New Arrivals!

New books are always nice, the only worry is: when do I read all of these?🙂

Books for review

The Informationist by Taylor Stevens

The Informationist by Taylor Stevens

I got this book from the publisher and I read it already! My review is HERE.

Vanessa “Michael” Munroe is hired to track a young woman that has been missing in Africa for four years. Vanessa is a tough cookie but the authorities in the countries she goes to do not co-operate, in fact, they threaten her.

Books I swapped

The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman

The Imperfectionists van Tom Rachman

I got this book from a fellow book blogger (Anna of Anna’s leesreis) when we met up recently and swapped some books.

From the author’s website: “The Imperfectionists is a novel about the quirky, maddening, endearing people who write and read an international newspaper based in Rome: from the obituary reporter who will do anything to avoid work, to the young freelancer who is manipulated by an egocentric war correspondent, to the dog-obsessed publisher who seems less interested in his struggling newspaper than in his magnificent basset hound, Schopenhauer.

With war in Afghanistan and Iraq, the climate in meltdown and bin Laden still in hiding, the paper has plenty to fill its columns. But for its staff, the true front-page stories are their own private lives. As this imperfect bunch stumbles along, the era of high terror and high tech bears down, the characters collide, and the novel hurtles toward its climax…”

Strangers on the 16:02 by Priya Basil

Strangers on the 16:02 by Priya Basil

I recently read The Obscure Logic of the Heart by this author (my review is HERE) and when I saw that this book was available from Bookmooch, I asked for it straight away.

From the publishers website: “It’s a hot crowded train. Helen and Kerm are jammed together in a crowded carriage. Then noisy school kids fill the train – and three of them are about to cause a whole heap of trouble. Catching a train? Read Strangers on the 16.02 and you’ll never feel the same way about your fellow passengers again.”

Books I bought

The Stranger's Child by Alan Hollinghurst

The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst

I bought this book because my real-life book group chose it for our meeting this coming Friday. I would not have bought this book otherwise, but it was OK. Not a great deal happened, but the writing was very good. Yes, I finished it already and gave it 4/5 stars (review forthcoming).

From bol.com (Dutch online book store): “It is the late summer of the last year before the first Great War. Cecil Valance, a beautiful young aristocratic poet, is visiting Two Acres, the home of his Cambridge friend and lover, George Sawle. On his departure, Cecil leaves a poem, dedicated to George’s younger sister Daphne, which when published becomes a touchstone for a generation, symbolizing an England in its final glory. Meanwhile Daphne has also become involved with Cecil’s family, visiting their Victorian Gothic country house, Corley, and developing a relationship with Cecil’s brooding, manipulative brother, Dudley, that will link the families for ever. The Stranger’s Child begins as a novel about two families and two houses: by the time it reaches its profound and moving conclusion, it has become an epic tale told in five parts covering almost a hundred years. “

Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto

Kitchen van Banana Yoshimoto

I’ve heard so much about this book, and when I saw it reduced in a book shop I decided to go for it!

From bol.com (Dutch online book store):”A scathing comedy of social striving in the suburbs, Absurd Person Singular follows the fortunes of three couples who turn up in each other’s kitchens on three successive Christmases, to hilarious and devastating effect.”

From the Library

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

I got this book for my teenage sons and they both enjoyed it. Then I saw some reviews of it by adult book bloggers and so I decided that I would read it, too.

From bol.com (Dutch online book store):”Based on the authors own experiences, this first young adult novel by bestselling author Alexie features poignant drawings by acclaimed artist Ellen Forney that reflect the characters art as it chronicles the contemporary adolescence of one Native American boy attempting to break away from the life he was destined to live.”

The Book Club by Marjolijn Februari

De literaire kring [The Book Club] by Marjolein Februari

The author of this book gave a lecture at our local library. Since the book was on my wishlist anyway, I made sure I read it before the event. I enjoyed it 4/5 stars.

From bol.com (Dutch online book store):”Thirty-year-old Theresa Pellikaan is typical of the wealthy middle classes – with her respectable background, successful husband and house in an apparently sleepy, yet powerful, rich village. She works in a gallery, also typical of her type.

When her former schoolmate Ruth Ackermann, brought up in the same village, makes waves with an international bestseller, but none of the villagers ever mention her achievement, not even the literary circle of Theresa’s father, famous civil rights scholar Randolf Pellikaan, Theresa begins to wonder why.

It can’t only be because it’s not literature’. It emerges that there is a dark secret in the village. Every member of the book club has a reason to keep quiet and Ruth Ackerman’s novel threatens to bring the past into the present, with devastating results. Unable to cope with the silence, Theresa investigates, no matter the consequences.”

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Ally says:

    I have read two by Banana Yoshimoto, and there were a pleasant read, but I haven’t read “Kitchen”, only N.P. and Lake🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ally, I have the feeling *Lake *is her best book (from reading blog reviews, haven’t read it myself). I also read *Goodbye, Tsugumi* which I enjoyed.

  2. I want to read The Informationist and A Stranger’s Child – the other you received sound pretty good as well.

  3. Beth F says:

    I liked both the Informationist and The Imperfectionists (both of which I reviewed). I’ll be looking for your thoughts on the latter.

  4. RFW says:

    I read The Imperfectionists when it first came out in hardback and my local paper was going under – timely. Thanks for more titles to find.

  5. Uniflame says:

    I still want to read Kitchen too. But for now I am still swamped in books. I have two more library books to finish, 1 bookcrossing book and some ebooks before I can start on my own collection. Oh well, I don’t really mind🙂

  6. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Some great titles! My mailbox has been sadly empty of late! LOL

  7. I would love to read Kitchen and Book Club. Sounds so interesting and Kitchen seems charming and witty.

  8. I have heard lots of great things about Tom Rachman so I’ll be interested to see what you make of his writing. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you enjoy him🙂

  9. wordvagabond says:

    I love Kitchen. I’ll have to check out some of the others as well!

  10. Tes says:

    You have so many interesting books to read🙂 I can’t wait to hear more about Kitchen🙂

  11. Athira says:

    I hope you enjoy Part Time Indian! It was fabulously written and you’ll be able to identify with the character too. I usually don’t read much YA, but this one made an impression on me!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

