Book Review: Lies (Gone # 3) by Michael Grant

Lies by Michael Grant I’ve read the earlier two books in this series and got this one from the library for my son. But he’d read it already so I decided I might as well read it myself!

I enjoyed the first book, Gone, very much, but the second book, Hunger, a bit less.

Lies: What it is about

The children still live in the FAYZ where there are no adults or children above the age of fifteen. Food is getting scarce and there is no longer any electricity.

Sam meets Orsay who claims she can read the dreams of the adults on the other side of the wall. She claims that when you are 15 and disappear, or when you die, you’ll end up back with your parents. That is a dangerous idea and Sam and Astrid and the rest of the council decide to lie to the others, telling them this is definitely not true.

Meanwhile, Sam and Astrid fall out with each other, as Sam is very active fighting evil, but Astrid wants him to follow the council rules and ask for permission to undertake action.

The evil Zil and Sam’s brother Caine and their respective gangs are unhappy to be outcasts and try to take over the FAYZ by force. Some new (or really, old) evil forces become active too.

Finally, some new children are discovered that were not mentioned in the other books.

Lies: What I thought

It was an enjoyable story, more interesting than the second book, Hunger.

Really the book was a description of what was going on in the FAYZ with not a lot of progression of the general storyline. But it was still interesting to read how the children tried to survive. Orsay’s visions were appealing and the reader had to make up their own mind on whether to believe her or not.

I also like the addition of some new children to the story. Normally this would seem a lousy trick of the author (to add some new characters to a place where everyone knows each other) but in this case it was completely believable.

At the end of the book I was keen to read the next instalment. I’m expecting to see some more of Little Petey, who didn’t play a big role in part 3.

Rating: 4/5 stars

I got this book: from my library

I read this in: Dutch, the original language is English

Number of pages: 382

First published: 2010

Genre: dystopia, YA

Extra: See also my review of book 4: Gone: Plague (in Dutch) and book 5: Gone: Fear (in English)

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

7 Responses to Book Review: Lies (Gone # 3) by Michael Grant

  1. Great review. Hadn’t heard of it before. Kinda sounds like Hunger Games with the survival and scarcity of food theme. Seems interesting.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lena, it’s like the Hunger Games because it’s dystopian and with children, but most of them try to survive as a group rather than fighting each other. It’s really good but definitely a kids/YA book, more so than the Hunger Games I think.

  2. I’ve only read the first book, but I doubt about reading further. I think it’s just not my thing, even tough I enjoyed gone!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Katrien, if you liked the first one but you aren’t sure, I wouldn’t read one. I didn’t like the second one quite so much but this 3rd one was interesting again. But then, there are so many interesting books!

      Did you read The Hunger Games? It is not really similar but in a way, it is.🙂

  3. Pingback: Quick Book Review: Gone: Fear by Michael Grant | Leeswammes' Blog

  4. Ayla says:

    I have read the first book of the Gone series in Dutch and even though I thought some parts were shocking, I loved it and I really wanted to read the other books of the series. I haven’t read the second book yet, but I’m curious what happened because the third book seems really good. I think it’s good for the book that there is not much progress in the storyline, because the first book was a little fast paced., It’s nice to finally find out what’s actually going on in the town they live in except for just moving on with the story. That way you get to know more about the characters, which makes all the books more interesting.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ayla, I hope you’ll get round to reading the other books in the series too. They are really good fun, although in the end I was happy that the story finally came to an end. That was Book 6, if I remember well.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

