It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 3 books in the last week

Click on the orange links to get to the blog post.

Men Dancing by Cherry Radford. A woman meets a famous South-American dancer in the train and gets the chance to teach him the piano. But he’s not the only Latino she has set her eyes on. 4 stars

The Human Race by O. C. Heaton. A new way of transportation will make life easier for people and it’s cleaner on the environment. A rich English investor is approached by an Icelandic woman, the owner of the new invention, to help her distribute the technique. But someone will do anything to get hold of the information. 3.5/5

Een duivel met een ziel [A Devil With A Soul] van Richard Osinga. Morocco, 1909. We follow a soldier from the French army who describes the atrocities and politics of the war that’s going on. DNF

Men Dancing by Cherry RadfordThe Human Race by O. C. Heaton

Currently Reading

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. My boys enjoyed this book and when I saw it on some non-teenage blogs, too, I decided that I should also read it!

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman AlexieThe Informationist by Taylor Stevens

Other news

Reviews: 

The Informationist by Taylor Stevens. A woman goes back to Africa where she grew up to find a missing woman, the daughter of a rich American. But the authorities of the small country she’s tracked the woman back to, are threatening her to leave. 4 stars

The Kitchen Counter Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn. Memoir of the author trying to educate American women in eating more healthily. 4 stars

*****

Check out my new books.

I’m joining the 2012 E-book challenge… without an e-reader. A real challenge!

Don’t forget to vote for the Goodread Choice Awards.

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. parrish lantern says:

    Just finished The Ghost of Neil Diamond – David Milnes, currently reading Black Rain – Masuji Ibuse & The Juno Charm – Nuala Ni Chonchuir.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gary, you seem to find the lesser known books every time! I know that you read a book by Chonchuir recently so I look forward to seeing what you thought of this new one.

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Both of the books you are planning to read this week sound good and it might be time to treat yourself to an ereader Judith!

  3. I hope to get to the Informationist soon; it sounds really good.

  4. How’s your writing coming along?

    I didn’t read one page last week, until yesterday when I sat down for an hour to read. It felt so good…

    I thought you read The Human Race long ago, it’s been featured on your blog many times with the book cover contest. Glad you enjoyed it and I just love that you are responsible for a cover update (the cover above is horrible).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, my writing has come to a standstill over the weekend. I need to pick it up again – add some plottwists, etc.

      I didn’t read The Human Race yet. In fact, it’s the only book that has featured on my blog several times without me having read it. I don’t find the new cover a big improvement, but it *is* an improvement, for sure.

  5. Just for once I have been so good for a couple of days, translating thousands of words of my Danish novel so I have not finished reading a book for five days or so. But I am reading a cosy mystery by Rebecca Tope. Not quite as good as I had expected.

  6. Niina C says:

    The Human Race sparked my interest!🙂

    Come see my Monday! And have a great week!

  7. Tes says:

    I haven’t picked any book for this week yet. But “Men Dancing” sounds really interesting🙂

  8. yvonne473 says:

    Interesting line up of books. Hope you are enjoying them.

  9. Men Dancing definitely got my attention. It sounds like something I might like. Enjoy your week!

  10. Cindy says:

    I’m reading Jody Picoult’s Salem Falls, so far so good🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

