It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 3 books in the last week

but one of them I didn’t quite finish…

Click on the orange links to get to the blog post.

The Blasphemer by Nigel Farndale. A couple is on a plane that crashes in the sea near the Galapagos Islands. The man’s great-grandfather was in the First World-War in France. I liked the first storyline but not the second. I gave up after 300 pages. (DNF)

The Kitchen Counter Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn. Memoir in which the author starts cooking lessons for women who almost only eat pre-processed food. They learn a lot, and so does the reader! 5 stars

Korte verhalen schrijven [Writing Short Stories] by Ton Rozeman. Non-fiction with many tips on how to write short-stories from a story as photograph metaphor. 5 stars If you’re in the Netherlands or Belgium you can win a copy of this book (click on the title).


The Blasphemer by Nigel FarndaleThe Kitchen Counter Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn


Currently Reading

The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst. Several generations in an English family. Beautifully written, but not much is really happening.

The Stranger's Child by Alan HollinghurstNothing by Blake Butler

Other news

Reviews: 

Nothing by Blake Butler. Non-fiction about insomnia. Written in a very literary manner. Hard to follow sometimes, but also interesting and recognisable. 3 stars

Good to a Fault by Marina Endicott. A woman who drives into a homeless family’s car takes them in after the mother of the family has to spend some time in hospital. Very good read! 5 stars Read my review and Q & A with Mari of Bookworm with a View.

*****

Check out my new book arrivals!

I’m taking part in NaNoWriMo. You too?

Which famous author does your writing style looks like? I write like…

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

24 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Cindy says:

    Glad you enjoyed the Kitchen Counter book. I am finally working my way through Giorgio Locatelli’s book, which was sent to me so long ago and has been sitting on the shelf. Have a good week, Judith.

  2. parrish says:

    About halfway through The Book Thief & enjoying it more than I expected.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gary, The Book Thief was ok for me but I didn’t like it as much as some people – there was a lot of hype over the book. Glad you’re enjoyed it.

  3. Karen says:

    The Kitchen counter sounds interesting. My cooking skills are next to null so possibly I should look out for that one. I tried reading the Hollinghurst book which one him the booker prize. I couldn’t get into it at all. I didn’t like the main character and gave up early on. Everyone else seems to enjoy him though. Good luck with NaNoWriMo.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Karen. Yes, do try The Kitchen Counter Cooking School, it will hopefully give you some confidence in trying to make some simple meals.

      Hollinghurst is quite a hard read and nothing much happens, but I am enjoying it.

  4. Teddyree says:

    The 2nd blog I’ve seen Good To A Fault on, you both mention it’s a wonderful read. Have a great week and happy reading🙂

  5. Happy Monday! I’m glad to hear you gave The Kitchen… book 5 stars. We had friends over Friday night and my copy is making it’s way through the group. Everyone loves it.

    Have you decided whether to write in Dutch or English? Are you ready? You don’t have to share details but do you have an idea/plot/genre that you will write? I’m thrilled for you!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think I’ll write in English – more friends can read it (if it ever gets that for) and it seems to flow better.

      I’ve got some ideas for the plot and trying to work out some first details today. Lots of work!🙂

  6. Julie says:

    The Kitchen Counter book sounds interesting and different. Good luck with NaNoWriMo. While I do write for a living, I am not a creative writer at all. I could never do it. But I hope you enjoy it!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Julie, I’m quite happy writing my blog, non fiction, but fiction I find a lot harder, too. Sometimes the story just flows out, sometimes it’s a struggle. We’ll see.🙂

  7. Dollycas says:

    The Kitchen Counter Cooking School was really good. My husband is the chef in this house and he is reading my copy now.

    Dollycas
    http://www.escapewithdollycas.com/

  8. Pussreboots says:

    I’m taking part in Nanowrimo too. I had a very slow week of reading. Please come see what I did finish.

  9. All of you r books look really interesting Judith! I am in such a mood just to curl up and read…. no other distractions.

  10. Ally says:

    I am 80 pages left behind in “A man walks into a room”, by Nicole Krauss. It is quite interesting, I hope to finish it this week🙂

  11. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Gosh to DNF a book 300 pages in would drive me nuts even if I wasn’t liking it LOL. The Kitchen Counter books seems to be extraordinarily popular at the moment!

    I hope The Strangers Child improves for you though I have read it is very slow paced

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae but reading 100 pages more of a book that I’m not enjoying is worse than giving up, don’t you think?🙂

      Yes, The Stranger’s Child is slow. It’s nice in a way, but slow.

  12. Athira says:

    I’m still on the fence about Stranger’s Child, so I’ll look forward to your review. I hope you have a good week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Athira, The Stranger’s Child is a beautiful book, but it’s slow, and nothing much really happens. The characters are interesting though, but they change a few times, because the book moves forward in time.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

