Completed: TBR Slash – 4 Neglected Books

Barely a month and a half ago, I decided to do a short challenge for myself. I had a number of books that had been on my TBR for a long time, and I had no interest in reading them.

So, I did my “TBR Slash” challenge in which I nominated 4 books to be read fairly soon, and I allowed myself to stop reading them if I wasn’t enjoying it after 75 pages.

I can now happily say: I finished the challenge! See here the results.

The Blasphemer by Nigel FarndaleThe Lady and the Poet by Maeve HaranIsland Beneath the Sea by Isabel AllendeThe Human Race by O. C. Heaton

1. The Blasphemer by Nigel Farndale – I gave up after more than 300 pages. The book had 450 and I had enough. Here’s my Review.

2. The Lady and the Poet by Maeve Haran – I gave up after 90 pages. The book seemed too romancy for my liking. Here’s my Review.

3. The Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende – I finished this book and enjoyed it. It’s 4 star book, no review just yet.

4. The Human Race by O. C. Heaton – I finished this book and enjoyed it, a 3.5 star book for me. My Review is here.


Do you make yourself read every single book to the end? Or do you allow yourself not to finish books?

This was a good and quick way for me to get some books off the TBR that had been there far too long. The promise that I can put the book away if it isn’t interesting at least gets me to pick up the book, finally!

What do you do with books that don’t appeal much?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

16 Responses to Completed: TBR Slash – 4 Neglected Books

  1. Birgit says:

    I don’t give up on books easily, ever the optimist, yet sometimes you’ve got to do what you’ve got to do and stop wasting more precious reading time. But, truthfully, it really does not happen all too often that I stop reading a book, maybe once or twice a year, and I do read a lot, so …

    • Leeswammes says:

      Birgit, I gave up on about 8 or so books this year. Not very many, either, luckily.

      The TBR Slash books were books I wasn’t sure about in the first place, so it’s not surprising that I gave up on two of them.

      I’m usually optimistic too, about books, expecting them to get better if I keep reading.🙂

  2. if its a review copy I try my best to finish it. Otherwise I ditch it.

    I’m trying to figure out the best way to tackle my TBR list. It seems insurmountable ay this point.

    I could probably slash a few just by giving the synopsis a good once over.

    I’ll figure it out. Eventually…..

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shannon, last week I had a Dutch review copy that I just didn’t find interesting enough, so I stopped at page 100. I felt really guilty but I do read for my pleasure. I decided to at a giveaway to my review (on my Dutch blog) to at least make it a bit more positive.

      I do try and reduce my wishlist every now and then, too.

      Good luck with the avalanche of books!

  3. JP says:

    Glad to see this worked for you! I’m learning to cut my losses with books I’m not enjoying–I’ve put aside more books this year than I ever have… 3 that I don’t intend to return to, and one that I hope to try again.

    I may have to try this technique to cut down my TBR as well!

  4. woohoo!

    I read just one of the three I declared in October (Good to a Fault). I need to refocus on my TBR shelf.

    Congratulations.

  5. Good initiative! Very nice it worked out.

  6. Well done, you! I’ve been facing the same problem this year… the closer we get to the end of the year, the more I want to throw those books that were on my TBR list out of the window😉 I usually have these books collect dust on the shelves, but your “read 75 pages first” rule sounds very reasonable. Also, I’m eagerly awaiting the Read-y challenge that Loving Books is hosting!

  7. This sounds like a cool (and very useful) challenge. With 130 books on my TBR I don´t think I am prepared to read 75 pages. My limit is usually around p 50. If I haven´t found anything to keep my attention at that point, I´ll just grow more and more annoyed with the stupid thing🙂

  8. I should probably do this. There are a lot of books on my TBR shelves that I’ve had for years and can’t remember why I bought them or even IF I bought them. But then there are also lots on my shelves that I really really want to read. 75 pages seems like a sensible cut-off to me. I quite often get to 50 and haven’t really got into the book, but by 100 I’m thoroughly absorbed. Or not. Maybe I’ll do a challenge like this in January, as a start of the year clean-out.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It worked very nicely for me, Kate. Especially because some of these books I didn’t feel like reading at all. So it was a win/win situation: If I didn’t like them at 75 pages, I could stop and it was one less on my TBR, if I did like it, I had myself a nice book and it was still one less on my TBR at the end of it.

      Funny that you can’t remember IF you bought certain books. Well, if they’re old enough I’m not sure I’d be able to remember.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

