Book Review: We All Ran Into The Sunlight by Natalie Young

We All Ran Into the Sunlight by Natalie Young

This looked like a chick-lit at first (the front cover of the Dutch translation is not half as serious as the English one). But it turned out to be a combination of modern and historical fiction.

The premise included a French castle which made it sound really interesting but it wasn’t quite as good as I had hoped.

We All Ran Into The Sunlight: What it is about

A young English couple, Kate and Stephen, are on holiday in a small French town. Kate falls in love with the castle on the town’s central square. When she hears it’s for sale, she becomes even more entranced by the abandoned and ruined castle.

It turns out that the castle was partially destroyed by a fire years ago. The people in town are reluctant to discuss the castle and its previous inhabitans, but there seems to be a secret: how did the fire start and where is the heir now?

The story goes back into time so we discover bit by bit what the events are from the years that the castle was inhabited. The last part of the book, the modern time, is told via emails.

We All Ran Into The Sunlight: What I thought


Nice, a story that takes place in sunny France in which a castle plays a large part! … is what I initially thought.

After the description of the fire at the castle in 1985 (kept vague on purpose) the story really starts in 2006, when Kate and Stephen are on holiday in the town. This part was good fun to read and it looked like I would very much enjoy this book.

But unfortunately it turned out to be somewhat boring. When the story turned to the events of 1949 when the new inhabitants moved into the castle my interest started to wane. Lucie and Arnaud are a married couple who have bought the castle after the second world war. Arnaud is away a lot and Lucie is the main character for the reader. But I didn’t like her very much. I thought she was arrogant and selfish and didn’t accept at all her solution for a problem that she had had for a long time.

One of the characters, with a foreign parentage, seemed not at all interested in her background, which seemed rather odd. Instead she was obsessed with the castle and the people who lived there.

It was not bad book, but for me, it doesn’t deserve more than 3 stars. I didn’t find the story interesting enough.

Rating: 3/5 stars

I got this book: from Ailantus Publishers for review

I read this in: Dutch (Verblind door de zon), the original language is English

Number of pages: 285

First published: 2011

Genre: contemporary fiction, historical fiction

Do you know this book? What did you think of it?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

6 Responses to Book Review: We All Ran Into The Sunlight by Natalie Young

  1. Oh no! I have this on my TBR pile and I had hoped it would be better than that.😦

  2. Ann says:

    What a shame. It does sound like it would be a good story. Thanks for the review.
    Ann

  3. parrish says:

    Have not heard of this and based on your post, that’s about as far as my knowledge need go.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

