Book Review: The Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj Jakobsen

The Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj Jakobsen

This book I got from my blog friend Dorte, who wrote it herself. Reading friends’ work is always tricky, because you  want to be nice, even if you shouldn’t. In this case I can be quite nice without being dishonest.

The book wasn’t perfect, but it was a fun read, a nice, cosy mystery.

It’s my third book for the R. I. P. VI challenge.

The Cosy Knave: What it is about

In Knavesborough, a small town in Yorkshire, Rose Walnut-Whip, a nosy busy-body, is killed in the company of a large group of villagers, but no one has seen when it happened and who did it. They were all watching a football match in Ye Cosy Knave, a small tearoom, and only found Rose to be dead after the match was almost over.

Archibald Penrose is a police constable investigating the case. He and his fiancée Rhapsody (she’s a busybody herself!) interview villagers to try and get on the trail of the killer. Not long after the killing of Rose there is another mysterious stabbing and later yet another death.

There are a few issues that put them on the wrong track, but eventually they manage to zoom in on the killer.

The Cosy Knave: What I thought

This is a fun book, full of English teas and nutty villagers. It’s also a bit longwinded and I felt a little bit cheated by being put on the wrong track at some point. Although the solution of that particular part of the mystery, to do with mushrooms, was quite funny, it took a bit too long as part of the investigation.

I also would have liked to feel a bit more intrigued about the murder and more eager to find out about the who and the why. But then, it was a cosy mystery after all, so it couldn’t get too “thrilling”.

I loved the names of the characters, such as Alexander Mars-Wrigley, constables (Adam) Smith and (Walther) Wesson, Tuxford Wensleydale, etc. These are typically English brands and items. Of course, the names of  the vicar’s daughters beat it all: Psalmonella, Rhapsody, and Harmonia. The Englishness in general of the people and their actions was great fun. I lived in England for years and I did recognise the behaviour and way of talking of the villagers.

The ending of the book (the solution of the killings) was unexpected and I would have liked to see a few clues earlier on about this. Or maybe they were there, but I didn’t notice.

Rating: 3.5/5

I got this book: from the author herself for review (ebook)

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 208 (ebook)

First published: 2011

Genre: cozy mystery

R.I.P. VI

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

One Response to Book Review: The Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj Jakobsen

  1. Hmm, it does sound intriguing. I love all things British, with tea, crumpets, and the hyphenated names (note: my own name is hyphenated! LOL).

    Thanks for sharing….

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

