Thankfully Reading Weekend: Starting Post

Thankfully Reading Weekend

Today, Friday, is the start of the Thankfully Reading Weekend that lasts until Sunday night. The organisers call it “An excuse to do an obscene amount of reading over the long Thanksgiving weekend!”

My Friday here in the Netherlands is a standard Friday and I’m doing NaNoWriMo, which means I’ll be writing as well reading (but I’m ahead of schedule, so all is well). Anyway, I’ll do my best to do a relatively obscene amount of reading.

I’ve got enough books that I’d like to get through before the end of the year, so from those I chose the following for this weekend:

A Week in December by Sebastian FaulksThe Secret Shopper Unwrapped by Kate HarrisonBattle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy ChuaDe 100 jarige man die uit het raam klom en verdween by Jonas Jonasson

  • A Week in December by Sebastian Faulks. I’m already reading this (p 225 out of 392) and it’s alternately fun and boring. Update: I finished this one (Friday) – 167 pages
  • The Secret Shopper Unwrapped by Kate Harrison. This seems an ideal book to get into the Christmas mood. Update: Started Friday, page 1-onwards
  • Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua. A memoir about bringing up your children (or how not to). Sounds like another easy read.
  • The Centenarian Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson. In Dutch, about a 100-year old man who disappears from his nursing home just before the birthday celebrations.

As always, this looks like too many books, but it’s something to aim for. I’d hope to finish the first three books and make a dent in the fourth.

Are you joining in? Sign up HERE.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

28 Responses to Thankfully Reading Weekend: Starting Post

  1. Uniflame says:

    I really liked Battle Hymn of the tiger mother. I hope you will enjoy it too. It wasn’t likeable as such, but fascinating.

  2. Joanna says:

    I’m very jealous Judith! Some great books there. Enjoy🙂

  3. Glad to hear the writing is going well, and ahead of schedule.

    What will you do with you draft after the end of the month? Next steps?

    Enjoy your weekend!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Mari. Hope you have a wonderful weekend too.

      If can get myself to do it, I would like to finish the book (if it needs more than NaNo’s 50K words), go back to the beginning and start adding bits here and there to make it a consistent story (and maybe lose some text, too) and after that, go and edit it properly. Then, I have no particular hopes of getting it published, we’ll have to see if it’s anything worthwhile, but I may have a copy made just for myself. I’d like that (if the story is not too bad).

  4. Leslie says:

    I’m participating too. It will be mostly audio books during the day today. We are having gorgeous weather this weekend and I can get the yard ready for winter and do some non-shopping errands and go for a walk.

    Good luck with the writing. Looks like you are almost there.

  5. BookGoddess says:

    Enjoy your weekend with these lovely books🙂

  6. Vasilly says:

    Good luck on getting everything done. Happy reading!

  7. Out of all the ones you have, the one on the right, in Dutch, looks the most intriguing to me. Is it available in English? Or will it be? I hope so.

    Anyway, I’m with you on the reading challenge this weekend. I’m shutting off Facebook and Netflix Instant, and sitting down with a pile of crime books. I have no goal on how many: just to read.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Unfinished, the Dutch book hasn’t been translated into English. I think it’s Swedish from origin, it has been translated into quite a few languages, but it seems not (yet) in English. I’m sure it will if it’s populair.

      Good luck with the read-a-thon!

  8. Shan says:

    I found A Week in December to be alternately fun and boring as well! But overall I liked it. I’ve been wanting to read The Secret Shopper books for a while. And I have Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother on my bookshelf waiting to be read! Hope you enjoy everything!!!

    One of these days I’ll need you to give me a list of Dutch books in English I can read. (Definitely can’t try them in Dutch! I’ve been making a family tree and using a genealogy website all in Dutch, and was so thankful for online translation sites!)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Dutch is not easy, Shan. It’s not close enough even to German (if you knew that). Irisonbooks did a Dutch Literature month a while ago, she has lots of good suggestions.

      I’d never heard of the Secret Shopper books and this seems to be the second one in a series. But it looks like it’s OK to read without first reading #1. I cam across it in the library and since it mentioned Christmas, I thought I’d be nice to try.

  9. Rikki says:

    Good luck on your weekend, Judith. Those reading events and read-a-thons are not for me….

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Rikki. Such a pity you don’t like to do these. I like the community part of it, plus of course the excuse to get some serious reading done!

      Enjoy your weekend@

  10. Niranjana says:

    I never get any reading done on weekends, so I’m envious! I read Battle Hymn when it came out–curious to hear your thoughts.

  11. So glad you are joining in! I hope you have a lot of fun!!

  12. Tes says:

    Oh these book sounds perfect for the holiday season. I want something like these in my shelve right now🙂

  13. Bitsy says:

    Looks like a great pile of books. Sometimes I feel like I’m missing out on so many great books because I only know one language. I hope you have a lot of fun reading this weekend!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lots of books do get translated in to English, Bitsy, but not all, unfortunately. I believe the book about the Centenarian is really good fun (from what I heard) so it can’t be too long before they translate it.

  14. Silsbee says:

    The Centenarian sounds great. And you are doing so well with your NaNoWriMo progress (I peaked at your progress bar)! Good luck with everything.🙂

    ~ Silsbee (another Thankful Reader this weekend)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks Silsbee. Yes, I’m happy with the progress on NaNo – although the closer I get to 50K, the less I write, it seems. Well, I’m running out of steam a bit.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

