It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 4 books in the last week

The World We Found by Thirty Umrigar. Three friends in India in their forties are invited by their old friend in America to come and visit as she’s terminally ill. 5/5

A Week in December by Sebastian Faulks. A week in December with several characters, some interesting, some not at all. 4/5

The Secret Shopper Unwrapped by Kate Harrison. Three friends, who are secret shoppers, all have relationship problems. A bit tedious, but an easy read. 3.5/5

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua. Memoir about a woman bringing up her children the Chinese way. I didn’t like her much, but it’s an entertaining book. 4/5

 

The World We Found by Thrity UmrigarA Week in December by Sebastian FaulksThe Secret Shopper Unwrapped by Kate HarrisonBattle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua

Currently Reading

The Centenarian Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson. In Dutch, about a 100-year old man who disappears from his nursing home just before the birthday celebrations. So far, it’s a lot of fun.

De 100 jarige man die uit het raam klom en verdween by Jonas JonassonThe Night Circus by Erin MorgensternReturn to Summerhouse by Jude Deveraux

Other news

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Reviews: 

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. About that magical circus you’ve probably heard of. Lives up to the hype! 5/5 stars

Return to Summerhouse by Jude Deveraux. A light reading, sequel to The Summer House, which I enjoyed a lot. Three women that didn’t know each other beforehand, meet up in a house and discuss their lives. 3.5/5 stars
And on my Dutch blog:
Blijf bij ons by Florence Tonk. A Dutch woman goes to live in a small cottage in Ukraine.
Eerste Hoofdstukken: Vissen veranderen bij kou van zwemrichting by Pierre Szalowski

*****

I’m running the Wishlist Challenge for people who own so many unread books that they will never, ever get round to reading their wishlist (books they don’t own). Unless they do this challenge!

I did the Thankfully Reading Weekend read-a-thon. You can read about it HERE and HERE.

Here are some other events taking place soon (read-a-thon and December challenge).

.

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

http://www.exurbanis.com/archives/4975

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

42 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Iv’e put The Night Circus on my schedule this week Judith🙂

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  2. I’m totally ready for Advent with Austen http://readingfuelledbytea.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/join-me-for-advent-with-austen/
    Piled up some movies and series to watch and books to read.
    Blogging about it starts today.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nice, Karin. Good luck with the Advent with Austen event. I’m trying to finish some of my TBR in December, so I opted out. I like it that it’s a combination of books and movies. Have fun!

  3. Gnoe says:

    You know I still haven’t read anything by Sebastian Faulks??? And yup, The Nightcircus has been on my wishlist for a while now. Glad to hear it’s a ‘five out of five’ for you too!

  4. Can’t wait to see your review of The Night Circus – I have that one waiting patiently on a pile for me to pick up soon.

  5. Lian says:

    Yay, you’re reading de 100 jarige man! What do you think so far? Nice and easy read isn’t it?

  6. I loved The Summerhouse, so I must grab Return to The Summerhouse! Can’t wait!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  7. Suzanne says:

    A Week in December is an interesting book; I agree with your opinion on some of the characters. I can’t wait to see your review.
    Enjoy your week.

  8. Mystica says:

    I’ve seen A week in December on several blogs. Will await your review.

  9. Gigi Ann says:

    Return to Summer House sounds like an interesting and fun read. May have to add those Summer House books to my ever growing TBR list.

  10. BookGoddess says:

    Gosh you do read a lot! Every one I know tells me I read a lot but you… wow! And thanks for all those updates. I enoy reading it.

  11. I’m also hoping to read The Night Circus this week, or next. I have the audio on my ipod. If I get through my wolf hall assignment I will start Circus. I’m eager to start it but am not completely sure I will finish (is that a bad sign?)… it’s not a genre I usuallly read.

    I mentioned this before but I can’t wait to read Umrigar’s new novel!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, I think it’s a pity that you have The Night Circus on audio. No, I’m not saying that right. Maybe it’s wonderful on audio, but part of the experience for me was this beautiful book that I had in my hands. I do hope you like it, I’m not sure.

  12. Glad to hear Night Circus was all you were expecting! I’m looking forward to reading it🙂

  13. You did good!

    Happy reading!!

    Here is my post!

  14. dixie says:

    The World We Found looks very good!

    One day I will get to The Night Circus. The cover just sucks me in.

    Have a great week!

  15. Julie says:

    I read The Space Between Us for book club a couple years ago. I really need to check out The World We Found. It sounds very good.

  16. Nise' says:

    Great reading week. Looks like I will be adding The World We Found to my BOLO list.

  17. I read The Secret Shoppers Unwrapped last year and felt like I had missed out on the good stuff in the previous book (which I hadn’t read).

  18. Vasilly says:

    I’ve read nothing but positive things about Umrigar’s writing. She’s an author that I need to read really soon. Have a great week.

  19. Pussreboots says:

    I want to read The Night Circus.

    If it weren’t for the audio books we listened to while stuck in holiday traffic, I wouldn’t have gotten much read this week. Please come see what we’ve read.

  20. Only five books! Are you slacking? lol. Just kidding. I have no idea how you find the time to read so much.

  21. Wow, great reading week! I hope this week goes well too.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

