It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 3 books in the last week

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. A fun read about a teenage American Indian boy who goes to school outside the reservation and is then an outcast in both worlds. 5/5 stars

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. About that circus, you know the book or you’ve heard of it. Lives up to the hype. 5/5

Now you See Me by S. J. Bolton. Another great book: a thriller involving a modern Jack the Ripper. Very good read. 5/5

 

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman AlexieThe Night Circus by Erin MorgensternNow You See Me by S. J. Bolton

Currently Reading

The World We Found by Thrity Umrigar. Three friends in India in their forties are invited by their old friend in America to come and visit as she’s terminally ill. Great read so far.

The World We Found by Thrity Umrigar

Other news

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Reviews: 

The Human Race by O. C. Heaton. A new way of transportation will make life easier for people and it’s cleaner on the environment. A rich English investor is approached by an Icelandic woman, the owner of the new invention, to help her distribute the technique. But someone will do anything to get hold of the information. 3.5/5

Een duivel met een ziel [A Devil With A Soul] by Richard Osinga. Morocco, 1909. We follow a soldier from the French army who describes the atrocities and politics of the war that’s going on. DNF

The Blasphemer by Nigel Farndale. A couple is on a plane that crashes in the sea near the Galapagos Islands. The man’s great-grandfather was in the First World-War in France. I liked the first storyline but not the second. I gave up after 300 pages. (DNF)
.

The Human Race by O. C. HeatonThe Blasphemer by Nigel Farndale

*****

I’m running the Wishlist Challenge for people who own so many unread books that they will never, ever get round to reading their wishlist (books they don’t own). Unless they do this challenge!

Read my answers to this food questionnaire and join in if you like!

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

35 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. parrish lantern says:

    Just got on my Kindle The Art of Asking your Boss for a Raise – George Perec

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hope it’s good, Parrish! I’ve got a different George Perec on my wish list based on your recommendation.

      • parrish lantern says:

        If it’s Void – hope you enjoy it as much as I did. He appears to be a writer that divides readers into you either adore or “if you mention that name again, I will kill!” Categories, in my case he’s a writer I want to read everything of.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Yes, that’s right, it’s Void! I’m not sure when/whether I’ll get round to reading it though. Long wish list.

  2. Teddyree says:

    Wow a week of 5 star reads, glad to see that The Night Circus lived up to the hype, I picked it up last week🙂
    Have a wonderful week and happy reading!

  3. The Haunted Hotel by Wilkie Collins.

  4. Lainy says:

    I am reading Jokers Club , by Gregory Bastianelli – weird but good

    • Leeswammes says:

      Weird can be such fun, Lainy. Have a good week.

      Can’t comment on Blogger right now, but I had a look at your Stephen King review: sounds interesting. Definitely a book I want to read. I checked whether the library has it and almost reserved it. But then, I have so much else still to read. It will have to wait.

  5. Mardel says:

    I read more adult that YA, but The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian is one YA novel that I would love to read – now if I can just remember to ask for it at the bookstore!

    Have a great Reading week, and enjoy all those book!🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Mardel. I don’t read much YA either but this seemed a fun book, and it was!

      Have a good week!

      • Leeswammes says:

        Mardel, I wanted to comment on your blog but have problems commenting on Blogger blogs today – I’m getting error messages. Just wanted to say how nice that you’re reading a book that you can’t put away. My current book is also very good. Happy reading.

  6. Ooh you had so many good reads last week – and coming up! Enjoy the rest of your week🙂

  7. Uniflame says:

    I can’t wait until I can get my hands on the night circus🙂 Last week I read before I go to sleep.

  8. Leslie says:

    I liked The Night Circus too but I thought it could have been even better if the characters had a little more substance.

  9. Nice reading week! I loved NIght Circus and Part Time Indian as well!

  10. I can’t wait to read Umrigar’s new novel. I’m not sure if I will read The Night Circus. I’m on the hold list at the library for the audio version but it’s not my type of book.

    Have a wonderful week!

  11. Suzanne says:

    So you finished and loved the Night Circus? I can’t wait for your review to give me a reason to go back to it …..

  12. My task today has been to catch up on reading the book blogs I missed due to being busy with our olive Harvest. The book I keep coming across is The Night Circus which seems to be getting glowing reviews, one for the wishlist then.

  13. I can’t wait to read the Night Circus, I’ve had it on my wishlist for so long. I guess I’m going to have to break down and buy it myself. Perhaps, Santa will be kind and leave it under the tree this Xmas. You read 3 books in a week, I’m so jealous. Where do you find the time?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lena, I don’t tend to do much in the evenings, so when people are watching tv, I’m reading. Sometimes during the day, as I don’t work, but not regularly or for a long time.

  14. I’m going to have to use my pyschic powers (aka the wishlist) to get The Night Circus for Christmas!

  15. Mystica says:

    The Unrigar book is the one I would love to have! sounds good as usual.

  16. Pussreboots says:

    I have a bunch of books going at once. A lot of them are library books that are due soon. Please come see what I’m reading.

  17. MarthaE says:

    Lots of interesting books you are reading! Now I may check out that last challenge since the description fits! Hope you have had a great week!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

