Goodreads Choice Awards: Don’t Forget To Vote

Choice_logo_90x107

Vote now for your favorite books!

Have you voted yet for the Goodreads Choice Awards? You can nominate your favorite book of 2011 or vote for books that have been nominated already. You can do so until coming Sunday:

Opening Round: October 31 – November 13, 2011
Voting open to 15 official nominees, and write-in votes can be placed for any eligible book.

After that,

Semifinals: November 14 – November 20, 2011
The top 5 write-in votes in each category become official nominees. You can vote for one of the now 20 nominees in each category. Additional write-ins no longer accepted.

Finals: November 21 – November 30, 2011
The field narrows to the top 10 books in each category, and you have one last chance to vote.

Winners will be announced in December.

I’ve voted, though not in all categories, as in some categories I hadn’t read any (good) books. There are about 20 categories and you can vote in as many or as few as you like.

Lifting the veil:

  • I voted for State of Wonder (Ann Patchett) in the Favorite Book of 2011 category. In hindsight, there were a few other books that I could have nominated but of the books that were already nominated, this was my favorite.
  • In Mystery & Thriller, I voted for Before I Go To Sleep (S. J. Watson). It was already listed, but this was definitely my favorite thriller anyway.
  • In Science Fiction, I voted for When She Woke (Hillary Jordan) (no relation to the book above!).
How about you? Have you voted?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to Goodreads Choice Awards: Don’t Forget To Vote

  1. Vasilly says:

    I voted for a few books so far, The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka (fiction), The Wisdom of the Radish (non-fiction), and Fables (graphic novels).

  2. I didn’t. I totally forgot about it. Will have to check out the nominees. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Leslie says:

    I voted in a few categories. My science fiction favorite was Ready Player One. I absolutely loved that book, my favorite so far this year. Another favorite was Blackout by Connie Willis, but it wasn’t nominated. And, I’m listening to the new Stephen King book which is alternate reality/time travel so that would be under scifi too and it’s very good. I think I read a lot of scifi! For fiction I chose Language of Flowers. And for humor, Domestic Violets. Ok, that’s enough for now.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sounds great, Leslie. Domestic Violets wasn’t one of my favorite book (although I did like it) so I didn’t vote in the Humor category – I hadn’t read of the others, I think.

      Ready Player One is on my radar – it’s a book I do want to read sometime. I’d never thought of picking up the Stephen King book, the new one, with the date as title (?) – good to hear it’s worth a read.

      • Leslie says:

        Yes, the Stephen King book is the one with the date, 11/22/63. A guy finds a time portal to the past and changes history. So it’s alternate reality and time travel. I just started listening and already I’m hooked. 30 hours of audio to go!

      • Leeswammes says:

        Leslie, I LOVE time travel ans alternate reality so this sounds like a book for me!

        You have a lot of gardening to do before you finish that book!🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

