Book Review: The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-French

The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-FrenchSuzanne at Bibliosue gave this book away as part of the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop in June, and I was the lucky winner. Lucky indeed, because after I saw Suzanne’s reviewof the book I was keen to read it myself!

The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady: What it is about

Marylou Ahern is 77 years old and has moved to a different state in order to be close to Dr Wilson Spriggs. Many years ago he gave her a radio-active drink as part of an experiment (that she didn’t know about). The effects of the cocktail were terrible, and here she is, ready to take revenge. Her plan is to kill him. But first she wants Dr Spriggs and his family (his daughter, son in law and their children) to get to know her and she insinuates herself into the family. But what a strange family they are! The parents both have their own obsessions while the two older children have Asperger’s syndrome. Only the youngest daughter could be called “normal”. Dr Spriggs himself has dementia and may or may not remember much of the past. The story is told from the viewpoint of several different characters: Marylou herself, as well as the members of Dr Spriggs’ family.

The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady: What I thought

This was a fun read. The story went quite a different way from what I expected, though. The family was very interesting, with two Asperger’s children who, if you ask me, were exhibiting challenging teenage behaviour to a higher degree than any Asperger issues. Marylou tried to take revenge on the whole family by getting the children to do things their parents would strongly disapprove of (but would have little chance of changing it). There are lots of entertaining situations as well as some very serious ones. The son was building a potentially dangerous object in the garden shed which could lead to an nuclear incident which I found very funny and I liked his story the best. I was wondering whether Marylou would still be able to kill the doctor if she started to like the family. Or was she so cold hearted and determined that she would go ahead anyway? Some of the book was a bit slow, but the revelations of the pasts of the different protagonists was well paced and didn’t feel forced. I enjoyed how the story was told from the perspective of different people, especially their (sometimes misinformed) opinions on the other main characters. A quirky story, with an angry old lady and a very strange family. Worth a read. Rating: 4/5 I got this book: in a giveaway by Suzanne at Bibliosue I read this in: English, the original language Number of pages: 336 First published: 2011 Genre: contemporary fiction

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to Book Review: The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-French

  1. Louise says:

    I’ve been waiting to hear your thoughts on this, I’ve seen this book around a lot the last few days… another added to the wishlist😉

  2. Trisha says:

    I don’t know why, but I find it doubly pleasurable when I enjoy a FREE book.🙂

  3. Elizabeth says:

    So glad you enjoyed the RAL–and thanks so much for your thoughtful review!

  4. Suzanne says:

    I’m glad you liked it — what did you think of the ending, though?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, the ending was rather unexpected as well as unlikely. But it didn’t put me off, I was OK with it. How about you?

      • Suzanne says:

        Well, given her attitude throughout most of the book I thought the ending was far-fetched. It didn’t put me off the book as a whole, it just disappointed me.

      • Leeswammes says:

        I would have preferred a more radical ending too, Suzanne but *SPOILER* I think she was a lonely old woman and just happy to be able to help out others.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

