Weekend Cooking: Me and Food

Weekend Cooking

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, fabulous quotations, photographs. It is hosted by Beth Fish Reads.

A bottle of golden syrup

Image via Wikipedia

.

I saw this on Tes’ blog a few weeks ago and she had the idea from Mandy. So here’s me jumping in to tell you about my food preferences.

1.  What is your favourite non-alcholic drink?

Tea, the English way: strong with milk

2.  What is your favourite alcoholic drink?

Baileys Irish Cream

3.  What is your favourite food?

Thai curry

4.  What is your least favourite food?

I’m not keen on goats cheese

5.  What do you eat that others think is really weird?

Peanut butter and golden syrup sandwiches

6.  What is your favourite thing to cook/bake?

I love making eggs florentine, the Linda McCartney way, which is an oven dish for dinner. My recipe is HERE.

7.  If you could only chose one, would it be sweet or savoury?

Savoury

8.  What time do you usually eat your dinner during the week?

Around 6-6.30.

9.  What kitchen item/s have you never owned?

A stand mixer! I only have a hand-held one. I have no surface space for a stand mixer but I’d love to have one.

10. What tip would you give to a newby cooker / baker?

Don’t leave food in the oven too long. I often overbake things.

11. What is the best vegetarian dish you have eaten?

I only eat vegetarian dishes so I guess I have to mention that Thai curry again.🙂

12. What is the easiest meal you can cook?

Pizza

13. If you could only grow 3 herbs in your garden, what would you grow?

Basil, chives and parsley

14. What would you use as a substitute for salt?

Soy sauce

15. What 5 items would you pack for a quick and easy picnic or day out?

Sandwiches, pasta salad, carrot cake, something chocolatey and cranberry juice

This was a fun questionnaire to do. I’d love to know your answers! If you fill it out, please let me know and link back to Mandy who started this questionnaire.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

38 Responses to Weekend Cooking: Me and Food

  1. Tes says:

    Judith, nice to know about you more🙂 It looks like you really like Thai curry🙂

  2. Thanks again for taking part in the fun! I loved reading through your answers, while enjoying a good cup of tea.
    Have a super week.
    Mandy

  3. Beth F says:

    Oh gosh I love this! I’m bookmarking it for a future post. Thanks to Tes too. I’d definitely pick savory over sweet but some of the other questions I’d have to think about for a while.

  4. I enjoy reading these meme’s. I also pass on goat cheese. My tea is fairly light, no milk.🙂

  5. JoAnn says:

    What a fun post! You may see me answering these questions one week soon, too. Have you shared your recipe for Thai curry?

  6. What a great post. I have used it for this week.

  7. Leslie says:

    This fun. I’ll have to borrow it from you for a future Weekend Cooking.

    I like Thai food but haven’t figured out how to prepare it better than a restaurant yet. I’m going to try making Pad See Ew, my favorite. Now I’m getting hungry and it’s still breakfast time here.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I never expect to make it better than a restaurant, Leslie. If you make Pad See Ew, please share the recipe! I have very few Thai recipes (besides those of Tes, come to think of it!).

      • Leslie says:

        I would settle for “close to as good as a restaurant”. If I find a recipe that’s successful I’ll definitely post it.

  8. Patti Smith says:

    I love this post and also am saving it for a future Weekend Cooking post!!🙂

  9. Marie says:

    I love this! I like these getting to you know posts. I’m going to put my answers on my blog…one day. I have a stand-mixer and really like it, but I don’t use it much.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, I think there are now more recipes than before talking about putting ingredients in a mixer and then pulsating this way and that, and I feel I’m missing out. It could also be that only now I start to find such recipes, but anyway, it would be nice to have a stand -mixer. One day!

  10. Suzanne says:

    I think a stand mixer is one of those things that is nice to have but here they are quite expensive and unless you plan to use it a lot it might not be worth it. I use my hand-held mixer and it takes some more time but the results are just as tasty. (plus using the hand mixer is a good workout for your arms!)

  11. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’m a savoury person too – I rarely eat anything sweet. I’ve always wanted a stand mixer but they are so expensive I haven’t been able to justify it’s purchase.

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d oUt

    • Leeswammes says:

      That’s also true, Sheleeyrae, those standmixers are not cheap. And then if I got one, it would have to be one of these shiny red ones that are on the top of the price list.

  12. Heather says:

    I’ve never owned a deep fryer and have no interest in one. Well, the exception is that we deep fry our turkey outside in a huge pot, but don’t deep fry in the house.

  13. Fun questions! Your eggs look delicious! Not sure if I could limit my herbs to just three🙂

  14. Don’t like goat’s cheese? What about chevre?

  15. Uniflame says:

    It is interesting to read about your preferences. Very fun!

  16. Christine says:

    What a fun questionnaire! I LOVE Thai curry, too!!! I also use soy sauce as a salt seasoning all the time in my cooking. … and in fact, it’s my secret ingredient in my gravy.😀

    … although there goes my secret! lol

  17. Cindy says:

    Enjoyed reading your answers🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

