Book Review: The Lady and the Poet by Maeve Haran (DNF)

The Lady and the Poet by Maeve HaranI’ve read a few of Haran’s books and they were all contemporary, bordering on chick-lit. I bought this book mainly because I had read and enjoyed books by Haran.

I usually don’t like it when people that have really existed show up in fiction. In this book, I barely got to the point where the poet John Donne was introduced to the story before I wasn’t interested anymore.

I didn’t finish this book. I read only to about page 90. I read this book as part of my TBR Slash challenge which stated that I could stop reading at page 75 if I wasn’t keen to continue.

The Lady and the Poet: What it is about

A young woman, Ann More, sees her older sisters getting married off. She herself is sent to her aunt who is a lady at the court of Queen Elizabeth. She has arranged for Ann to be presented at court and eventually to take her place.

But Ann doesn’t enjoy her first visit to court and tells her aunt she doesn’t want to take up this place. Her aunt assures her that her only other option is to marry, where upon she has Ann dressed in servant clothes to learn the ways of the household.

Whilst dressed as a servant, she meets the poet Jon Donne, who at the first opportunity puts his arms around her and tells her that beds can be used for other things than sleeping.

The Lady and the Poet: What I thought

Dressing a high-born woman in servant clothes? I didn’t buy it. As this happened exactly on page 75 I decided to read on a little further but I could not be charmed by further events so decided to abandon the book.

Neither the story, which I found rather far-fetched, nor the period did anything for me. I wasn’t curious to see how anything in this book would develop. It seemed like a real romance novel, which is not a genre I generally enjoy reading.

Rating: DNF (read until page 90).

I got this book: bought at a book shop

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 384

First published: 2010

Genre: historical fiction

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

12 Responses to Book Review: The Lady and the Poet by Maeve Haran (DNF)

  1. The comments about the bed is hilarious! That is way too forward to still be considered flirting at the time that it looks it took place.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Well, I would think so, but then this is a poet and she is (dressed as) a maid. Anyway, it smelled of a romance story – which can be fine, but not a genre I enjoy most of the time.

  2. Kinna says:

    I’m just learning to abandon books when they don’t work for me. No, I don’t think this book is your genre at all🙂

  3. Cindy says:

    OK, I would also have stopped reading at that point …

  4. Trisha says:

    I have never read this one, but it certainly sounds like something I would not like. Now, The Gentleman and the Poet (which I at first thought this post was going to be about) is an excellent book!🙂

  5. Leslie says:

    Ooooh… that description doesn’t sound like your usual choice in books. Not that there’s anything wrong with trying other genres, but I’m not surprised that the plot was a turn off for you. I wouldn’t have gotten as far as you did!

  6. cindy wiser says:

    I enjoy historical novels but not romances or poetry , so, though I read all the book for book club, I didn’t like it. I couldn’t get past Lady Ann’s age (14-16).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

