It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 3 books in the last week

The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst. Several generations in an English family. Beautifully written, but not much is really happening. 4 stars

The Informationist by Taylor Stevens. A woman goes back to Africa where she grew up to find a missing woman, the daughter of a rich American. But the authorities of the small country she’s tracked the woman back to, are threatening her to leave. 4 stars

Blijf bij ons [Stay With Us] by Florence Tonk. A Dutch woman and her boyfriend move to Ukraine, where he has a job. She’s bored until they buy a holiday house in the countryside. 4 stars

The Stranger's Child by Alan HollinghurstThe Informationist by Taylor StevensBlijf bij ons by Florence Tonk

Currently Reading

Men Dancing by Cherry Radford. A woman meets a famous South-American dancer in the train and gets the chance to teach him the piano. But he’s not the only Latino she has set her eyes on. 4 stars

Men Dancing by Cherry RadfordThe Bomber by Liza MarklundWhat To Do When Someone Dies by Nicci FrenchThe Lady and the Poet by Maeve Haran

Other news

Click on the orange links to get to the blog post.

Reviews: 

The Bomber by Liza Marklund. At the Olympic Stadion in Stockholm a bomb has gone off and a person has died. Journalist Annika Bengtzon is very cleverly trying to find out about the background of the incident and the victim. She hasn’t much of a home life, which her husband and children resent. A great read! 4.5 stars

What To Do When Someone Dies by Nicci French. A woman has to deal with the fact that her husband has died in a car crash together with another woman. She can’t believe he had an affair and she does anything to find out the truth. 4 stars

The Lady and the Poet by Maeve Haran (DNF). I didn’t finish this. This is a book from my TBR Slash challenge and I started quite happily, but didn’t get into it.

What did I read in October? Look at my October Overview.

Wrap-up of the R.I.P. VI challenge.

And here is an overview of Secret Santa events for book bloggers.

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

37 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. parrish says:

    Great list as per, at the moment I’m reading “Why Translation Matters” by Edith Grossman & a collection of 20th century German poetry.

  2. Cindy says:

    I am re-reading The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy, it is proving even more beautiful on the second reading. Have a super week, Judith🙂

  3. calyr18 says:

    What book can you possibly recommend to a teenage girl in college who is having a difficult time with school?🙂 (actually, i am that girl.) Your response will highly be appreciated. Thank you so much Ma’am!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Calyr, sorry to hear you’re having a hard time. It’s difficult to say what book would be good, as I don’t read a lot of YA. But I find The Hunger Games very good, as it has a girl as the main character who gets herself out of very difficult situations, so that might cheer you up.

  4. The Bomber sounds like an interesting book. I love a good mystery!

  5. Had a little time this morning so am popping into a few of the Monday posts from my hotel in Honduras…. great books you have going!

  6. Leslie says:

    I keep seeing The Informationist mentioned on blogs today. Seems like everyone has a copy except me! It does sound good.

  7. I’m curious about the Nicci French book…haven’t read one of hers in awhile. The Informationist looks intriguing, too. Hope you enjoy your week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  8. I have been deciding what other Nicci F should I try, I think it will be this one, sounds captivating.

  9. Ellie says:

    Every time I see the cover of The Stranger’s Child, I think it’s a German translation of a Minette Walter’s book I have somewhere….exactly the same image. I guess it’s easy to do as publishers probably don’t keep track of foreign covers but I still keep thinking it’s the same book!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Funny! I don’t like it when books have the same cover, but I’m sure it happens more often (well, the cover of Purge is also used for a different book, both English translations I think).

  10. Suzanne says:

    I have The Bomber waiting for me at the library — I put a hold on it based on your recommendation.

    I have until next Wednesday to get through The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James so I’m going to try and focus on that one this week.

    Happy reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      How nice, Suzanne. I do hope you’ll enjoy The Bomber as much as I did.

      Oh dear, Henry James! I read one of his books (The Bostonians) but only because I felt I had to. It was OK but a bit of a slog. Hope you’re enjoying your book better!

  11. Well, since you ask, I’m reading ‘If Not Now, When?’ by Primo Levi, about Russian, Polish and Jewish partisans trapped behind enemy lines in WWII. Exciting stuff!

    Just finished ‘Night’ by Elie Wiesel – his autobiographical novel of his time in the Romanian ghetto, the transports and the concentration camps including Auschwitz and Buchenwald.

    Also read this weekend, ‘Once’ by Morris Gleitzman, a fictional account of a young teenager’s time in a Polish ghetto, the transports and Auschwitz.

    Do you sense a theme here?

  12. Sue Jackson says:

    Wow, what an interesting mix of books you have been reading! I had to laugh at the title of The Informationists because I just heard a report on a book podcast this weekend about the current trend of novel titles that end in “ists”! I hadn’t heard of this one yet (though it sounds intriguing).

    Enjoy your books this week!

    Sue

    Book By Book

  13. You got some wonderful books last week. A Stranger’s Child is on my wish list –enjoy

  14. Athira says:

    I’ve been seeing The Informationist a lot lately. Glad to see that you rated it 4. Will be looking for your review. Have a good week, Judith!

  15. Mystica says:

    The Informationist is on a lot of blogs. Will be looking out for this one.

  16. Teddyree says:

    I’ve enjoyed a few Nicci French books, have a great week and happy reading. Heading off to check out your secret santa post.

  17. I’m reading one of my favorites, A Confederacy of Dunces, for the second time. I’m also half way through with Steve Jobs biography.

  18. I started my comment Monday morning :)…

    The Informationist sounds very interesting. I will look for your review and add this to my list.

    I can’t wait to hear to the writing is going for you.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ah the writing, Mari! Not bad, I’m at 17,500 words (it’s counted in quantity, not quality) and the story is progressing – a bit. At least I’ve got something of a story!

  19. Julie says:

    The Bomber sounds great! I’m adding it to my ever-growing list. Have a great week!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

