It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 2 books in the last week

Click on the orange links for more information

The Bomber by Liza Marklund. At the Olympic Stadion in Stockholm a bomb has gone off and a person has died. Journalist Annika Bengtzon is very cleverly trying to find out about the background of the incident and the victim. She hasn’t much of a home life, which her husband and children resent. A great read! 4.5 stars

Good to a Fault by Marina Endicott. A woman who drives into a homeless family’s car takes them in after the mother of the family has to spend some time in hospital. Very good read! 5 stars

The Bomber by Liza MarklundGood to a Fault by Marina Endicott

Currently Reading

The Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende. Historical fiction in a Caribbean island where a plantation owner takes in a slave girl and has a long standing relationship with her.

Nothing by Blake Butler. Non-fiction about insomnia. Written in a very literary manner. Hard to follow sometimes, but also interesting and recognisable.

Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel AllendeNothing by Blake Butler

Other news

Click on the orange links for more information

*****

Literary Giveaway Blog Hop

===> The Literary Giveaway Blog Hop runs into Wednesday – over 50 blogs are giving away books! <===

Check it out HERE.

*****

The Ugly Covers Competition is in its final week! Cast your vote for the ugliest of the ugly covers… HERE. (Anyone can enter).

The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-FrenchThe Wasted Vigil by Nadeem AslamA Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba BrayThe Trout Opera by Matthew Condon
The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-French. Marylou is in her seventies and was poisoned by a radioactive material in the 1950s, while she was pregnant. She’s moved states just so she can be close to the doctor that experimented on her. She’s planning to kill him. 4 stars

Check why I didn’t finish this book: The Wasted Vigil by Nadeem Aslam (DNF). Coming Saturday there will be another Dutch book bloggers meeting and the suggestion last time was to read and discuss this book. However, I found it boring, slow going, and didn’t care for the characters. I read 100 pages so I think I tried hard enough.

Here’s my review of A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. After her mother dies in India, 16-year old Gemma is sent to boarding school in England, where she discovers an alternate world of magic. 3.5 stars

Have you nominated any books for the Indie Lit Awards yet? Here’s what I still want to read this year.

*****

On my Dutch blog:

My review of The Trout Opera by Matthew Condon. An 100-year old Australian man is kidnapped by the Olympic Committee as they want him to be present at the opening ceremony. He thinks back to his younger years while his great-niece is sorting out her problems before trying to locate him. 4 stars

A book bloggers’ meeting in Groningen last Saturday.

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

31 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. carol says:

    Ugly covers comp, that is new to me🙂

    Have a great week
    carol

  2. Cat says:

    I really liked Good to a Fault too……….I started another title of Liza Marklund’s but couldn’t get into it and didn’t finish it. So often depends what sort of reading mood one is in!
    Have a good week!

  3. Kristen says:

    I finished Death Perception here and currently reading Room for a local book club event I am attending this week.

  4. The Allende novel , the Island Beneath the Sea, and Good to a Fault look very tempting. On my wish list. Enjoy your week of reading.

  5. I’m going to send you an email regarding Good to a Fault. I CAN’T wait to chat about this book. You liked it more than I did, I can explain why in the email. My own issue.

  6. I am so sorry I forgot about the hop. GAH! I am going to try to pop around tonight to some of your links😉

  7. You read some good books. I am still slow after my LONG reading slump but catching up!

    Here is my post!

    • Leeswammes says:

      That’s great, Gautami. I’m glad to say I’m been spared a reading slump for a long time now. I’d feel so stressed with all the books that I still “need” to read.

  8. Uniflame says:

    I am going to add good to a fault to my reading list🙂 It seems like one I would enjoy!

  9. Vasilly says:

    I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Island Beneath the Sea. Have a great week!

  10. Karen says:

    I’ve only read a few books by Allende and enjoyed them. So look forward to seeing what you think of Island Beneath the Sea.

  11. I like the sound of Good to a Fault…thanks for sharing. Hope you have a great week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  12. dollycas says:

    You have some books I need to check out!

    I spent last week rebooting my blog on WordPress. I hope you will stop by and let me know what you think.
    http://www.escapewithdollycas.com/

    Dollycas

  13. I agree that The Bomber was a terrific mystery.I have grown very tired of the series since then, however, because Annika changed in a direction I didn´t much like. But the first handful of volumes were fine.

  14. Julie says:

    The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady sounds quite interesting, as does The Bomber.

  15. Nothing sounds like it would be a fascinating book, since my bf has chronic insomnia and it’s hard for me to wrap my mind around. And I love the ugly covers competition. Too funny!

  16. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Oh I have Good To A fault to read as well – glad you enjoyed it so much I am looking forward to it!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

