It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 4 books in the last week

… But 2 of them I didn’t finish!

Click on the orange links for more information

The Trout Opera by Matthew Condon. An 100-year old Australian man is kidnapped by the Olympic Committee as they want him to be present at the opening ceremony. He thinks back to his younger years while his great-niece is sorting out her problems before trying to locate him. 4 stars

Noorderzon [Gone Away] van Renate Dorrestein [Dutch]. A woman has disappeared and her fiancé is worried. According to her house mate, she may be suffering from memory loss after years of alcohol abuse. The fiancé doesn’t believe this. But the reader gets some indication that it might be true… One of my favorite Dutch writers. 3.5 stars

The Wasted Vigil by Nadeem Aslam (DNF). Coming Saturday there will be another Dutch book bloggers meeting and the suggestion last time was to read and discuss this book. However, I found it boring, slow going, and didn’t care for the characters. I read 100 pages so I think I tried hard enough.

The Lady and the Poet by Maeve Haran (DNF). Another one that I didn’t finish. This is a book from my TBR Slash challenge and I started quite happily, but didn’t get into it. 

The Trout Opera by Matthew CondonThe Wasted Vigil by Nadeem AslamThe Lady and the Poet by Maeve Haran

Currently Reading

The Bomber by Liza Marklund. At the Olympic Stadion in Stockholm a bomb has gone off and a person has died. Journalist Annika Bengtzon is very cleverly trying to find out about the background of the incident and the victim. She hasn’t much of a home life, which her husband and children resent. A great read!

The Bomber by Liza MarklundThe Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj JakobsenAlways on My Mind by Colette Caddle

Other news

Click on the orange links for more information

The Ugly Covers Competition is in its sixth week! Cast your vote for the ugliest cover… HERE. (Anyone can enter).

Check out my review of The Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj Jakobsen. Rose, an older single woman, is murdered while in the company of several other villagers. Nobody saw what happened. Archibald Penrose, the local constable investigates the case. Very English, lots of fun names, lots of tea. 3.5 stars.

And my review of Always on My Mind by Colette Caddle. Chick-lit. In a few months’ time, Molly Jackson will marry her fiancé Declan. But when she meets an old flame ánd Declan isn’t giving the wedding the priority he should, she starts to get second thoughts. 3.5 stars.

My 5 Best Books… with Ghosts are HERE, and my new arrivals (new books) are HERE.

If you were wondering how I did in the 100 mile fitness challenge, look HERE.

*****

You can now sign up as a participant (giver) for the

Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (October 15-19)!!!

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

31 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Tes says:

    I wish I could read more like you… The Bomber sounds interesting🙂

  2. Nadine Nys says:

    I hate it when I don’t like a book and have to consider stop reading it, Judith… I hope your next books will be really good.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Nadine. I also don’t like to stop reading a book, or at least, to make that decision, because, who knows, maybe after another 20 pages it would be much better. But then, 100 pages of not-so-interesting *is* enough.

  3. Teddyree says:

    I find it hard to put a book down even if I don’t like it, need to take a leaf out of your book lol
    Hope you enjoy this weeks books. Have a great week🙂

  4. Esme says:

    What lovely books, all this meme does is add more books to my TBR list. I walked lots and lots, so much so that with the heat I ended up blistering my feet. After that I rented a “velib” and biked and biked. I also rode over 100 km this weekend as I have three boxes of macarons I brought home. Have a great week Judith. The two covers that appeal to me are the ones you DNF.

  5. The Cosy Knave looks good! I’ll be checking out the review.

    I had a book I didn’t finish this week, too. I’ve taken the attitude that life’s too short to read books we’re not enjoying…so there! LOL

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  6. You read some great books. I’m currently reading A New Prospect by Wayne Zurl. I wouldn’t mind reading Always on My Mind it seems like a good read.

  7. Vasilly says:

    I have a love-hate relationship with Aslam. I love his writing and imagery but hate that his books can be slow-going. Have a great week.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Vasilly, I am giving up on Aslam after just one book. My fellow blogger Jackie of Farmlane Books shares my taste in books and she couldn’t finish another book of his. So, I guess he’s not for me (or her).

  8. Suzanne says:

    I’m intrigued by The Trout Opera — why do they need this 100-year old man to be at the opening ceremony? You’ve interested me in reading it, that is for sure.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, it’s because at the opening ceremony they want to do something about Australia and its history and the man symbolizes the last 100 years of Australia.

      I bet the book is for sale where you are – or check the library. It’s a fun book.

  9. Kristin T. says:

    I had a good reading week last week, too! Now I if could only get caught up on all those reviews…

    Stop by my It’s Monday post if you get a chance.

  10. Karen says:

    I haven’t read any of these books but they sound interesting. I particularly like the sound of Noorderzon. I would give up too. If it’s a book that you just aren’t enjoying and you know that’s unlikely to change then life is too short.

  11. Marce says:

    The Bomber looks great, lots of new to me titles. Have a great week.

  12. I am going to add The Bomber to my “Read this List”. It sounds very interesting. Right now I am finishing up my book clubs book THE STRAWBERRY LETTER and I finished two reads for work.

  13. Pussreboots says:

    Enjoy your books. I guess it was a pretty normal week of reading for me. Please come see what I’ve read.

  14. Mystica says:

    Those covers are so gorgeous!

  15. Lian says:

    Noorderzon sounds like a good read, I might add it to my list🙂

  16. Julie says:

    You have some interesting books on your list this week. The Bomber sounds very good.

  17. Athira says:

    The Bomber sounds fabulous! Haven’t heard of it, so I need to check if my library has it. Trout Opera also sounds good. Will look for your review.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

