Book Review: Return to Summerhouse by Jude Deveraux

Return to Summerhouse by Jude DeverauxLast year, I read The Summerhouse, which I enjoyed. This is the sequel, which I got via Bookmooch.

Return to Sumerhouse focuses on three different women than in The Summerhouse. Only the summerhouse itself is the same, and the mystical woman they meet in town.

Return to Summerhouse: What it is about

Three women have been sent to the Summerhouse for a long weekend, to talk to each other and get some insight into their own problems. One of them has had a hard time after losing a baby, while another has recently lost her husband. The third woman has lost her memory after an accident.

They all think they are there for no good reason, but they do talk to each other and visit town. There, they encounter Madame Zoya, who can send them back in time. Amy decides to go back in time to the 18th Century to change the life of an ancestor of her husband. The other two women, Faith and Zoe, come along to support her and almost don’t want to leave again.

After that, Faith and Zoe also travel to their respective pasts, but they go separate and Amy doesn’t join them. The book is mostly about the women meeting and talking, and about the events in the 18th Century.

Return to Summerhouse: What I thought

It was fun to read, but The Summerhouse was definitely the better book.

I didn’t like it how the book concentrated on one of the women, Amy, and her travel back in time, and then almost as an afterthought, have another two much shorter stories on what the other women did when they went back (in their own lives). In other words, the story wasn’t balanced.

Also, there was too much to-ing and fro-ing at the beginning of the book. Half of the time the characters were doing things alone or in pairs, and that didn’t serve any purpose that I could see. They could have dived into the main story much faster, I think.

On a positive note, the story in the 18th Century was nice. A book about just that would have made a good read. I also enjoyed reading about when the women come back together after their adventures and discuss how their lives have changed (when they are back in time they can change what happened to their lives and so, come back with a completely different story, e.g., not married after all, took up a career that they didn’t dare choose the first time around, etc.).

An enjoyable book for when you want a lighter read. If you can overlook the problems I mentioned here. And do try and suspend your disbelief!

Rating: 3.5/5

I got this book: from Bookmooch

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 425

First published: 2008

Genre: women’s fiction, contemporary fiction

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

6 Responses to Book Review: Return to Summerhouse by Jude Deveraux

  1. Nadine Nys says:

    Never heard of this one either, Judith, allthough I did hear about The Sulmerhouse. Perhaps that would be a better one to read, then, according to you.

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I like Jude Devereaux books when I need to decompress though I haven’t read this one

  3. Leslie says:

    The Summerhouse is on my list of books to read for the 2012 TBR Pild Challenge. And since I don’t like to lose challenges I will finally get to read it next year!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

