Book Review: Men Dancing by Cherry Radford

Men Dancing by Cherry RadfordPersonally, I have no interest in the lives of famous people. I honestly don’t care what they do in their spare time. Still, this book about a woman who has an obsession for a male dancer sounded like something I might enjoy.

And I did! It was slightly chick-lit-y at points (which I didn’t mind at all) and there were a few dull moments, but overall, I enjoyed this read.

Men Dancing: What it is about

Rosie Buchanan is a 30-something woman, married with children, working as a scientist in a hospital. She has a passion for music and in particular, ballet dancing. One day on the train, she finds herself sitting next to Royal Ballet star Alejandro Cortés, whom she adores, and they start a conversation.

When she accidentally comes across some information of his girlfriend while checking patient records, she pretends to come for a research visit at their house. She ends up becoming their piano teacher. Meanwhile, her marriage to Jez is not going well, and she finds herself attracted to another South-American, a colleague at work.

Attracted to two men, a man at home she’s not much interested in anymore, a difficult teenager and an autistic younger son: she’s got a lot on her plate.

Men Dancing: What I thought

This was a good read… eventually. It started off with the meeting in the train, which was a little over the top, followed by some chapters where I was a bit confused what was going on, followed by a chapter or two full of dance-obsession and Alejandro obsession.

But after that, it settled down into a nice read, towards the chick-lit-y side but not quite. With all the passion going on, you might expect a lot of (explicit) sex, but there was less than there could have been, it was not that sort of book.

At first, I found Rosie a bit silly with her teenage fan behaviour towards the dancer Alejandro but later I warmed to her. And I wanted her to get away from an obviously “wrong” man who was trying to control her in every way.

Rosie wants out of her boring life and live the life of her dreams. But then a shocking event puts her back firmly with her feet on the ground.

Rating: 4/5

I got this book: from the author for review

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 338

First published: 2011

Genre: contemporary fiction

Extra: The author has a really nice website – go look!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to Book Review: Men Dancing by Cherry Radford

  1. Yvonnep says:

    What do you mean by dance obsessed? What kind of dancer is he? Nice review, seems a nice book too.

  2. yvonnep says:

    Thought so…:-) Then the book is even more interesting (for me🙂

  3. I’ve never heard of this one. I think it sounds like a fun summertime read🙂

  4. Nadine Nys says:

    I think I’ll pass on this one, Judith, seems more fit for reading next to a swimming pool in the heat of summer…
    Great review, though!

  5. Hidayah says:

    Hi! Sounds like an interesting book. Obsessions can make for an interesting read.

    A fellow book blogger from Malaysia (my reviews are on my main blog but I also have a dedicated Book Club blog where I lend books to people for free- drop by any time)

  6. Cindy says:

    It sounds like a very good read, Judith, I will look out for it🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

