Indie Lit Awards – Lots To Read Still

IndieLitAwards

As you may know, I’m a voting member for the Indie Lit Awards 2011. These awards are given by you, the literary blogger, to books published in 2011. The category I’m involved in is Speculative Fiction. This is fiction that couldn’t be real, like magic, science fiction, horror, etc.

In other other categories, I’m allowed to nominate books so I am reading not just Speculative Fiction (in case they get nominated) but also books in other categories.

This is what I still want to read before the end of the year (and counting):

Spec Fict

Speculative Fiction

The left one I hadn’t heard of before I got it, but The Night Circus? I’m sure this has a good chance of ending high in the Speculative Fiction category! So I want to read it soon to make up my own mind already.

Memoirs

Biography/Memoir

The left-hand side book is Dutch, but it was out in English this year, too, called My Year with Eleanor. The other book is already quite well-known. I’d love to see if these books are good enough to nominate. I have read a few other memoirs this year already (more than ever, it seems) so I have something to choose from.

Mystery and Fiction

Mystery and Fiction (2 categories)

I love a good mystery/thriller and have read several that are worth nominating already. Maybe this new one by S. J. Bolton is another candidate. And Left Neglected is the new book by Lisa Genova. As I read her other book, Still Alice, I have great hopes for this one for the Fiction category.

So, these are the books that I need to read before the end of the year. Erm, that’s on top of the other books that I “need” to read. It’s a good thing there’s a Readathon next week. Hopefully I can catch up a little on the new books of 2011!


About the IndieLit Awards:
You can nominate your favorite books in each of these categories. The rules for nominating are:
  • Books nominated must have a 2011 release date.
  • The books with the most nominations will be added to the Long List
  • You may nominate books in more than one genre, up to 5 per genre.
  • Nominations are open to all readers who do not make their income through the sales of books (i.e. not authors, publishers, or publicists) — hence “independent” from the publishing industry.
  • Nominations are open midnight PST September 1, 2011 – 11:59 PST December 31, 2011.

After the nomination deadline of December 31, 2011, the five books that were nominated most in each genre are then read by us, the voting members, if we haven’t read the book yet. We then decide on the winner.

Check out the Indie Lit Award website for more information.

Have YOU nominated any books yet?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to Indie Lit Awards – Lots To Read Still

  1. I might have to read The Night Circus too, just to see what it’s all about. Or at least try, I wonder if I will like it.

    I have read Left Neglected, it’s good. The author is a doctor though so she writes a wonderful story. Still Alice is the better of the two books. Lisa Genova has a wonderful story. She actually sold Still Alice from the trunk of her car, then Barnes and Noble picked it as a ‘new discovery’ book and the rest is history.

    Good luck with your reading wish list!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, even if Still Alice was the better book, Left Neglected could still be quite goof – but that’s what you’re saying, I think. Amazing how she started selling her book!

  2. Uniflame says:

    I really want to read Left Neglected as well! I actually nominated it at the bookgrrls list, but then I still had the mail problems so it never got through.

    Today I had a new arrival: Mockingbird Kathryn Erskine. It is a little pressie that I allowed myself a few weeks back (I hardly buy any books) and I am saving that one for the readathon!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Uniflame, a pity you didn’t get a chance to nominate Left Neglected! But very nice that you got yourself a book for the readathon. Every women needs to spoil herself every now and then.🙂

  3. mamabunny13 says:

    I want to read “Now You See Me” and “Left Neglected”. Good luck with your reading list!

  4. Trisha says:

    I feel like I’ve been a complete slacker with reading in our category this year! I actually haven’t read many books published this year at all, at all! I do have The Night Circus on my shelf though – hopefully I’ll be reading it during the readathon.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Trisha, after several months in this year, I realised I hadn’t read any spec fic at all! So I started to try and catch up a little. Strange, because last year I read a lot of it. I’m thinking of reading The Night Circus during the readathon. If it’s as good as people say, we’ll stay awake just to finish this book.

  5. So glad you reminded me of the Indie Lit Awards. I’ll make sure to get to it this weekend. I have made a commitment to myself to read the Night Circus before the year is over. I hear so many wonderful things about it. I also want to read Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother as well.

  6. Oooohh, I can´t even see a S.J. Bolton cover without slobbering😀

    I bet she´ll be a strong contestant.

  7. I’ve definitely submitted some nominations… I’m hoping, hoping, hoping that people will get in there and vote for We the Animals by Justin Torres, in either Fiction or LGBT. I’m a judge for the LGBT panel so I can’t nominate in that category, unfortunately. I’m hoping The Night Circus and Every You, Every Me get solid nominations too.

  8. Suzanne says:

    My book group read Still Alice a few months ago, and I loved it so much that I bought Left Neglected right away, but I haven’t read it yet (you know, so many books, so little time)

    I hope you like My Year with Eleanor. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. The Dutch cover is quite different from the U.S. edition.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, the Dutch title is very different as well, *My Year With Eleanor*, is “Woman seeks mountain to look up against” – similar to making mountains out of molehills. I do like that kind of book, if it’s well-written.

  9. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    It’s going to be a tough judging I think!

  10. Nadine Nys says:

    I am sure you won’t feel bored, the next weeks, Judith. Some of these books I want to read too, especially The Night Circus. It has gotten great reviews and I would like to see for myself what all the hype is about. But I first want to read some other books, that have been waiting for my attention for a long time.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sounds like you have the same “problem” as me, Nadine. Too many great books that want your attention. I’m trying hard, but there are so many – this coming weekend is the 24hour readathon. Hopefully that helps me a bit.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

