100 Mile Fitness Challenge – Finish Line

100 Mile Fitness Challenge

It’s over! The 100 mile challenge has reached its end.

In this challenge I pledged to walk, cycle or otherwise get into action for a total of 100 miles between July 1st and September 30st. Walking and running counted for the miles you actually made, but other exercises counted as 15 minutes exercise for one mile.

Since I did quite a bit of bicycling, the total number of “miles” for (or swimming, for that matter) are really the number of 15 minutes I spend cycling/swimming.

So how did I do?

I managed 117 miles in total!!!!

I’m so pleased! When I signed up I wasn’t sure it would be possible, but in fact, it wasn’t all that hard. I definitely made an effort to get the exercise done, but it wasn’t a struggle at all.

Here’s what I did – between July 1st and September 30st

swimming/aquafit (only while on holiday) = 10 miles (2.5 h)

walking (mainly in our area, I live near a lake, but also on holiday, and a few walks in the woods) = 58 miles

cycling (around town, to the nearest big town, or longer tours) = 47 miles (11.45 h)

cross-trainer (we have one in the attic!! a paltry…) = 2 miles (30 mins) (I just don’t enjoy it very much)

Not bad, right? Now, I’m keeping track of my exercise for the coming months too, even though there is no official 100 mile challenge (but there is one starting in January again). Let’s see if the rain and wind will finally force me onto the cross-trainer!

Just out of curiosity, how much exercise do you do in a month?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to 100 Mile Fitness Challenge – Finish Line

  1. Leslie says:

    Congratulations! It does take determination to stick with a plan.

    I don’t like those exercise machines either. I walk to and from the train to work and that’s about 1.5 miles per day. If I didn’t have to get to work I doubt I would walk that much everyday. Weekends are different, I’ll do a couple mile hike every few weeks to take photos and watch birds. I used to do aerobics but a bad knee put a stop to impact exercises. Now it’s yoga but I don’t do it as often as I should.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I used to go to the gym and didn’t mind the exercise machines, but at home… it’s boring and I prefer to go outside when I can. Walking to work every day is great!

  2. Well done, Judith, and keep up the good work!
    I do a lot of running (100 miles per month or so), walk to the railway station and to work, always go for a stroll during my lunch break, and do all my shopping by bike. When I was an adolescent I hated exercise of any kind because I sucked at all sports and now I can’t do without. I used to work out in the gym, too (ages ago), but found that I love being out of doors, as I have to spend so much time indoors. I don’t even mind running in the rain!

    • Leeswammes says:

      You’re very sporty, Anna. I’m not a running type of person. It sounds like you get enough exercise.

      I also hated exercise when I was young. Now I don’t mind but sitting on the sofa is still slightly more pleasant at times.

  3. Marieke says:

    Well done!

    As I am living in the city, I always travel bij bike. I wouldn’t know what to do without my bike! I cycle quite a lot, it are always short distances, but they matter to, right?
    Besides cycling I do karate (1.5h) twice a week (if I feel like it, some weeks it’s just once, other week, I do karate three times a week).
    I hated sports before I started traditional karate, I just found the right sport for me to do so now I love it!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I do cycle a lot too, Marieke. For this challenge, I was only allowed to count extra miles, not the daily cycle to town/shops, etc. that I do anyway. But our town takes about 45-60 minutes to cycle around, so that’s fun to do, trying to find new roads (preferably some of it in the country side).

      I also hated sports for a long time. Now, I don’t mind it so much.

  4. Congratulations on 117 miles!

    I have signed up for a few runs in October/November, excited to get back to training. I have narrowed done my event list, now I need to commit. Nothing as crazy as last winters run🙂.

    Good luck keeping up the challenge through the holiday’s and season change.

    • Leeswammes says:

      You haven’t been running much, Mari (or at least you didn’t write about it). Nice that you’re doing some runs soon. Last winter’s run was unbelievable! Not something you want to do every year, I’m sure.

  5. Suzanne says:

    Congratulations Judith! That is an awesome accomplishment.
    I’ve been an exercise slacker, but I’ve resolved to get motivated and have done pretty well the last few days. I have a elliptical machine and it is boring, but with the right audio book or an audio walking tour of somewhere I’d like to visit the time goes by quickly.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, I want to start listening to audio books, maybe that will help me to spend more time on the cross trainer. Because I know the weather isn’t going to be so good as over the summer, so I’m less tempted to go outside.

  6. Rikki says:

    Well done, Judith! I know it takes a lot of discipline to do that. Congrats on outreaching your goal.

  7. Wow, good for you!
    We had a ‘walking’ holiday in Germany, which was lovely (15 km a day). But I’m a goodweatherwalker. I bike in front of the telly, a minimum of 30 and max 60 minutes a day.
    The most sportive accomplishment was a halfmarathon Nordic walking, when hubby ran the whole marathon, Of course he finished way before me.

  8. That’s great!

    I typically exercise about 270 minutes per week (45 minutes a day/6 days per week) or more. I’ve only been doing that since May, though, and with all the illnesses lately, I’ve definitely hit a downturn. I hope to be back on track soon! It’s definitely doing the trick… none of my clothes fit anymore, which is embarrassing in a good way, I guess. I look like a slob at work – but I can’t afford to keep buying new clothes!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wow, Adam, that’s a lot of exercise. Hope you’re better soon to continue your regime. But do make sure you eat enough good food – could it be you got ill from losing all the weight?

  9. Congrats on reaching your goal, actually exceeding your goal. I like how you set it as 100 miles. It can add up quickly and give the feeling of accomplishment. I might have to try it.🙂

  10. JoV says:

    I’m impressed Judith. as for me, none! I walked about 40 mins a day just to catch the train and go to work, is that good enough?😉

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

