The Ugly Covers Competition: The Winners and a Giveaway (WW)

Ugly Covers Competition at Leeswammes' Blog

It’s the end of the Ugly Covers Competition. Time to announce the winners: the winner of the title “the ugliest cover of the competition” AND the winner of my prize: a book of their choice.

I also have another giveaway for you: you can win a book with an ugly cover, gracefully provided by the author, who wasn’t too sure about the cover either.🙂

But first things first.

Ugliest Book

Here are again the 6 covers that won the weekly rounds. Last week you could vote which you thought was the most ugly.

Week 1, 2, and 3:

Week 1Week 2Week 3

Week 4, 5, and 6:

Week 4Week 5Week 6

The votes were as follows: Week 1: 2 votes; Week 2: 3 votes; Week 3: 6 votes; Week 4: 0 votes; Week 5: 7 votes and Week 6: 9 votes.

The book considered most ugly by the readers of Leeswammes’ Blog is Week 6, The Human Race by O. C. Heaton.

It was a close call between week 3, 5 and 6, though.

The winner of the giveaway

One of the readers who voted for this book will win a book of their choice, preferably one that was featured in the Ugly Covers Competition (with a different cover if you like and if available).

There were 9 people who voted for this book back in week 6. After a random draw, the winner of the giveaway is. Uniflame!

Congratulations! I will send you an email.

An Ugly Book Giveaway

The author of “week 6”, The Human Race, which also turned out to be the overall winner, contacted me a few weeks ago to suggest an experiment. The cover you have been voting on is the paperback version, but the Kindle version has a different cover.

O. C. Heaton, the author, says: “When the book was first published, it was packaged as a thriller for a predominantly male readership. However you will not be surprised to hear that, to date, readers’ and reviewers’ feedback about that cover has been almost identical to that provided by the Leeswammes’ Blog commenters!

In fact there has been a peculiarly sharp male/female divide. Against expectations, ‘The Human Race’ has found an enthusiastic female readership. Those who get past the cover enjoy the book – but have disliked the cover.

As a result, my publisher decided to have the cover redesigned from scratch for the new Kindle edition of ‘The Human Race’.”

The covers are:

The Human Race by O. C. HeatonThe Human Race Kindle Edition by O. C. Heaton

Do you think it’s an improvement?The experiment is to see whether people reading the Kindle version (with the new cover) will give different feedback than those reading the paperback with the “creepy” cover.

O. C. Heaton is giving away 4 paperback copies and 4 Kindle copies to readers who are willing to read this book within the next 8 weeks, so before the end of December. The giveaway is worldwide (also for the paperbacks!).

As an experiment can’t go on forever, the date to send feedback on this book is 31 December at the very latest. I will send you an email at the beginning of December to remind you in case you haven’t send any feedback yet. You can send your feedback (and/or links to blogposts) to me and I’ll send them on to the author.

Now, what’s the book about?

Ever had a secret so big that the very knowledge of it consumed you? Uma Jakobsdóttir has one. A huge one. And if it falls into the wrong hands it could obliterate mankind.  Unfortunately two men have discovered it.

Ethan Rae, Britain’s richest man, is counting on Uma’s secret to finally seal his position as the greatest deal maker of all time.

Across the Atlantic, Samuel Reynolds III, playboy CEO of Reynolds Air, is battling to keep the airline his granddaddy built alive. Once the largest company in America, it’s now facing bankruptcy as the fallout of 911 cripples the airline industry. He desperately needs Uma’s secret to ensure its survival.

From the leafy suburbs of London to the frozen wastelands of Iceland, in the shadow of Ground Zero and under the barren dryness of the Mojave Desert, both men will stop at nothing to get what they want.

There can only be one winner and the fate of the human race hangs in the balance as they battle it out.

The race is on…

Fill out this form if you want to win the book (paperback or Kindle edition). Giveaway is worldwide, but you have to agree to read this book before the end of December and provide feedback to me.

You can enter this giveaway until Wednesday October 26th. On Thursday I’ll announce the winners.

Good luck! I’ll be reading this book soon myself as I have a copy of it already. Let’s compare notes!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

22 Responses to The Ugly Covers Competition: The Winners and a Giveaway (WW)

  1. KatieB says:

    I’d be interested in participating in this experiment. Sounds interesting. Kindle or paperback, either would work.

    Thanks!
    Katie

  2. Kinna says:

    I have too much on my plate to enter the giveaway. Congrats, another entertaining competition. Well done.

  3. WOW – I love that the author contacted you AND that a book cover was changed because of your competition. Brilliant!

  4. Unfortunately, my reading schedule is booked through the end of the year, or I would enter the giveaway. I think the new cover is a MAJOR improvement! Congrats to Uniflame as well!

    Thank you for running such a fun competition. I’ll keep my eyes out for more ugly covers, just in case you decide to host again!

  5. Laura P. says:

    I loved the Ugly Covers Competition. It was a lot of fun, so, thank you for hosting it🙂

  6. Amy says:

    I find it amazing how many ugly covers there are! It’s sort of baffling since publishers want to see the books they publish sell and, whether we like to admit it or not, first impressions can color a person’s opinion of anything, including books. Since the cover is often what we first experience about a book I would think publishers would want to make a book’s cover inviting or able to attract the reader’s eye. I s’pose some people might be of the mind that ugly attracts and sure initially but who wants a cover like the first one of The Human Race sitting on their nighstand staring at them day in and day out?!

    I think the second cover for The Human Race is an improvement but still a little ugly!

    Fascinating competition, Judith!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Amy, I really don’t know how publishers get the ideas of these ugly covers, but as we saw in the competition, some people like some covers while others find them awful. So, it’s a personal taste too.

  7. Leslie says:

    I always knew there were awful covers out there but we seem to have found some of the worst of the worst! It was fun and I got to discover some new books.

    Although I voted for The Human Race for most ugly, I do think the story sounds appealing and am willing to read and provide feedback on it. (I filled out the form). The book has one of those covers I don’t like to be seen reading on the train, but that’s not a problem anymore, as my job has now been eliminated. I will have some free time to take on some additional reading…. at least until I find new employment.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, so sorry to hear you’re without a job. The bright side is you have time to read – in theory. I haven’t had a job for 2 years (out of choice) and I don’t read all that much during the day. Only when I feel I have to finish a particular book soon.

      • Leslie says:

        You have a point. During the day I feel I should be “doing things” and so far I’ve been running around doing all the things I haven’t been able to get done during the week when I was working. Plus there are a number of projects around the house to keep me busy! But I can always listen to a few extra books.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Ah yes, listening is a good way to catch up on books, Leslie. Well, I know it is but I’m still not doing it. One day, one day.

  8. Uniflame says:

    It is so awesome that I have won! Thank you! I will go on to look into the books and choose my book🙂

  9. LOL Poor Hesse! Those old covers were horrible – some of the newer editions are nice, but I have older editions of Siddhartha and Narcissus and Goldmund, both of which suffered rather ugly designs. Hesse deserves so much better!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Doesn’t it look like a sex orgy, Adam? It’s terrible. Luckily we have better taste now, or so we think (who knows what we’ll think of today’s covers in 30 years’ time).

  10. Ahh darn. I didn’t win. I voted, but skipped week 6. Hey but two of the books I recommend for the ugly competition made it to the finals, so I’m still happy.🙂

    Congrats Uniflame.

  11. Pingback: Mailbox Monday ~ November 7th « Under My Apple Tree

  12. Pingback: The Human Race – O. C. Heaton – 2/10 (DNF) | Reading With Tea

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

