October Overview

In October I read 17 books, which is more than most months (13-15). However, I’ll admit that 3 books I didn’t finish. Two of them, I read about 90 pages, and one I read 350 pages of before giving up.

It’s hard to make a definite choice, but I’d say Good to a Fault by Marina Endicott  was my favorite book this month. I also very much enjoyed The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady and The Bomber.

Books I read

(Hover over the covers to see their titles and authors).

The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-FrenchThe Wasted Vigil by Nadeem AslamThe Lady and the Poet by Maeve HaranThe Bomber by Liza MarklundGood to a Fault by Marina EndicottIsland Beneath the Sea by Isabel AllendeNothing by Blake ButlerFauna by Alissa YorkThe Ugly Sister by Jane FallonWhat To Do When Someone Dies by Nicci FrenchMy Year With Eleanor by Noelle HancockThe Blasphemer by Nigel FarndaleThe Kitchen Counter Cooking School by Kathleen FlinnThe Trout Opera by Matthew CondonNoorderzon by Renate Dorrestein

Titles in orange link through to their reviews.

The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady by Elizabeth Stuckey-French. Marylou is in her seventies and was poisoned by a radioactive material in the 1950s, while she was pregnant. She’s moved states just so she can be close to the doctor that experimented on her. She’s planning to kill him. 4.5 stars

The Wasted Vigil by Nadeem Aslam (DNF). I read this book for a Dutch book bloggers meeting. Everyone liked the book a lot. However, I found it boring, slow going, and didn’t care for the characters. I read 100 pages so I think I tried hard enough. DNF

The Lady and the Poet by Maeve Haran (DNF). Another one that I didn’t finish. This is a book from my TBR Slash challenge and I started quite happily, but didn’t get into it. DNF

The Bomber by Liza Marklund. At the Olympic Stadion in Stockholm a bomb has gone off and a person has died. Journalist Annika Bengtzon is very cleverly trying to find out about the background of the incident and the victim. She hasn’t much of a home life, which her husband and children resent. A great read! 4.5 stars

Good to a Fault by Marina Endicott. A woman who drives into a homeless family’s car takes them in after the mother of the family has to spend some time in hospital. Very good read! 5 stars.

The Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende. Historical fiction on a Caribbean island where a plantation owner takes in a slave girl and has a long standing relationship with her. 4 stars

Nothing by Blake Butler. Non-fiction about insomnia. Written in a very literary manner. Hard to follow sometimes, but also interesting and recognisable. 3 stars

Fauna by Alissa York. In Toronto, a number of people that are all interested in the welfare of animals become involved with each other. 4 stars

The Ugly Sister by Jane Fallon. A woman is spending her summer with her famous modelling sister in London. But is the sister really interested in her, the unsuccessful librarian? 4.5 stars

What To Do When Someone Dies by Nicci French. A woman has to deal with the fact that her husband has died in a car crash together with another woman. She can’t believe he had an affair and she does anything to find out the truth. 4 stars

My Year With Eleanor by Noelle Hancock. Memoir about the author spending a year doing things she’s afraid of. Small things like phoning someone, and big things like skydiving and doing stand-up comedy. 4 stars

The Blasphemer by Nigel Farndale. I didn’t like this enough to finish it. I stopped after page 350. DNF

The Kitchen Counter Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn. Memoir of the author trying to educate American women in eating more healthily. 4 stars

The Trout Opera by Matthew Condon. An 100-year old Australian man is kidnapped by the Olympic Committee as they want him to be present at the opening ceremony. He thinks back to his younger years while his great-niece is sorting out her problems before trying to locate him. 4 stars

Noorderzon [Gone Away] van Renate Dorrestein [Dutch]. A woman has disappeared and her fiancé is worried. According to her house mate, she may be suffering from memory loss after years of alcohol abuse. The fiancé doesn’t believe this. But the reader gets some indication that it might be true… One of my favorite Dutch writers. 3.5 stars

The Literary Circle by Marjolein Februari. A woman and a journalist are looking forward to their a former class mate, now famous for writing a successful book, coming to give a lecture in the small town. But the literary circle doesn’t seem so keen. 4 stars

Korte verhalen schrijven by Ton Rozeman. Tips for writing short stories, in Dutch. With a giveaway! 5 stars

Other Books Reviewed (click on the title to read the review):

Always on My Mind by Colette Caddle. Chick-lit. In a few months’ time, Molly Jackson will marry her fiancé Declan. But when she meets an old flame ánd Declan isn’t giving the wedding the priority he should, she starts to get second thoughts. 3.5 stars.

The Cosy Knave by Dorte Hummelshoj Jakobsen. Rose, an older single woman, is murdered while in the company of several other villagers. Nobody saw what happened. Archibald Penrose, the local constable investigates the case. Very English, lots of fun names, lots of tea. 3.5 stars

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. After her mother dies in India, 16-year old Gemma is sent to boarding school in England, where she discovers an alternate world of magic. 3.5 stars

Lies by Michael Grant. The third in the Gone series. The struggle in the FARZ is continuing with children nearly ready to kill eachother. Some disturbing events make their lives even more uncertain than they already were. 4 stars

We All Ran into the Sunlight by Natalie Young. A fire happened in a French castle years ago. When the castle is put up for sale years later, the people involved in the fire have to revisit the past again. 3 stars


Other happenings on my blog:

I organised the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. This was the third time already and again, people had a great time, had lots of new visitors on their blog and discovered new blogs. Over 50 blogs gave away books.

The winner of the Ugly Covers Competition was announced.

I finished the 100 mile fitness challenge and ended up with 117 miles! I’m continuing for myself and in the meanwhile, I’m also doing NaNoWriMo in November.

I took part in the 24 Hour Readathon. I had great fun and read 3 books.

I presented 5 Best Books with Ghost Stories. Unfortunately, the 5 Best Books meme is finished. I loved doing it!

What was you favorite book this month?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

14 Responses to October Overview

  1. parrish says:

    Wow a busy month and again thanks for the Literary giveaway bloghop & hope NaNoWriMo goes well.
    PS. Great result with the fitness run

  2. Seventeen books! That’s a lot of reading.
    I’ve never read anything by Isabel Allende but her books caught my eye a few times. Maybe I should give a try to The Island Beneath the Sea. Looks like you enjoyed it.
    I haven’t done much reading this month, too busy planning my holiday, then going on said holiday, and now back home and resting. One book I did like a lot – started in September and finished in October (does that count as on October read?) was Secret Histories – Finding George Orwell in a Burmese Teashop, by Emma Larkin. She travels to Burma following Orwell’s footsteps in an attempt to demonstrate that “1984” was based on his perception of life there. If you like Orwell’s books you’ll enjoy this one. A fascinating book, I loved it.

  3. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t like The Blasphemer – I loved that book. I also wasn’t a fan of Good to a Fault so it looks as though our reading tastes are parting😦 Hopefully we’ll share more common ground next month. Have a wonderful November!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jackie, it does seem that our reading tastes are diverging. I wonder if it’s more to do with the exact topic than the writing itself. For instance. I don’t like WW stories, so The Blasphemer I didn’t like (partailly) for that reason. Maybe you have no interest in playing happy families and didn’t enjoy Good to a Fault for that reason?

  4. Wow, Good to a Fault…. nice. I need to put together my October post.

    I’m so excited for you, that you signed up for Nanowrimo. I hope it’s a rewarding experience for you.

  5. Suzanne says:

    My favorite book of October was definitely Cutting for Stone. Have you read that?
    I just picked up the Kathleen Flinn book a few weeks ago and can’t wait to read it.

    Continued good luck with NaNoWriMo!

  6. Wow, you do a like of reading. One day I’m going to be like you and read 17 books in a month🙂 Where do you find the time? Seriously, where? Congratulations on reading so much and not only that writing book reviews on many of them.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lena, I only read 15.5 if that helps, since I didn’t finish 3 of the books. Also, I participated in a readathon, and I don’t work. I don’t read much during the day at all, but most of my evenings are free for reading as the house work will have been done during the day. AND I have half the number of children that you have, I believe.

      So, give up your job and two of your children? I don’t think so!🙂

  7. Gnoe says:

    LOL in October I read 2 (!) books! Oh, and I finished 1q84 on Oct 1st, but that doesn’t count, right? ;P

    Yay for finishing the 100 mile fitness challenge with such a great result! I made it to my personal goal of 200 km by walking 127 miles. How much have you ‘moved’ in November so far?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh, the reading isn’t going well, Gnoe. I hope that means that you’re doing a lot of fun things instead….

      I’m at 35 miles so far, so that’s just on target. It’ll get harder when the weather gets worse, but I do want to achieve my goal! Good look with your walking – I hope the weekends especially will be nice for walking.

  8. Athira says:

    Radioactive lady was on my wishlist since the beginning of this year. I hope I get to read it sometime. Glad to see that you loved it too!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

