a lighter type of read that I usually save up for relaxed days in the sun. As we had really good weather recently, it was an ideal read.

The cover of course also suggests holiday, but this is one of those books where the cover has nothing to do with the content of the book.

I enjoyed reading the book, although it was sometimes a little bit predictable.

Always on My Mind: What it is about

When Molly drops off her fiancé Declan at the airport in Dublin, she bumps into her old boyfriend, Luke Fortune. They don’t get a chance to talk, but in the next few days, Molly can’t but think about him.

When Declan comes back announcing he’s got a new job (locally) but needs to spend 10 weeks in Japan, for training, Molly isn’t happy. Especially when she finds out that their wedding date falls within this training period and has to be postponed.

She decides to try and find Luke, who she knows lives in France, and “accidentally” run into him when he’s back in Ireland. Her sister helps her find him, while her best friend is about to have a baby.

Molly struggles with her feelings for Declan and Luke, with her (married) sister, who is interested in meeting some new men, her sister’s daughter with teenage problems, her pregnant friend and her mother in hospital. A lot is going on but it all ends well, as it should.

Always on My Mind: What I thought

This was a fun book. I wasn’t sure Molly did the right thing to go and find her old flame Luke (but neither was she). There was a lot going on in the book which probably wasn’t so realistic.

What I liked a lot was the closeness of her family (parents, brother and sister) who helped each other out when necessary. The book had that warm family atmosphere that you can also find in Marian Keyes’ books.

The book has a lot of relationship issues: staying with the fiancé or not, possible adultery, a sister-in-law that no-one approves of, etc.

A fun read for in the sun!

Rating: 3.5/5

I got this book: from Simon & Schuster UK for review

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 401

First published: 2010

Genre: chick-lit

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to Book Review: Always on My Mind by Colette Caddle

  1. Cindy says:

    I am going to Cape Town next week for 4 days, won’t have internet access so it will be the ideal opportunity to read, read, read. Your recent reviews have given me an excellent shopping list🙂

  2. I was sent this book for review too although I haven’t read it yet. Glad you enjoyed🙂

  3. Meg says:

    I love a good, light read, and the Dublin setting intrigues me! Though going off to find an old flame is rarely — if ever — a good idea, I’d say.

  4. I also think chick lit as great genre for warm weather!

  5. Tes says:

    It sounds like a fun book. I don’t usually pick up this kind of book very much, but it’s nice to read your review🙂

  6. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Sounds like a fun read – I appreciate the escapism from time to time

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

