Joining the 2012 Ebook Challenge

2012 Ebook Challenge

I’m joining the 2012 Ebook Challenge. Yes, me. The one without an e-reader! Firstly, I need the challenge to finally dig into the ebooks that I do own, but haven’t read yet – it’s just not that handy on a laptop, so I tend to skip them. This is a good challenge to force me to read them. And secondly, I do expect to become the owner of an e-reader sometime in the near-ish future.

The challenge runs for the whole of next year and there are 7 levels, ranging from reading just 5 books to a whopping 150 books. I wonder how many people make it to 150!

I’m going to list the e-books that I own at the moment, and I will pledge to read all of them by the end of the year, allowing myself (as per usual) to give up on books that I’m still not into even after reading 75 pages.

ALL of the ebooks I own I got for free and most of those are Dutch, so at not much interest to most of you. But hey, it’s my challenge, and you can still cheer me on, even if they’re titles you’ve never heard of.

I’m going for 10 books, which is the CD level. If I don’t get an e-reader, that’s still almost one a month – more than enough!

  1. The Lens and the Looker by Lori S. Kaufman
  2. Life’s a Beach by Claire Cook
  3. Schrijvende vrouwen [Women Writers] by Jacqueline Bel and Thomas Vaessens
  4. De dag dat ik Johannes Klein doodreed [The Day I Ran Over Johannes Klein] by Elle van Rijn
  5. Ik was Amerika [I Was America] by Gustaaf Peek
  6. De weldoener [The Philanthropist]  van P. F. Thomese
  7. I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella
  8. Children of the Fog by Cheryl Kaye Tardif
  9. Chasing Clovers by Kat Flannery
  10. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

Over 40 people have signed up for this challenge so far.

SO FAR= 3 books read (end of September 2012)

How about you? 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

22 Responses to Joining the 2012 Ebook Challenge

  1. JannyAn says:

    Hé this is a challenge for me sinds almost every book I read is an ebook
    Thx for the link

    • Leeswammes says:

      Janny, you’d probably go for one of the higher levels? Otherwise it’s not much of a challenge.😉

      So you’re a complete e-book convert. I still like my paper books but I would like to be able to read (more) books from Netgalley, etc.

  2. parrish lantern says:

    This is a great idea I have about 30 books in my kindle & I haven’t had it that long. So by next year?, So will consider joining this one.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gary, yes, go work on your backlog or by the end of next year you’ll have hundreds! Well, you might have anyway, but you can make a start on them, at least.

  3. wordvagabond says:

    I’ll have to join this- most of what I review is on my Kindle, so I should be able to do the DVD level pretty easily!

  4. I will be joining this one for sure

  5. Suzanne says:

    I might do this challenge as well; I have a lot of e-books collected on my nook and I kind of forget about them when I’m looking for something to read.

  6. Heather says:

    Lately I have worked through a few ebooks. One a full length and 3 show stories. It was rather nice to have them easily at hand. Before I bought my ereader, I did read two novels at my desktop and that was not nice. I don’t have a comfy chair, but I really did want to read those books. Good luck with the challenge.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Heather. I agree, reading on a computer is not so pleasant. If the book is good enough I’ll manage it, but if the book is a bit slow, I tend to forget about it, and it spends a long time half-rad on my computer.

  7. Leslie says:

    If you don’t get an eReader you’re going to need stronger glasses from all that reading on the computer. No, ebook challenge is not for me, at least not until I cave in and buy a nook. Maybe. See, I’ve gotten to maybe now so it’s only a matter of time.

  8. Rikki says:

    Good luck, Judith. I find reading on the computer very hard and hate doing it. I am curious to see what reader you will end up with.

  9. Uniflame says:

    I am not going to do this challenge myself. But I think it is a good one for you! I hope that in 2012 there will be another Foodies reading challenge, because I enjoyed it this year ^_^

  10. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I need to update this years results for the challenge, I know I passed my goal a while ago
    Good luck with it!

  11. BookGoddess says:

    I tried to sign in for it… not sure or it worked but I did post it on my blog🙂 Challenges are always wonderful if it is with books.

  12. lemon123 says:

    I might have signed up here. The challenge is exciting. I’ve stuck my neck out too far. So I’m letting go of some and keeping others….I’m going to let this one go. Thank you for having me.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Teakettle, it’s not me organising it – maybe it was not clear. I’m only one of the participants.

      I know how you feel, though, I am tempted by so many challenges!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

